
NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT 
23-TRAM-849-PEN

June 8, 2023 

Doubled D Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers 
Po Box 12541 
Kansas City, KS  66112 

This is a notice of a penalty assessment against Doubled D Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers (Carrier) for violation 
of the Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes, Rules, and Regulations discovered by Kansas Corporation 
Commission UCR Manager Verna Jackson.  Penalty amounts are assessed in accordance with the 
Commission-approved Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix.  For a full description of the penalty and terms 
and obligations please refer to the Order attached to this notice.  

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY:  Carrier has been assessed a $500 penalty for failure to pay Unified 
Carrier Registration (UCR) fees.  If you have questions regarding UCR fees please contact the 
Transportation Division at 785-271-3145. You have thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Penalty 
Order to pay the penalty.  Please remit payment of $500 through your personal account with the Kansas 
Corporation Commission’s Kansas Trucking Regulatory Network (KTRAN) located at 
https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/.   If you have not received a letter from the Transportation Division assigning 
you a Personal Identification Number (PIN) for use with your KTRAN account, please contact the Division 
at 785-271-3145.  You must have an account through KTRAN to pay the penalty.  

Additionally, if your 2023 UCR fees are still outstanding, those fees must be paid within thirty (30) days 
from the date of service of this Penalty Order to avoid additional penalties being assessed.  2023 UCR fees 
may be paid through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 

IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY ORDER:  You have the right to request a hearing.  A request 
for hearing must be made in writing, setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought.  Carrier 
must file, within fifteen (15) days from the date of service of this Order, the request for hearing with the 
Commission’s electronic filing system found at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/, and must mail a 
service copy of the request to the undersigned at the above address.  If you do not have access to the internet, 
you can mail an original and seven (7) copies of the request to the Executive Director at 1500 S.W. 
Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604, and mail a copy to the undersigned Litigation Counsel.  K.A.R. 
82-1-215; K.S.A. 77-542. 

IF YOU FAIL TO ACT:    Failure to pay the penalty of $500 within thirty (30) days from the date of service 
of the Penalty Order, or failure to comply with the terms of the Order or, in the alternative, failure to provide 
a timely written request for a hearing, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming final and may 
result in additional sanctions including suspension and/or revocation of your motor carrier operating 
authority. 

Respectfully, 

/s/ Ahsan A. Latif 
Litigation Counsel 
(785) 271-3118

1500 SW Arrowhead Road 
Topeka, KS 66604-4027 

Susan K. Duffy, Chair 
Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner 
Andrew J. French, Commissioner 

Corporation Commission 

Phone: 785-271-3100 
Fax: 785-271-3354 

http://kcc.ks.gov/ 

Laura Kelly, Governor 

20230608132540 
Kansas Corporation 

Commission 

https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/
https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/
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THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

 
Before Commissioners: Susan K. Duffy, Chair  

Dwight D. Keen  
Andrew J. French 
 

In the Matter of the Investigation of Doubled D 
Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers, of Kansas City, 
Kansas, Regarding the Violation(s) of the Motor 
Carrier Safety Statutes, Rules and Regulations 
and the Commission’s Authority to Impose 
Penalties, Sanctions and/or the Revocation of 
Motor Carrier Authority. 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

Docket No. 23-TRAM-849-PEN 

 
PENALTY ORDER 

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas (Commission).  Having examined its files and records, and being duly advised in the 

premises, the Commission finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION 

1. Pursuant to K.S.A 66-1,108b, 66-1,111, 66-1,112, and 66-1,114b, the Commission 

is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to supervise and control motor carriers, as defined 

in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5 and adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3f, doing business or procuring business in 

Kansas, and is empowered to do all things necessary and convenient for the exercise of such power, 

authority and jurisdiction.   

2. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,129a, 66-1,130 and 66-1,142b, the Commission may 

suspend operations, revoke or amend certificates, and initiate sanctions or fines against every 

motor carrier and every person who violates any provision of Kansas law in regard to the regulation 

of such motor carriers and persons, or who fails to obey any order, decision or regulation of the 

Commission. 
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3. Pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 14504a, the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Act is a 

federally mandated commercial motor vehicle registration program administered by individual 

States for motor carriers self-designating their operations as interstate commerce.  Kansas 

administers the UCR Act pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,139 which requires motor carriers to “register 

their motor vehicles in their base state pursuant to federal statutes.”  49 U.S.C. § 14504a(i)(4) 

expressly authorizes States the ability to issue citations and impose reasonable fines and penalties 

“pursuant to the applicable laws and regulations of the State on any motor carrier, motor private 

carrier, freight forwarder, broker, or leasing company for failure to ...pay the fees required.” 

4.  UCR fees are set annually by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 

(FMCSA).  The Commission enforces this registration requirement as outlined in the Uniform 

Penalty Assessment Matrix (Penalty Matrix), reviewed each year by July 1 and subsequently 

approved by the Commission. The Penalty Matrix establishes the structure of penalties for failure 

to pay the required UCR fees.   

II. FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

5. On May 30, 2023, Staff submitted a Report and Recommendation (R&R) regarding 

Doubled D Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers’s (Carrier’s) failure to pay its 2023 UCR fees.  As part of the 

R&R, Staff recommended the Commission assess Carrier a penalty in the amount of $500, to be 

paid through the Carrier’s Kansas Trucking Regulatory Assistance Network (KTRAN) account, 

and require Carrier to pay its outstanding UCR fees for 2023 through the UCR website at 

www.ucr.gov.  A copy of the R&R is attached hereto as Attachment “A” and incorporated herein 

by reference. 

6. As noted in the R&R, Carrier has operating authority under United States 

Department of Transportation (USDOT) number 1453630.  According to Carrier’s USDOT 
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profile,1 it designates itself as an interstate carrier, with its base as State as Kansas.  Carrier owns 

8 self-propelled vehicle(s) that meet the definition of the type of vehicle for which Carrier is 

required to pay annual UCR fees.2  

7. According to Staff’s R&R, multiple attempts were made to contact Carrier 

regarding its 2023 UCR fees.  The National Registration System (NRS), which is maintained by 

the UCR Board, sent solicitation notices every 15 days beginning February 18, 2023. Additionally, 

on January 5, 2023, a letter was sent to Carrier.3   

8. Litigation Counsel for Staff mailed a letter dated Februay 15, 2023, to Carrier 

informing it that it needed to pay its 2023 UCR fees within ten days.   Staff advised in the letter 

that nonpayment of UCR fees could result in civil assessments, with a penalty of $500 for each 

instance of non-compliance.4 To date, Commission records indicate that the Carrier has not paid 

its 2023 UCR fees. 

9. Based on Carrier’s failure to register its commercial motor vehicle(s) for 

registration year 2023 and pay the appropriate UCR fees as established in 49 C.F.R. 367, there is 

sufficient evidence to demonstrate that the Carrier is in violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 in conjunction 

with K.A.R. 82-4-30a, and that a fine in the amount of $500 is warranted.  Additionally, Carrier is 

still obligated to pay its 2023 UCR fees through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 

III. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

10. The Commission finds it has jurisdiction over Carrier because it is a motor carrier 

as defined in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5, as adopted by K.A .R. 82-4-3f.  

                                                 
1 See Exhibit 1 of Staff’s R&R. 
2 49 U.S.C. § 14504a requires UCR fees be paid for all commercial motor vehicles owned or operated by a motor 
carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder.  
3 See Exhibit 2 of Staff’s R&R. 
4 See Exhibit 3 of Staff’s R&R. 
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11. The Commission finds Carrier committed one violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for

failure to pay the 2023 UCR fees outlined in 49 C.F.R. Part 367.   

