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NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT
19-CONS-3006-CPEN
July 10, 2018

Sam Mays [II

Sam W. Mays Jr. LLC dba Mays Oil LLC
PO Box 391

Eureka, KS 67045-0391

This i1s a notice of a penalty assessment for violation(s) of Kansas Oil and Gas Conservation
Statutes, Rules, and Regulations. For a full description of the penalty and process please refer to the
Penalty Order that is attached to this notice.

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY:

You have been assessed a $100 penalty. You have 30 days from the service date of this Penalty
Order to pay the fine amount. Check or money order must be made payable to the Kansas Corporation
Commission and mailed to the Conservation Division of the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N.
Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket number
of this proceeding. Payment by credit card may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-
6200.

IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY:

You have the right to request a hearing. A written request for hearing must be made within 30
days after service of the Penalty Order setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought.
Respondent must submit the request to the Commission, at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas
67202. The Commission shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas
administrative procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request. K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-542;
K.A.R. 82-1-215.

IF YOU FAIL TO ACT:

Failure to pay the fine amount, or in the alternative, provide a written request for a hearing, within
thirty (30) days of service of the Penalty Order, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming a Final
Order and may result in additional sanctions, including additional monetary penalties, the suspension of
your oil and gas operating license, and the shutting-in of all operations until compliance is obtained.
K.S.A 55-164; KS.A. 77 7.

dly,
Lauren N. Wright

Litigation Counsel
316-337-6200



THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Before Commissioners: Sharn Feist Albrecht, Chair
Jay Scott _.nler
Dwight ... Keen

In the matter of the failure of Sam W. Mays ) Docket No.: 19-CONS-3006-CPEN
Jr. LLC dba Mays Oil LLC (“Operator”) to )
comply with K.A R. 82-3-117 at the Scott #S5 ) CONSERVATION DIVISION
well in Greenwood County, Kansas. )
)

License No.: 34503

PENALTY ORDER

The above captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State
of Kansas. Having examined the files and records, and being duly advised in the premises, the
Commission finds and concludes as follows:

I. JURISDICTION

1. The Commission has the exclusive jurisdiction and authority to regulate oil and
gas activities in Kansas.! The Commission has jurisdiction to regulate the “construction,
operation, and abandonment of any well and the protection of the usable water of this state from

2 Every operator conducting oil and gas activity

any actual or potential pollution from any well.
in Kansas must be licensed by the Commission.*

2. The Commission has the authority to issue a Penalty Order for violation of any
provision of K.S.A. 55-101 et seq., rule, regulation, or order of the Commission.* The

Commission shall take appropriate action which may include, but not be limited to, imposing a

monetary penalty “not to exceed $10,000, which sh ™ ¢ ‘itute actual  1:

'K S.A. 74-623.
2K .S.A.55-152.
3K.S.A. 55-155.
1K.S.A.55-162; K.S.A. 55-164.



economic deterrent to the violation for which the penalty is assessed.”™ “In the case of a

continuing violation, every day such violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation.”®
3. Within 60 days after plugging any well, the owner or operator of the well shall

file a well plugging report with the Conservation Division, on a form furnished by the

Commission.’ Failure to file a plugging report shall be punishable by a $100 penalty.

IL FINDINGS OF FACT
4, The Operator conducts oil and gas activities in Kansas under active license
number 34503.
5. The Operator is responsible for the care and control of the Scott #S5 (“the subject

well”), API #15-073-19671-00-00, located in Section 19, Township 23 South, Range 9 East,
Greenwood Cc 'y, nsas.

6. On March 13, 2018, the Operator plugged the subject well. The Operator did not
submit a complete and accurate well plugging report (“CP-4") within 60 days of the plugging
date.

7. On June 04, 2018, Commission Staff sent a Notice of Violation letter to the
Operator, requiring the Operator to file a CP-4 to bring the subject well into compliance with
K.AR. 82-3-117 by June 18, 20188

8. Commussion Staff did not receive a CP-4 by the deadline set out in Staff’s Notice

of Violation letter.

SK.S.A. 55-164.
§1d.

