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Sam Brown back. Governor 

This is a notice of a penalty assessment for violation(s) of Kansas Oil and Gas Conservation Statutes, 
Rules, and Regulations. For a full description of the penalty and process please refer to the Penalty Order that 
is attached to this notice. 

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY: 

You have been assessed a $100 penalty. You have 30 days from the service date of this Penalty 
Order to pay the fine amount. Check or money order must be made payable to the Kansas Corporation 
Commission and mailed to the Conservation Division of the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. 
Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket number of 
this proceeding. Payment by credit card may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-6200. 

IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY: 

You have the right to request a hearing. A written request for hearing must be made within 30 days 
after service of the Penalty Order setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought. Respondent 
must submit the request to the Commission, at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The 
Commission shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative 
procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request. K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-542; K.A.R. 82-1-215. 

IF YOU FAIL TO ACT: 

Failure to pay the fine amount, or in the alternative, provide a written request for a hearing, within 
thirty (30) days of service of the Penalty Order, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming a Final 
Order and may result in additional sanctions, including additional monetary penalties, the suspension of your 
oil and gas operating license, and the shutting-in of all operations until compliance is obtained. K.S.A. 55-
164; K.S.A. 77-537. 

Respectfully, 

Joshua D. Wright 
Litigation Counsel 
316-337-6200 

2017-09-19 13:48:24
Kansas Corporation Commission
/s/ Lynn M. Retz



THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

Before Commissioners: Pat Apple, Chairman 
Shari Feist Albrecht 
Jay Scott Emler 

In the matter of the failure ofNPF Energy ) Docket No.: 18-CONS-3139-CPEN 
Corporation ("Operator") to comply with ) 
K.A.R. 82-3-111 at the Davis C #2 in Phillips ) CONSERVATION DIVISION 
County, Kansas. ) 

----------------------------------- ) License No.: 3182 

PENALTY ORDER 

The above captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas (Commission). Having examined the files and records, and being duly advised in the 

premises, the Commission finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION 

I. Pursuant to K.S.A. 74-623, the Commission shall have the exclusive jurisdiction 

and authority to regulate oil and gas activities. 

2. Pursuant to K.S.A. 55-162, whenever the Commission, from investigation or upon 

written complaint filed with the Commission, finds reasonable cause to believe that a person has 

violated any provision ofK.S.A. 55-150 et seq., or any rules and regulations adopted pursuant to 

K.S.A. 55-150 et seq., the Commission shall cause such person to come before it at a hearing 

held in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act (KAPA). 

After such hearing, if the Commission finds that such person violated any provisions ofK.S.A. 

55-150 et seq., the Commission shall take any appropriate action necessary to prevent pollution 

and protect water supply. 

3. Pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, the 

Commission, upon finding that an operator or contractor has violated the provisions ofK.S.A. 



55-150 et seq., or any rule and regulation or order ofthe Commission, may impose a penalty not 

to exceed $10,000, which shall constitute an actual and substantial economic deterrent to the 

violation for which the penalty is assessed. In the case of continuing violation, every day such 

violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation. 

4. Pursuant to K.A.R. 82-3-111, within 90 days after operations cease on any well 

drilled for the purpose of exploration, discovery, service, or production of oil, gas, or other 

minerals, the operator of that well shall (1) plug the well, (2) return the well to service, or (3) file 

an application with the Conservation Division requesting temporary abandonment ("T A'') 

authority, on a form prescribed by the Conservation Division. A well shall not be eligible for TA 

status if the well has been shut in for 1 0 years or more without an application for an exception 

pursuant to K.A.R. 82-3-100 and approval by the Commission. The failure to file a notice of 

temporary abandonment shall be punishable by a $1 00 penalty. 

5. K.A.R. 82-3-111(e) provides an exemption for certain wells that are (1) fully 

equipped and capable of production of oil or gas or for injection; (2) capable of immediately 

resuming production of oil or gas or of injection; (3) subject to a valid continuing oil and gas 

lease; when ( 4) the cessation period for the well is less than 365 days; and (5) the well is 

otherwise in full compliance with all of the Commission's regulations. 