THE COMMISSION THEREFORE ORDERS THAT: 

A. Doubled D Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers of Kansas City, Kansas is hereby assessed a

$500 civil penalty for one violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for failure to pay the 2023 UCR fees 

outlined in 49 C.F.R. Part 367.   

B. Doubled D Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers shall pay its outstanding 2023 UCR fees through

the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 

C. Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-537 and K.S.A. 77-542, any party may request a hearing on

the above issue(s) by submitting a written request setting forth the specific grounds upon which 

relief is sought.  The request may be electronically filed with the Commission’s electronic filing 

system at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/, within fifteen (15) days from the date of 

service of this Order, and a copy of the request mailed to the Litigation Division.  If you do not 

have access to the internet, you can mail an original and seven copies of the request to the 

Executive Director at 1500 S.W. Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604, and mail a copy of the 

request to Litigation Counsel.  A hearing will be scheduled only upon written request.  Failure to 

timely request a hearing will result in a waiver of Carrier’s right to a hearing, and this Penalty 

Order will become a Final Order. 

D. If a request for hearing is filed, attorneys for all parties shall enter their appearances

in Commission proceedings by giving their names and addresses for the record. For civil penalties 

exceeding $500, a corporation shall appear before the Commission by its attorney, unless waived 

https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/
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by the Commission for good cause shown and a determination that such waiver is in the public 

interest.5  

E. If you do not request a hearing, the payment of the civil penalty of $500 as well as

payment of the 2023 UCR fees is due in thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Order. 

Payment of $500 must be made through your personal account with the Kansas Corporation 

Commission’s KTRAN system located at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/.  You must have a KTRAN 

account to pay the penalty through KTRAN.  Payment of the 2023 UCR fees may be made through 

the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 

F. Failure to pay the $500 civil penalty and the outstanding 2023 UCR fees within

thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Penalty Order,6 may result in suspension of 

Carrier’s motor carrier operating authority without further notice.  Additionally, the Commission 

may impose further sanctions to include, but not be limited to, additional monetary sanctions, the 

issuance and enforcement of revocation of authority and/or cease and desist orders, and any other 

remedies available to the Commission by law, without further notice.   

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 

Duffy, Chair; Keen, Commissioner; French, Commissioner 

Dated:   

_________________________________ 
Lynn M. Retz 
Executive Director 

AAL 

5 . K.S.A. 77-515(c); K.A.R. 82-1-228(d)(2); K.A.R. 82-1-202(a). 
6 See K.S.A. 66-1,105. 

06/08/2023
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REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION 
TRANSPORTATION DIVISION 

 
TO:  Susan K. Duffy, Chair 

Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner 
Andrew J. French, Commissioner 
 

FROM: Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation 
  Verna Jackson, UCR Manager 
 
DATE: May 30, 2023 
 
SUBJECT:  Docket No. 23-TRAM-849-PEN, Doubled D Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers  
  Motor Carrier Penalty Order for Failure to Pay 2023 UCR Fees 
 
 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY: 

Doubled D Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers (Carrier) is a carrier that has self-declared to be an 
interstate motor carrier on its USDOT profile. Interstate motor carriers are required to pay annual 
Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees. Staff has attempted, without success, to contact Carrier 
regarding its 2023 UCR fees. The first attempt was on January 5, 2023 when a notice was sent a 
letter regarding the 2023 UCR fees. An additional letter dated February 15, 2023, was sent by 
Litigation Counsel for Staff. Also, the National Registration System (NRS), which is maintained 
by the UCR Board, sent solicitation notices every 15 days beginning February 18, 2023 to any 
unregistered motor carriers. To date, Carrier’s profile lists its UCR fees for 2023 as unpaid. Staff 
recommends Carrier be assessed a penalty for failure to complete its federal registration as required 
by K.S.A. 66-1,139, as outlined in the applicable Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix. 
Additionally Staff recommends the Carrier be required to pay the unpaid 2023 UCR fees.  
 