"K.AR. 82-3-117.
8 Exhibit A.
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9. The ymmission finds it has = " tion over the Operator and t|  matter under
K.S.A. 55-152 and K.S.A. 74-623.

10.  The Commission finds the Operator committed one violation of K.A.R. 82-3-117
because the Operator has not submitted a complete and accurate CP-4 for the subject well in a
timelym 1.

THEREFORE, THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

A. The Operator shall pay a $100 penalty.

B. The Operator shall submit a complete and accurate CP-4 for the subject well.
C. If no party req--"*~ -~ --aring, and the Operator is not in compliance with this

Order within 30 days from the date ~* service of this Order, then the Operator’s license shall be

suspended without further notice. The notice and opportunity for a hearing on this Order shall

constitute the notice required by K.S.A. 77-512 regarding license suspension. The Commission
may 1mpose further sanctions, including additional monetary penalties and any other remedies
available to the Commission by law, without further notice.

D. Checks and money orders shall be payable to the Kansas Corporation
Commission. Payments shall be mailed to the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. Main

St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment n--~* ‘nclude a reference to the docket

number of this proceeding. Credit card payments may be made by calling the Conservation

Division at 316-337-6200.
E. Any party may request a hearing on the above issues by submitting a written
request, pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, K.S.A. 77-537, and K.S.A. 77-542, setting forth the specific

grounds upon which relief is sought, to the Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita,



K 15 67202, within 30 days from the date of service of this Order. Hearings will be scheduled

only upon written request. Failure to timely requ '_a b~~-ing will resul" ° var~- ~f

MN-~-ator’s right to a hearing.

F. A corporation shall appear before the Commission by a Kansas licensed attorney.’
G. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the
purpose of entering such further order or orders as it may deem necessary.

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED.
Albrecht, Chair; Emler, Commissioner; Keen, Commissioner

v, |
07/10/2018 47 e M- J?-rg'

Dated:

Lynn M. Retz

Secretary to the Commission
Mailed Date: 07/11/2018
Lw

?K.S.A. 77-515(c); K.A.R. 82-1-228(d)(2).



CONSERVATION DIVISION
266 N. Main St., Ste. 220
Wichita, KS 67202-1513

Phone: 316-337-6200
Fax: 316-337-6211
http://kee ks.gov/

Shari Feist Albrecht, Chair Corporatlon Commlssmn Jeff Colyer, M.D., Governor
Jay Scott Emler, Commissioner

Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner

June 04, 2018

SAM MAYS i License No. 34503
Sam W. Mays Jr. LLC, DBA MAYS OIL LLC

PO BOX 391

EUREKA KS 67045-0391

NOTICE OF VIOLATION

Re: Well Plugging Record(s) - ("CP4")

Operator:

Commission records indicate that the well(s) on the attached list have been plugged, but we
have not received the necessary Well Plugging Record(s).

It is a violation of K.A.R. 82-3-117 for an operator to fail to submit a CP-4 within 60 days after
plugging a well.

Failure to submit a complete, accurate CP-4
for the well(s) on the attached list
by JUNE 18, 2018
shall be punishable by a $100 per-well administrative penalty.

The information requested above must be submitted on KOLAR. If a CP-4 is returned to you as
incomplete, you do not have additional time - the deadline above governs.

Please contact me at (316) 337-6200 if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

RENE STUCKY
Production Department

Exhibit A
1
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APl Well # Lease Name / Well # MR ~antinn Tt
15-073-19671-00-00 SCOTT S5 ‘ 19-23S-9E, SWSWNE ‘ GREENWOQD
Exhibit A
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19-CONS-3006-CPEN
I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of

. . . 07/10/2018
first class mail and electronic service on
W.MA i RENE STUCKY
SAMS W. MAYS JR. LLC KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
3/AMAYS OIL LLC Conservation Division
PO BOX 391 266 N. Main St. Ste. 220
EUREKA, KS 67045-0391 WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
maysoil.sam@gmail.com Fax: 785-271-3354

r.stucky@kcc.ks.gov

LAUREN WRIGHT, LITIGATION COUNSEL
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
Conservation Division

266 N. Main St. Ste. 220

WICHITA, KS 67202-1513

Fax: 316-337-6211

|.wright@kcc.ks.gov
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