II. FINDINGS OF FACT 

6. Operator conducts oil and gas activities in Kansas under license number 3182. 

7. Operator is responsible for the care and control of the Davis C #2 ("the subject 

well"), API #15-147-20052-00-02, located in Section 29, Township 1 South, Range 18 West, 

Phillips County, Kansas. 
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8. District Staff inspected the subject well and collected evidence indicating it has 

been inactive and unplugged for longer than the 90 days allowed by K.A.R. 82-3-111. A copy of 

the inspection is attached hereto as Attachment "A" and is hereby incorporated by reference. The 

well did not appear to be exempt pursuant to K.A.R. 82-3-111(e). Operator either did not file a 

TA application or did not bring the well into compliance after a TA application was denied. 

9. District Staff sent a letter to Operator, requiring Operator to bring the subject well 

into compliance with K.A.R. 82-3-111 by August 23, 2017. A copy of the letter is attached 

hereto as Attachment "B" and is hereby incorporated by reference. 

I 0. District Staff inspected the subject well after the deadline in the letter passed, 

verifying that the well continued to be inactive and unplugged. A copy of that inspection is 

attached hereto as Attachment "C" and is hereby incorporated by reference. 

11. District Staff collected evidence and submitted it to the Legal Department with a 

recommendation that the Commission issue this Order. The recommendation sheet submitted by 

District Staff is attached to this Order as Attachment "D" and hereby incorporated by reference, 

and shall serve as the concise and explicit statement of facts required by K.S.A. 77-526. 

III. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

12. The Commission concludes that it has jurisdiction over Operator and this matter 

under K.S.A. 55-152 and K.S.A. 74-623. 

13. The above findings of fact are sufficient evidence to support the conclusion that 

Operator committed one violation(s) ofK.A.R. 82-3-111 because the subject well has been 

inactive in excess of the time allowed by regulation without being plugged, returned to service, 

or approved for T A status. 
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THEREFORE, THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

A. Operator shall pay a $1 00 penalty. 

B. Operator shall plug the subject well, return the well to service, or obtain TA status 

for the well if eligible. Obtaining TA status shall include application for, and Commission 

approval of, an exception to the 1 0-year limit on T A status if applicable. 

C. If no party requests a hearing, and Operator is not in compliance with this Order 

within 30 days, then Operator's license shall be suspended without further notice. The notice and 

opportunity for a hearing on this order shall constitute the notice required by K.S.A. 77-512 

regarding license suspension. The Commission may impose further sanctions, including 

additional monetary penalties and any other remedies available to the Commission by law, 

without further notice. 

D. Checks and money orders shall be payable to the Kansas Corporation 

Commission. Payments shall be mailed to the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. Main 

St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket 

number of this proceeding. Credit card payments may be made by calling the Conservation 

Division at 316-337-6200. 

E. Any party may request a hearing on the above issues by submitting a written 

request, pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, K.S.A. 77-537, and K.S.A. 77-542, setting forth the specific 

grounds upon which relief is sought, to the Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, 

Kansas 67202, within 30 days from the date of service of this Order. Hearings will be scheduled 

only upon written request. Failure to timely request a hearing will result in a waiver of 

Operator's right to a hearing. 
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F. If a party requests a hearing, a corporation or similar entity shall not be permitted 

to enter an appearance except by its attorney. K.A.R. 82-1-228( d). Attorneys for all parties shall 

enter their appearances in Commission proceedings by giving their names and addresses for the 

record. 

G. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the 

purpose of entering such further order or orders as it may deem necessary. 

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 
Apple, Chairman; Albrecht, Commissioner; Emler, Commissioner 

Dated: 
. SEP 1 9 1017 

-----------------------------
Secretary to the Commission 

Mailed Date: ------------------------
JDW 
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UPDATE REPORT 

Date: July 25, 2017 

Energy Corporation 31 

Location: NE/4 29-1S-18W 

Davis C 

Phillips 

Davis C2 API# 15-147-20052-0002, located C SW NE/4 29-1-18W Phillips County Kansas is currently shut 
down. (GPS LOC: LAT. 39.93863, LONG. 099.37235 Footages 3310' F.S.L. & 1779' F.E.L.). 