BACKGROUND: 

Doubled D Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers operates under USDOT number 1453630, domiciled in 
Kansas at Po Box 12541, Kansas City, Kansas. Staff UCR Manager Verna Jackson has been tasked 
with ensuring Kansas motor carriers conducting interstate operations have properly paid their UCR 
fees for the calendar year 2023. Based on UCR Manager Jackson’s review of Carrier’s USDOT 
profile, Doubled D Inc d/b/a Dale Brothers is self-declared to be conducting interstate operations. 
On its most recent USDOT Profile update, submitted December 21, 2021, the carrier lists 8 
vehicle(s). However, its UCR fees for 2023 remain unpaid. A copy of the Carrier’s most recent 
USDOT Profile update is attached hereto as Exhibit 1.  

1500 SW Arrowhead Road 
Topeka, KS 66604-4027 

Susan K. Duffy, Chair 
Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner 
Andrew J. French, Commissioner 

Phone: 785-271-3100 
Fax: 785-271-3354 

http://kcc.ks.gov/ 

Laura Kelly, Governor 
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An initial letter was sent to the Carrier by Staff on January 5, 2023 informing it of its 
responsibility to pay UCR fees. A copy of the initial letter is attached hereto as Exhibit 2. Another 
letter dated February 15, 2023, was sent by Litigation Counsel for Staff also reminding Carrier 
that its 2023 UCR fees were outstanding, and warning that nonpayment would result in the 
issuance of a penalty order. A copy of this letter is attached hereto as Exhibit 3.  

 
Therefore, Staff recommends Carrier be assessed a civil penalty for failure to pay 2023 

Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees as required. This is a violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for 
failure to “register their motor vehicles in their base state pursuant to federal statutes,” namely 49 
USC 14504a. Additionally, Staff requests the Commission require the Carrier to pay its UCR fees 
for 2023 through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov.  
 
DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS: 

 K.S.A. 66-1,139 requires “all interstate regulated public motor carriers of property, of 
household goods, or of passengers who operate a motor vehicle in Kansas shall register their motor 
vehicles in their base state pursuant to federal statutes” unless otherwise exempted. The UCR Act, 
pursuant to 49 USC 14504a, establishes the registration requirements for motor carriers operating 
in interstate commerce.  
 

The UCR Act is a federally mandated commercial motor vehicle registration program 
administered by individual states for motor carriers self-designating their operations as interstate 
or are discovered to be operating in interstate commerce through roadside inspections or an 
accident. UCR funds are used by states for administration of the UCR program and enforcement 
of motor carrier safety programs. 

 
UCR fees are collected from all motor carriers or other entities required to obtain an 

Interstate USDOT number and/or is required to register with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration (FMCSA). There are six fee categories and the registration fees are based on the 
number of commercial motor vehicles operated in interstate commerce. 

 
Kansas based motor carriers can register UCR by logging into the NRS portal at 

www.ucr.gov and paying the UCR fees.  
 
For the purposes of determining UCR fees, a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) is defined 

as: a self-propelled vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers 
or cargo (as defined under 49 U.S.C. Section 31101), if the vehicle: 

(1) Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating or gross vehicle 
weight or gross combination weight of at least 10,001 pounds, whichever is greater; 
(2) Is designed to transport more than 10 passengers including the driver; or 
(3) Is used in transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to be 
hazardous under 49 U.S.C. Section 5103 and transported in a quantity requiring placarding 
under regulations prescribed by the Secretary. 

 
The operation of certain non-CMV vehicles still qualify it for UCR fees, but at the lowest 

UCR fee bracket. For example, for lightweight passenger vehicles that do not meet the above 

http://www.ucr.gov/
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definition of CMV (l less than 10 passengers including the driver), the fleet size for the UCR 
purposes would be zero and the carrier would register and pay the lowest fee bracket. 
 
