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NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT
18-CONS-3372-CPEN

May 10, 2018

Wendell Unruh

HDH Resources, Inc.
2366 RD 23

Wilmore, KS 67155-9700

This is a notice of a penalty assessment for violation(s) of Kansas Oil and Gas Conservation
Statutes, Rules, and Regulations. For a full description of the penalty and process please refer to the
Penalty Order that is attached to this notice.

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY:

You have been assessed a $100 penalty. You have 30 days from the service date of this Penalty
Order to pay the fine amount. Check or money order must be made payable to the Kansas Corporation
Commission and mailed to the Conservation Division of the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N.
Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket number
of this proceeding. Payment by credit card may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-
6200.

IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY:

You have the right to request a hearing. A written request for hearing must be made within 30
days after service of the Penaity Order setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought.
Respondent must submit the request to the Commission, at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas
67202. The Commission shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas
administrative procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request. K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-542;
K.AR. 82-1-215.

IF YOU FAIL TO ACT:

Failure to pay the fine amount, or in the alternative, provide a written request for a hearing, within
thirty (30) days of service of the Penalty Order, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming a Final
Order and may result in additional sanctions, including additional monetary penalties, the suspension of
your oil and gas operating license, and the shutting-in of all operations until compliance is obtained.
K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-537.

Respectfully,
Lauren N. Wright

Litigation Counsel
316-337-6200



THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Before Commissioners: Shari Feist Albrecht, Chair

Jay Scott Emler

Dwight D. Keen
In the matter of the failure of HDH Resources, )  Docket No.: 18-CONS-3372-CPEN
Inc. (“Operator”) to comply with K.A.R. 82- )
3-126 at the Unruh #1-22 in Comanche )  CONSERVATION DIVISION
County, Kansas. )

)  License No.: 33270

PENALTY OF ER

The above captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State
of Kansas. Having examined the files and records, and being duly advised in the premises, the
Commission finds and concludes as follows:

I. JURISDICTION

l. K.S.A. 74-623 provides that the Commission has the exclusive jurisdiction and
authority to regulate oil and gas activities. K.S.A. 55-152 provides that the Commission has
Jjurisdiction to regulate the construction, operation, and abandonment of any well and the
protection of the usable water of this state from any actual or potential pollution from any well.
The Commission has licensing authority pursuant to K.S.A. 55-155.

2. K.S.A. 55-162 and K.S.A. 55-164 provide the Commission with authority to issue
a Penalty Order regarding a viol: on of Chapter 55 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or of any
rule, regulation, or order of the Commission. A Pena ' Order may include a monetary penalty of
up to $10,000, and each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate violation.

3. K.A.R. 82-3-126(a) provides that all oil tanks, tank batteries, tanks used for sait
water collection or disposal, and tanks used for sediment oil treatment or storage shall be

identified by a sign posted on, or not more than 50 feet from, the tank or tank battery. The sign



shall be of durable construction an shall be large enough to be legible under normal conditions
at a distance of 50 feet. The sign shall identify: 1) the name and license number of the operator;
2) the name of the lease being served by the tank; and 3) the location of the tank by unit name,
section, township, range, and county.

4. K.A.R. 82-3-126(b) provides that the failure to post an identification sign shall be
punishable by a penalty of $100.

I1. FINDINGS OF FACT

5. Operator conducts oil and gas activities in Kansas under license number 33270.

6. Operator is responsible for the care and control of the Unruh Lease (“the subject
lease™), located in Section 22, Township 31 South, Range 17 West, Comanche County, Kansas.

7. District Staff inspected the subject lease and was unable to locate a current
identification sign posted on or within 50 feet of the tank or tank battery, legible under normal
conditions at a distance of 50 feet.

8. District Staff sent a Notice of Violation letter to Operator, requiring Operator to
bring the subject lease into compliance with K.A.R. 82-3-126 by a deadline.

9. District Staff inspected the subject lease after the deadline, verifying that the
subject lease continued to be in violation of K.A . §2-3-126.

10.  District Staff collected evidence and submitted it to the Legal Department with a
recommendation that the Commission issue this Order. The recommendation sheet submitted by
District Staff is attached and incc sorated into this Order, including Staff’s Notice of Violation

letter sent to Operator and Staff’s inspection reports.



HI. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

11. The Commission concludes that it has jurisdiction over Operator and this matter
under K.S.A. 55-152 and K.S.A. 7 623.

12. The above findings of fact are sufficient evidence to support the conclusion that
Operator committed one violation of K.A.R. 82-3-126 because there is not a current
identification sign posted on or within 50 feet of the tank or tank battery at the subject lease, such
sign being legible under normal conditions at a distance of 50 feet.

THEREFORE, THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

A. Operator shall pay a $100 penalty.

B. Operator shall post a current identification sign at the tank or tank battery at the
subject lease pursuant to K.A.R. 82-3-126.

C. If no party requests a hearing. and Operator is not in compliance with this Order

within 30 days. then Operator’s license shall be suspended without further notice. The notice and

opportunity for a hearing on this order shall constitute the notice required by K.S.A. 77-512
regarding license suspension. The Commission may impose further sanctions, including
additional monetary penalties and any other remedies available to the Commission by law,
without further notice.

D. Checks and money orders shall be pay »le to the Kansas Corporation
Commission. For credit card payments, include the type of card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or
American Express), account number, and expiration date. Payments shall be mailed to the
Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. "™~

payment must include a reference to the docket number of this proceeding.




E. Any party may request a hearing on the above issues by submitting a written
request, pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, K.S.A. 77-537, and K.S.A. 77-542, setting forth the specific
grounds upon which relief is sought, to the Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita,

Kansas 67202, within 30 days from the date of service of this Order. Hearings will be scheduled

only upon written request. Failure to timely request a hearing will result in a waiver of

Operator’s right to a hearing.

