MEMORANDUM UTILITIES DIVISION

TO:	Chair Moline
	Commissioner Krehbiel Commissioner Moffet
FROM:	Hal Baumhardt

DATE: December 1, 2005

DATE SUBMITTED TO LEGAL: 12105

DATE SUBMITTED TO COMMISSONERS: 12-5-05

RE: Docket No. 00-SWBT-892-IAT

In the Matter of the Application of Southwestern Bell Telephone Company for Approval of Interconnection and Reciprocal Compensation Agreement Under The Telecommunications Act of 1996 with High Plains/Midwest LLC d/b/a WestLink Communications

BACKGROUND:

Southwestern Bell Telephone, L.P. d/b/a SBC Kansas ("SBC") on October 14, 2005 filed an application for approval of a modification to the Interconnection Agreement in Docket 00-SWBT-892-IAT with High Plains/Midwest LLC d/b/a WestLink Communications.

ANALYSIS:

This modification to the Commercial Mobile Radio Services agreement is consistent with the provisions of Section 252(e) of the Federal Act and amends the agreement previously negotiated, executed and filed with the Commission on March 27, 2000. This modification amends the Agreement to reflect the name change from High Plains/Midwest LLC d/b/a WestLink Communications to WestLink Communications, LLC ("WestLink"). Except as modified herein, all other terms and conditions of the underlying agreement remains unchanged and in full force and effect.

Staff has reviewed this modification to the Interconnection Agreement (ICA) between SBC and WestLink, which is registered with the Kansas Secretary of State's office and is currently "active and in good standing." Staff finds no evidence to conclude this agreement discriminates against any telecommunications carrier, nor is inconsistent with public interest, convenience and necessity, and does not have any concerns with approving this application.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends the Commission grant approval for a modification to the Interconnection Agreement between Southwestern Bell Telephone, L.P. d/b/a SBC Kansas and High Plains/Midwest LLC d/b/a WestLink Communications upon Commission approval.

cc: Don Low Bret Lawson

.

Susan Duffy Tom Behner Eva Powers Janet Buchanan