 In 2022, the UCR fee schedule was established in 49 C.F.R. 367.30 as follows: 
 

TABLE 1 TO § 367.30 - FEES UNDER THE UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION PLAN AND 
AGREEMENT FOR REGISTRATION YEAR 2023  

AND EACH SUBSEQUENT REGISTRATION YEAR THEREAFTER 
 

Bracket 

Number of commercial 
motor vehicles owned or 
operated by exempt or 
non-exempt motor 
carrier, motor private 
carrier, or freight 
forwarder 

Fee per entity for 
exempt or non-exempt 
motor carrier, motor 
private carrier, or 
freight forwarder 

Fee per entity for broker 
or leasing company 

B1 0-2 $41 $41 

B2 3-5 121  

B3 6-20 242  

B4 21-100 844  

B5 101-1,000 4,024  

B6 1,001 and above 39,289  
 

 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/49/367.50
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The UCR Agreement applies to the following types of interstate operations of passenger 
and property: 

(1) Motor carrier; 
(2) Motor private carrier of property; 
(3) Freight forwarder; 
(4) Broker; 
(5) Leasing company; and 
(6) CMV registered with IRP plates cannot be excluded from the UCR vehicle count. 
 
UCR Exempt Operations include: 
(1) Wholly intrastate CMV; and 
(2) Private Motor Carriers of Passengers. 
 
If a carrier designates itself as an interstate carrier on its USDOT profile and fails to pay 

UCR fees within the calendar year that such fees apply, it is in violation of the UCR Agreement 
as enforced by the state of Kansas and subject to the appropriate fine based on the number of 
vehicles that should have been registered. Here, Carrier designated itself as an interstate carrier, 
with 8 vehicle(s) operating in interstate commerce.  

 
Each year, the Commission approves a Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix, which 

establishes the fee schedule used by Staff for penalties. With regard to violations of K.S.A. 66-
1,139 for failure to pay the fees outlined in 49 CFR 367, the matrix establishes the following fee 
schedule for standard violations:  

 
Regulation / Statute Standard 

49 C.F.R. § 367 0– 5 
Vehicles 

6 – 20 
Vehicles 

21-100 
Vehicles 

101-1000 
Vehicles 

1000+ 
Vehicles 

 $300.00 $500.00 $700.00 $900.00 $1,000.00 

 
 
RECOMMENDATION: 

Transportation Staff recommends a penalty of $500 be assessed against Doubled D Inc 
d/b/a Dale Brothers in accordance with the recommended penalties listed in the applicable Uniform 
Penalty Assessment Matrix. This penalty is based on the carrier’s USDOT profile, which lists the 
carrier as an interstate motor carrier. As discussed above, numerous attempts were made to contact 
the motor carrier and notify it of its obligation to pay the UCR fee. To date the 2023 UCR fee 
remains unpaid. This is a violation K.S.A. 66-1,139 for failure to comply with the UCR Act, 49 
U.S.C. 14504a, by not paying the applicable UCR fees outlines in 49 C.F.R. 367.  

 
Additionally, Staff requests the Commission require the Carrier to pay its outstanding 

UCR fees for 2023 through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 



Form MCS-150 (Rev. 3-24-2005) Expiration Date: 07/31/2012

OMB No. 2126-0013

U.S Department of Transportation
Federal Motor Carrier
Safety Administration

MOTOR CARRIER IDENTIFICATION REPORT
(Application for U.S. DOT NUMBER)

1. NAME OF MOTOR CARRIER
DOUBLED D INC

2. TRADE OR D.B.A. (DOING BUSINESS AS) NAME
DALE BROTHERS

3. PRINCIPAL ADDRESS
4101 POWELL DRIVE

4. CITY
SHAWNEE

5. STATE/PROVINCE
KANSAS 66226

6. ZIP CODE + 4 7. COLONIA (MEXICO ONLY)

10. STATE/PROVINCE
KANSAS

11. ZIP CODE+4
66112

(Check Only One)
NEW APPLICATION BIENNIAL UPDATE OR CHANGES OUT OF BUSINESS NOTIFICATION REAPPLICATION (AFTER REVOCATION OF NEW ENTRANT)