F. A corporation shall appear before the Commission by a Kansas licensed attorney.!
G. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the
purpose of entering such further order or orders as it may deem necessary.

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED.
Albrecht, Chair; Emler, Commissioner; Keen, Commissioner

o — T
Arppra- M. i’ﬁ-!’g
Dated: 05/10/2018 i
Lynn M. Retz
Secretary to the Commission
05/11/2018
Mailed Date: /1
LW

1K.S.A. 77-515(c); K.AR. 82-1-228(d)(2).



PENALTY ORDER RECOMMENDATION

***ROUTINE TANK IDENTIFICATION VIOLATION***

Note: this sheet will be attached to the Order that is mailed to the operator.

Date of Recommendation:

5/01/2018

“ﬁ—istrlctlDepartment:

District #1

Person Recommending Penalty:

Steve Pfeifer, Compliance Officer

Operator Name: sources, Inc.
Operater License Number: 33270
Tank Battery/Lease Name: Unruh 1-22

Tank Battery/Lease Location:

E2E2 Sec. 22-315-17W, Comanche County

Regulation Number:

K.AR. 82-3-126 l

Description of Violation:

Failure to post an identification sign within 50 feet from I
the tank battery, legible under normal conditions at a
distance of 50 feet.

Date of initial lease inspection: 11/20/2017
Date of NOV letter. .. )6/2017
Deadline in NOV letter. 1/03/2018
Date of follow-up lease inspection. 4/30/2018
_Requested Monetary Penalty: $100

Requested Operator Activity:

Post identification sign in compliance with
K.AR. 82-3-126

Supervisor Initials

5K

Exhibit A
Page 1 of 8
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Conservation Division

District Office No. 1 al I S ( S

210 E. Frontview, Suile A Phone: 620-682-7933
Dodge Ciiy, KS 67801 Corporation Commission hitp://kee ks.gov/
Pat Apple, Chairman Sam Brownback, Governor

Sthari Feist Albrecht, Comnissioner
Jay Scott Emler, Commissioner

December 6, 2017
NOTICE OF VINLATION
WENDELL UNRUH
HDH RESOURCES INC.
2366 RD 23
WILMORE KS 67155

Re: UNRUH 1-22
E2E2 SEC. 22-31S TW
COMANCHE COUNTY, KANSAS
OPERATOR LICENSE NO. 33270

Dear Operator:

During a lease inspection conducted on November 20, 2017, on the abi  referenced lease, a
KCC representative documented the following probable regulatory viola  s:

1. K.AR. 82-3-126 No lease ID sign

Please contact me at the number listed below, to discuss how to cu ove- :d
violations. IfI have not heard from you by January 03, 2018, or the viol ve not
otherwise been cured by that date, this matter will be referred to our legal nt,w, a
recommendation that the Commission take srmal enforcement action, ing ssessment of

monetary penalties, for the violations. In the event the Commission issues a penalty order for the
above-listed violations, the recomm ded monetary penalties would total §11  .00. Youmay
contact me if you have any questions.

Slncerely,

KCC District #1

Ce:  District Supervisor
Legal Department

Exhibit A
Page 2 of 8















KCC OIL/GAS REGULATORY OFFICES

Date: 4/30/18 District: 4 Case #:

[:l New Situation DLcasc Inspection

Rcsponse to Request DCompiaint

Follow-Up Field Report
Operator License No: 33270 AP Well Number: _15-033-20808-00-00
Op Name: HDH qunljrces Inc Spot: SW-SE-SE-*'" __Sec 22 Twp 31 S Rng_17 DE /W
Address 1: 2366 Rd. 23 DRAA TFeet from DN / S Line of Section
Address 2; 841 Feet from E /DW Line of Section
City: Wilmore GPS: Lat: 37.33296 Long: 99.14943 Date: 11/17/16
State: KS Zip Code: 67155 -9700 Lease Name: Unruh Well#: 1-22
Operator Phone #: (620} 738-4337 County: (Comanche

Reason for Investigation:

Request to recheck for a lease 1D sign.

Problem:

Wrong operator shown on the lease ID : jn.

Persons Contacted:

Steve Pfeifer.

Findings:
4/30/18 1| could not find a lease ID sign, other than the one that is showing the wrong operator.

4/5/18 The lease ID sign was facing the saltwater tank. | turned it around, but the sign does not show HDH
Resources as the operator,

2/5/18 The fuliy-equipped well is not producing. | could not find a current lease 1D sign. KGS records stili
show the last gas production from November 2013. The lease road is unused.

Action/Recommendations: Follow Up Required Yes ero Date:

Verification Sources: Photos Taken: 1
RBDMS KGS TA Program .
. T-I Database - District Files Courthouse By: Eric Macl.aren
Other: On-site inspection -

Retain 1 Copy District Office
Send 1 Copy to Conservation Division
. Form:
Exhibit A
Page 7 of 8







CERT ICATE OF SERVICE

18-CONS-3372-CPEN
I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy o e attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of

first class mail and electronic service on 05/10/2018
STEPHEN PFEIFER WENDELL UNRUH
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION HDH RESOURCES, INC.
DISTRICT OFFICE NO. 1 2366 RD 23
210 E. FRONTVIEW SUITE A WILMORE, KS 67155-9700

DODGE CITY, KS 67801
Fax: 785-271-3354
s.pfeifer@kcc.ks.gov

LAUREN WRIGHT, LITIGATION COUNSEL
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
Conservation Division

266 N. Main St. Ste. 220

WICHITA, KS 67202-1513

Fax: 316-337-6211

l.wright@kcc.ks.gov

/S/ DeeAnn Shupe

DeeAnn Shupe