Y Checked KGS records, last oil sold on this lease was June of 2015. 

Y Checked KCC records, Davis C2 is not currently TA'd. 

Y Referred to TA Coordinator. 

Pat Bedore E.C.R.S. 
(agent) (signature) 

cc: file 

Attachment A



Pat Apple, Chaim1an 

Shari Feist Albrecht, Commiss ioner 

Jay Scott Emler, Commissioner 

PATH COCHRAN 
NPF ENERGY CORPORATION 
PO BOX 3827 
TUSTIN CA 92781-3827 

Corporation Commi ss ion 

NOTICE OF VIOLATION 

RE: TEMPORARY ABANDONMENT 
API Well No. 15-147-20052-00-02 
DAVIS C 2 
29-1S-18W, SWNE 
PHILLIPS County, Kansas 

Operator: 

Sam Brownback, Governor 

July 26, 2017 

KCC Lic.-3182 

On July 25, 2017, a lease inspection documented a probable violation of the following regulation 
at the referenced well: 

• K.A.R. 82-3-111. Within 90 days after operations cease on a well , the operator must 
return the well to service, plug the wel l, or obtain approval for temporary abandonment 
status. 

Failure to remedy this violation 
by AUGUST 23, 2017 

shall be punishable by a $100 penalty. 

You may contact me if you have any questions. 

Sincerely, 

/;{~c~ 
RICHARD WILLIAMS 
KCC District # 4 

Attachment B



Date: September 7, 2017 

Operator: NPF Energy Corporation 

Location: NE/4 29-1S-18W 

UPDATE REPORT 

License: 3182 

County: Phillips 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~-

Findings: 
~ 9/7/17: No changes from previous inspection on July 25, 2017. 
~ Davis C2 API# 15-147-20052-0002, located C SW NE/4 29-1-18W Phillips County Kansas is currently shut 

down. (GPS LOC: LAT. 39.93863. LONG. 099.37235 Footages 3310' F.S.L. & 1779' F.E.L.l. 

Davis C2 39.93863, 099.37235 Electric box 

Pat Bedore E.C.R.S. 
(agent) (signature) 

cc: file 

Attachment C 



PENALTY ORDER RECOMMENDATION 

***ROUTINE TEMPORARY ABANDONMENT VIOLATION*** 

Note: this sheet will be attached to the Order that is mailed to the operator. 

Date of Recommendation: September 12, 201 7 

District/Depa rtm en t: District #4 Compliance 

Person Recommending Penalty: Richard Williams Compliance officer 

Operator Name: NPF Energy Corporation 

Operator License Number: 3182 

Well/Lease Name & Well Number: Davis C-2 

Well/Lease Location, and County: C-SW-NE/4 of Sec. 29-0l-18W Phillips County 

Well API Number: 15-14 7-20052-00-02 

UIC Docket Number: NIA 

Regulation Number: K.A.R. 82-3-111 

Description of Violation: Failure to plug, produce, or obtain TA status (including 
after a TA application is filed and denied). 

Date of NOV IT A Denied letter. Date of NOV letter. July 26, 2017 

Deadline in NOV I TA Denied letter. Deadline in NOV letter. August 23, 2017 

Date of follow-up lease inspection. September 7, 2017 

Requested Monetary Penalty: $100 

Requested Operator Activity: Plug, produce, or obtain TA status if eligible (including 
a 10-year TA application if required). 

Supervisor Initials 

Attachment D



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

I certify that on ___________________________, I caused a complete and accurate copy 
of this Order to be served via United States mail, with the postage prepaid and properly 
addressed to the following: 

Pat H. Cochran 
NPF Energy Corporation 
PO Box 3827 
Tustin, CA  92781-3827 

and delivered by e-mail to: 

Richard Williams 
KCC District #4 

/s/ Paula J. Murray 
Paula J. Murray 
Legal Assistant 
Kansas Corporation Commission 

9/19/17




