BEFORE THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

In the Matter of an Investigation to Determine)	
the Affordable Local Service Rate for Rate-)	
of-Return Regulated Carriers and the Annual)	Docket No. 23-GIMT-261-GIT
Assessment Rate for the Twenty-seventh Year)	
of the Kansas Universal Service Fund,)	
Effective March 1, 2023)	

BRIGHTSPEED MOTION FOR ENLARGMENT OF TIME TO SUBMIT DATA

COMES NOW the United Telephone Company of Kansas, United Telephone Company of Eastern Kansas, United Telephone Company of Southcentral Kansas, and Embarq Missouri, Inc.,¹ doing business as Brightspeed²,³,⁴ (hereinafter referred to as "United"), and hereby submits this Motion for Enlargement of Time to Submit Data (hereinafter "Motion") in the above-captioned matter:

1. On September 15, 2022, the Kansas Corporation Commission (hereinafter "Commission" or "KCC") issued its Order Opening Docket; Establishing Procedural Schedule; Requirement Compliance Filings; and Requiring Entries of Appearance to Participate (hereinafter "Opening Order") for the purposes of determining the affordable local service rate for rate-of-return carriers and the annual assessment rate for the twenty-seventy year of the Kansas Universal Service Fund (hereinafter "KUSF"), effective March 1, 2023.

¹ Collectively referred to as United Telephone Companies of Kansas.

² On July 1, 2009, CenturyTel Inc. and Embarq Corporation completed its merger. On September 17, 2009, the United Telephone Companies filed a Notification of Fictitious Name Change notifying the Commission that the fictitious names have changed from "Embarq" to "CenturyLink."

³ On October 3, 2022, Brightspeed begun operations as a new company following the completion of the previously announced acquisition of incumbent local exchange carrier (ILEC) assets and associated operations across 20 states, including Kansas, from Lumen Technologies (fka CenturyLink) (NYSE: LUMN) by Apollo-managed funds (NYSE: APO).

⁴ The United Telephone Companies of Kansas is intending to change its name to align with the Brightspeed brand and will make the necessary KCC formal name change filings no later than April 1, 2023.

- 2. Ordering Paragraph B of the Opening Order states that: "CenturyLink shall file Attachments A and B, supporting access line documentation separated by wire center and KUSF Zone, and its intrastate access rates, revenues, and usage for the twelve months ending September 30, 2022, in this Docket and provide electronic copies of Attachments A and B, in Excel format, to s.reams@kcc.ks.gov and s.garrett@kcc.ks.gov on or before October 14, 2022."
- 3. Through this Motion, United respectfully requests an enlargement of time from October 14, 2022, to October 21, 2022 to file and submit the required Attachment A and B referenced in the KCC's Opening Order at Ordering Paragraph B. In seeking this slight enlargement of time, United notes that the required line count and access usage is for the twelve months ending September 30, 2022, which allows only two weeks for the required data submission. As of this filing, United does not yet have finalized line count and access usage for the twelve months ending September 30, 2022, as the month-end and quarter-end accounting closings have yet to be finalized. Furthermore, the required line count and access usage for the twelve months ending September 30, 2022, will to Brightspeed by Lumen, and given the transaction closing date of October 3, 2022, a slight delay in data processing is expected.
- 4. United has discussed the request for a slight enlargement of time with Staff of the Kansas Corporation Commission (hereinafter "Staff"), and Staff indicated that it has no objection. If this Motion is granted, United will make a reasonable attempt to provide the required Attachment A and B prior to October 21, 2022.

WHEREFORE United respectfully requests that the Commission issue an Order granting United an enlargement of time consistent with the above.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Connor A. Thompson

Connor A. Thompson, KS #28667 James P. Zakoura, KS #07644 FOULSTON SIEFKIN LLP 7500 College Boulevard, Suite 1400 Overland Park, KS 66210 Telephone: 913-253-2151

Email: jzakoura@foulston.com cthompson@foulston.com

Attorneys for United Telephone Company of Kansas, United Telephone Company of Eastern Kansas, United Telephone Company of Southcentral Kansas, and Embarg Missouri, Inc.