16. USDOT NO.

1453630

17. MC OR MX NO.

MC549274

13. PRINCIPAL BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER

(913) 334-1075

14. PRINCIPAL CONTACT CELL PHONE NUMBER

(913) 915-4764
15. PRINCIPAL BUSINESS FAX NUMBER

(913) 334-0090

18. DUN & BRADSTREET NO. 19. IRS/TAX ID NO.

EIN# SSN#

22. COMPANY OPERATION 

A. Interstate Carrier B. Intrastate Hazmat Carrier C. Intrastate Non-Hazmat Carrier Interstate Hazmat ShipperD. E. Intrastate Hazmat Shipper F. Vehicle Registrant Only

(Mark all that apply)

23. OPERATION CLASSIFICATION (Circle All that Apply)

A.

B.

C.

Authorized For-Hire

Exempt For-Hire

Private Property

A. 

B. 

C. 

D. 

E. 

GENERAL 
FREIGHT

HOUSEHOLD 
GOODS

METAL; SHEETS; 
COILS; ROLLS

MOTOR VEHICLES

DRIVE 
AWAY/TOWAWAY

24. CARGO CLASSIFICATIONS (Circle All that Apply)

25. HAZARDOUS MATERIALS CARRIED OR SHIPPED (Circle All that Apply) C-CARRIED  S-SHIPPED  B(BULK) - IN CARGO TANKS  NB(NON-BULK) - IN PACKAGE

C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C

S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S

A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
F.
G.
H.
I.

J.

DIV 1.1
DIV 1.2
DIV 1.3
DIV 1.4
DIV 1.5
DIV 1.6
DIV 2.1
DIV 2.1 LPG
DIV 2.1 (Methane)
DIV 2.2

NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB

B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B

C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C

S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S

K.
L.
M.
N.
O.
P.
Q.
R.
S.
T.

DIV 2.2A (Ammonia)
DIV 2.3A
DIV 2.3B
DIV 2.3C
DIV 2.3D
Class 3
Class 3A
Class 3B
COM LIQ
DIV 4.1

NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB

B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B

C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C

S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S

U.
V.
W.
X.
Y.
Z.

AA.
BB.
CC.
DD.

DIV 4.2
DIV 4.3
DIV 5.1
DIV 5.2
DIV 6.2
DIV 6.1A
DIV 6.1B
DIV 6.1 Poison
DIV 6.1 SOLID
CLASS 7

NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB

B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B

C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C
C

S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S
S

EE.
FF.

GG.
HH.

II.
JJ.

KK.
LL.

MM.
NN.
OO.

HRCQ
CLASS 8
CLASS 8A
CLASS 8B
CLASS 9
ELEVATED TEMP MAT.
INFECTIOUS WASTE
MARINE POLLUTANTS
HAZARDOUS SUB(RQ)
HAZARDOUS WASTE
ORM

NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB
NB

B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B
B

D.

E.

F.

Private Passengers (Business)

Private Passengers (Non-Business)

Migrant

G.

H.

I. 

U. S. Mail

Federal Government

State Government

J.

K.

L.

Local Government

Indian Tribe

Other

Straight
Trucks

Truck
Tractors

Trailers Hazmat Cargo
Tank Trailers Number of vehicles carrying number of passengers (including the driver) below

Motor
 Coach

School Bus Mini-bus Van Limousine

1-8 9-15 16+ 16+ 1-8 9-15 1-8 9-15 16+
 4  4  16 OWNED

 TERM LEASED
 TRIP LEASED
27. DRIVER INFORMATION INTERSTATE INTRASTATE TOTAL DRIVERS TOTAL CDL DRIVERS

Within 100-Mile Radius
Beyond 100-Mile Radius  3

 3  3

28. IS YOUR U.S. DOT NUMBER REGISTRATION CURRENTLY REVOKED BY THE FEDERAL MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY ADMINISTRATION? Yes No X
If Yes, enter your U.S. DOT Number.

