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Kansas Corporation Commission

THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Before Commissioners: Pat Apple, Chairman
Shari Feist Albrecht
Jay Scott Emler

In the Matter of the Investigation of Heavy
Equipment Service Inc. of Salina, Kansas,
Regarding the Violation of the Motor Carrier
Safety Statutes, Rules and Regulations and the
Commission’s Authority to Impose Penalties,
Sanctions and/or the Revocation of Motor
Carrier Authority.

Docket No. 18-TRAM-121-PEN
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ORDER AMENDING PENALTY ASSESSMENT

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State of
Kansas (Commission) for consideration. Having examined its files and records, and being duly
advised in the premises, the Commission finds and concludes as follows:

BACKGROUND

1. On September 14, 2017, this Commission issued a Penalty Order to Heavy
Equipment Service Inc. (hereinafter Heavy Equipment Service), assessing it a civil penalty of
$1,650, in accordance with the FY 2018 Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix. The penalty was
for four (4) violation(s) of Kansas law that governs motor carriers, including various provisions
of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs), as adopted by the Kansas
Administrative Regulations.

2. Heavy Equipment Service was advised that it was a New Entrant motor carrier
being reviewed for the first time, and was eligible for a reduced penalty of fifty-percent (50%),
as long as it complies with the terms and obligations described in the Notice of Penalty

Assessment, the Reduced Penalty Agreement and as set out below.



3. Staff states that on September 21, 2017, Heavy Equipment Service submitted the
signed Reduced Penalty Agreement. A copy of the Reduced Penalty Agreement was attached to
Staff’s Motion. The carrier submitted a Corrective Action Plan (CAP), which has been approved
by Transportation Staff.

4, On September 29, 2017, Staff filed a Motion for Order Amending Penalty
Assessment, recommending the Commission assess Heavy Equipment Service a fifty-percent
(50%) reduced penalty of $825, and set out specific terms and obligations for Heavy Equipment
Service’s compliance.

FINDINGS OF FACT

5. The Penalty Order issued on September 14, 2017, assessed Heavy Equipment
Service a civil penalty(s) of $1,650 for four (4) violation(s) of the motor carrier safety statutes,
rules and regulations.

6. Staff recommended in its Motion that due to Heavy Equipment Service’s
agreement to corl;ply with the terms and obligations for a fifty-percent (50%) reduced penalty
and approval of its CAP, an Order Amending Penalty Assessment should be issued by the
Commission assessing it a reduced penalty of $825, and setting out the terms and obligations as
stated in its motion.

7. K.S.A. 66-1,142¢ authorizes the Commission to determine the amount of civil
penalty and states in pertinent part:

“Any civil penalty may be compromised by the state corporation

commission. In determining the amount of the penalty or the amount

agreed in compromise, the appropriateness of the penalty to the size of

the business, the gravity of the violation and the good faith of the person
charged in attempting to achieve compliance, shall be considered.”



IT IS, THEREFORE, BY THE COMMISSION ORDERED THAT:

(A)  The civil penalty of $1,650 assessed to Heavy Equipment Service Inc. in the
Penalty Order dated September 14, 2017, is hereby amended to $825.

(B)  This Order Amending Penalty Assessment was mailed on October 10, 2017, via
certified mail, return receipt requested, Certified Receipt No. 70161970000105737044. Service
is complete upon the date the carrier signs the Domestic Return Receipt.

(C) Payment of $825 is due within thirty (30) days from the date of service of this
Order Amending Penalty Assessment. Payment must be made through your personal account
with the Kansas Corporation Commission’s KTRAN application located at

https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/. If you have not received a letter from the Transportation Division

assigning you a PIN, please contact that Division at 785-271-3145. You must have an account
through KTRAN to pay the penalty owed.

(D) Heavy Equipment Service is ordered to, within thirty (30) days from the date of
the Penalty Order dated September 14, 2017, send an individual responsible for safety
compliance to attend a Commission-sponsored safety seminar, and submit proof of attendance to
Litigation Counsel.

(E)  Heavy Equipment Service must submit to a follow-up compliance review within
eighteen (18) months from the date of the Penalty Order. Transportation Staff will contact
Heavy Equipment Service to schedule the review.

(F)  If Heavy Equipment Service fails to pay the reduced fine of $825 and/or fails to
comply with the terms and conditions ordered above, the Commission may order Heavy
Equipment Service additional sanctions, including enforcement of an out-of-service order,

revoking its authority or any further sanctions as the Commission deems necessary.



(G)  The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the
purpose of entering such further orders as it may deem necessary and proper.
BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED.

Apple, Chairman; Albrecht, Commissioner; Emler, Commissioner

Dated: ocT 10 2017
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Lyin M. Retz O
Secretary to the Commission
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

18-TRAM-121-PEN
I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of

first class mailhand delivered on ocT 10 2017
MARK REDDEN, PRESIDENT AHSAN LATIF, LITIGATION COUNSEL
HEAVY EQUIPMENT SERVICE INC KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
1100 W GRAND AVE STE B 1600 SW ARROWHEAD RD
SALINA, KS 674011863 TOPEKA, KS 666044027
Fax: 785-404-2344 Fax: 785-2713354
mredden1@eaglecom.net a.latif@kecc.ks.gov

/S/ DeeAnn Shupe

DeeAnn Shupe

Order Mailed Date
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