VERIFICATION

STATE OF KANSAS)
) ss:
COUNTY OF JOHNSON)

I, James P. Zakoura, hereby certify under penalty of perjury pursuant to K.S.A. 53-601 that I am an attorney for the companies listed above and that the foregoing is true and correct.

James P. Zakoura

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 6th day of October, 2022.

Notary Public

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the above and foregoing was sent via electronic mail, this 6th day of October, 2022, addressed to:

Michael Neeley

m.neeley@kcc.ks.gov

Pamela Sherwood

pamela.sherwood@brightspeed.com

James P. Zakoura

jzakoura@foulston.com

William Haas

william haas@t-mobile.com

Julia Redman-Carter

Regulatory@enTouchwireless.com

Dave Soper

dsoper@columbus-telephone.com

Floyd J Jasinski

floyd.jasinski@consolidated.com

Brent Cunningham

brent@ctctelephony.tv

Jennifer Carter

jcarter@standupwireless.com

Michael J. Murphy

mmurphy@gorhamtel.com

Mark Wade

mark@havilandtelco.com

Ethan Kaplan

ekaplan@ideatek.com

Jill Kuehny

jkuehny@kanoklanetworks.com

Steve Burks

sburks@team.nxlink.com

John Idoux

john.idoux@brightspeed.com

Connor A. Thompson

cthompson@foulston.com

Candace Wright

cwright@bluevallevinc.net

Michael A. Pierce

nekretchmar@ptci.com

Lance Casey

lance.casey@consolidated.com

Craig Wilbert

crwilbert@ckt.net

Becky Scott

bscott@epictouch.com

Beau Rebel

brebel@gbtlive.com

Brandon Koch

brkoch@hbcomm.net

Richard Baldwin

rbaldwin@hci-ks.com

Kevin Wauligman

kwauligman@iwirelesshome.com

Ahsan Latif

a.latif@kcc.ks.gov

Harry J. Lee

harry.lee@laharpetel.com

Shana Rains

mtn.shana@gmail.com

Pat Mastel

pat.mastel@midco.com

Harry M Weelborg weel@mtelco.net

Mandi Dreiling

mdreiling@ntwls.com

Jennifer Leach

jenniferlgm@peoplestelecom.net

Issa Asad

legal@qlinkwireless.com

Rhonda S. Goddard rgoddard@nex-tech.com

Christina Hickert

christina.hickert@sttelcom.com

Jeff Pickering

jpickering@risebroadband.com

William R. McVey

bill.mcvey@sktcompanies.com

Kelly Jesel

kelly.jesel@telrite.com

Mark M. Gailey

mmgailey@totelcsi.com

Jason Pettit

jpettit@tctainc.net

Todd Houseman

toddh@unitedtelcom.net

John Tietjens

jtietjens@mtc4me.com

Matthew Sams

matthew.sams@mercurybroadband.com

Tammy Souza

tsouza@townes.net

Michael Felicissimo

mike.felicissimo@viaero.com

Jimmy Todd

itodd@nex-tech.com

Catherine Moyer

catherine.moyer@pioncomm.net

Kathy Ruoff

kathy@rainbowtel.com

Deborah Rand drand@usch.com

Myloc Dinn

regulatoryaffairs@truconnect.com

Carla Shearer

cshearer@sctelcom.com

Javier Rodriguez

jrodriguez4@att.com

Bill Morris

bill.morris@lingoky.com

Richard B. Salzman

rsalzman@tracfone.com

Scott Leitzel

scott.leitzel@tvinc.net

John R. Idoux

john.idoux@centurylink.com

Jennifer Pachner

jenniferp@unitedtelcom.net

Stephanie Cassioppi

stephanie.cassioppi@uscellular.com

Jeff Wick

jwick@wtcks.com

Randy Hoffman

rhoffman@wheatstate.com

Craig Freeman

craig@wilsoncommunications.co

Nathan Stooke

nstooke@wisperisp.com

Susan Cockerham

scockerham@fastektax.com

Kathy Price

kprice@zendatelephone.com

/s/ Connor A. Thompson

Connor A. Thompson, KS #28667