29. PLEASE ENTER NAME(S) OF SOLE PROPRIETOR(S), OFFICERS OR PARTNERS AND TITLES (e.g. PRESIDENT, TREASURER, GENERAL PARTNER, LIMITED PARTNER)

1. 2. 
(Please print Name) (Please print Name)

TRAVIS DALE, VICE PRESIDENT CLIFFORD DALE JR, VICE PRESIDENT

30. CERTIFICATION STATEMENT (to be completed by an authorized official)

I, certify that I am familiar with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations and/or Federal Hazardous Materials Regulations.
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that the information entered on this report is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true,
correct, and complete.

TRAVIS DALE
(Please print Name)

Signature TRAVIS DALE Date 12/03/2021
Title

(Please print)
VICE PRESIDENT

Hazmat 
Cargo

Tank Trucks

X

F. 

G. 

H. 

I. 

LOGS, POLES, 
BEAMS, LUMBER

BUILDING 
MATERIALS

MOBILE HOMES

MACHINERY, 
LARGE OBJECTS

J. 

K. 

L. 

M. 

N. 

O. 

FRESH PRODUCE

LIQUIDS/GASES

INTERMODAL CONT.

PASSENGERS

OIL FIELD EQUIPMENT

LIVESTOCK

P. 

Q. 

R. 

S. 

T. 

U. 

GRAIN, FEED, HAY

COAL/COKE

MEAT

GARBAGE, REFUSE, TRASH

U.S. MAIL

CHEMICALS

V. 

W. 

X. 

Y. 

Z. 

AA.

COMMODITIES DRY BULK

REFRIGERATED FOOD

BEVERAGES

PAPER PRODUCTS

UTILITY

FARM SUPPLIES

BB.

CC.

DD.

CONSTRUCTION

WATER WELL

OTHER

,

12. COLONIA (MEXICO ONLY)

REASON FOR FILING

26. NUMBER OF VEHICLES THAT CAN BE OPERATED IN THE U.S.

8. MAILING ADDRESS
PO BOX 12541

9. CITY
KANSAS CITY

20. INTERNET E-MAIL ADDRESS 21. CARRIER MILEAGE (to nearest 10,000 miles for Last Calendar Year) YEAR

122506 2021

EXHIBIT 1

• • • • 

I 

0 

0 

0 0 0 
0 

0 
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January 5, 2023 

USDOT 1453630 
DOUBLED D INC  
DALE BROTHERS 
PO BOX 12541 
KANSAS CITY  KS  66112 

RE:  2023 UCR Registration 

Our records indicate your Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees have not been paid for the 
period noted.  Payment of this fee is required by Federal and State Regulations for Carriers that 
transport in commerce between two states (interstate Commerce). Farms, ranches, custom 
harvesters, tow trucks, construction and passenger carriers are not exempt from this requirement. 
Possession of an active USDOT number necessitates your compliance with these regulations. 
Based on your USDOT profile, you are listed as an active, interstate carrier. Operating a 
commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce prior to paying UCR fees is a violation of 49 
C.F.R. 367 and K.A.R. 82-4-30a.  Nonpayment of UCR fees may result in Civil Assessments
and a Commission-issued Penalty Order, resulting with a minimum penalty of $300 for
each instance of non-compliance.

To process the UCR registration, please sign in to the National Registration System (NRS) at 
https://www.ucr.gov.  Follow the instructions as directed. Please register for each required year.    

If you are no longer an active carrier, a written notice must be provided indicating your desire for 
the inactivation of the USDOT number and the reason for the inactivation request.  Please 
provide the USDOT number, name of the motor carrier, your name and affiliation with the motor 
carrier on the written notice.  The request may be emailed to transportation@kcc.ks.gov or 
mailed to the Kansas Corporation Commission, Division of Transportation, 1500 SW Arrowhead 
Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604-4027. NOTE: You will need to inactivate the USDOT number 
even if you have inactivated the Federal motor carrier authority (MC#). These are two separate 
actions required to inactivate your operations. Also, if you do not move forward with completing 
the motor carrier authority application, you will need to inactivate the USDOT number or you 
will continue to be responsible for following the regulations as required. 

For additional motor carrier requirements and information, please visit our website at 
www.kcc.ks.gov.  By clicking on Transportation, several links are available for reference. 

Kansas Corporation Commission 
Transportation Division 
Email:  Transportation@kcc.ks.gov 
Phone:  785-271-3145   Fax:  785-271-3124  

EXHIBIT 2

Transportation Division 
1500 SW Arrowhead Road 
Topeka, KS 66604-4027 

Dwight D. Keen, Chair 
Susan K. Duffy, Commissioner 
Andrew J. French, Commissioner 

Phone: 785-271-3145 
Fax: 785-271-3124 

http://kcc.ks.gov/ 

Laura Kelly, Governor 

https://www.ucr.gov/
mailto:transportation@kcc.ks.gov
http://www.kcc.ks.gov/
mailto:Transportation@kcc.ks.gov


February 15, 2023 

Doubled D Inc Dba Dale Brothers 
Po Box 12541 
Kansas City, KS 66112 

Re: Unregistered 2023 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) – USDOT NO. 1453630 

Dear Motor Carrier Representative: 

I am an attorney with the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) writing to you regarding your unpaid 
2023 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees.  The KCC is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to 
supervise and control motor carriers - as defined in the Kansas statutes - doing business or procuring 
business in Kansas, and may do all things necessary and convenient for the exercise of such power, authority 
and jurisdiction.  

Our records indicate your UCR fees for 2023 have not been paid.  Payment of these fees is required by 
Federal and State Regulations for Carriers that transport in commerce between two states (interstate 
commerce).  Farms, ranches, custom harvesters, tow trucks, construction and passenger carriers are not 
exempt from this requirement.  Possession of an active USDOT number necessitates your compliance with 
these regulations.  Based on your USDOT profile, you are listed as an active, interstate carrier.  Operating 
a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce prior to paying UCR fees is a violation of 49 C.F.R. 
367 and K.A.R. 82-4-30a.  Nonpayment of UCR fees within ten days of the date of this letter will result 
in Civil Assessments and a Commission-issued Penalty Order, with a penalty of $ for each instance 
of non-compliance.  

Our Staff has made attempts to notify you regarding your unpaid UCR fees.  Deliberate avoidance of 
registering your applicable vehicles for UCR is a violation of the above-stated law and authority. 

You can pay your UCR fees for 2023 at https://www.ucr.gov. 

If you are no longer an active carrier, a written notice must be provided indicating your desire for the 
inactivation of your USDOT number and the reason for the inactivation request.  Please mail your 
notification along with your USDOT# and company name to Kansas Corporation Commission, Division of 
Transportation, 1500 SW Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604-4027 or send by email to 
transportation@kcc.ks.gov.  

Thank you for your cooperation. If you have any further questions, you may contact the Verna Jackson, 
UCR Manager for the Transportation Division at the Kansas Corporation Commission at 785-271-3104 or 
email her at v.jackson@kcc.ks.gov. 

Sincerely, 
/s/ Ahsan A. Latif 
Ahsan A. Latif  
Litigation Counsel

EXHIBIT 3

1500 SW Arrowhead Road 
Topeka, KS 66604-4027 

Susan K. Duffy, Chair 
Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner 
Andrew J. French, Commissioner 

Phone: 785-271-3100 
Fax: 785-271-3354 

http://kcc.ks.gov/ 

Laura Kelly, Governor 

https://www.ucr.gov/
mailto:transportation@kcc.ks.gov


CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

23-TRAM-849-PEN

I, the undersigned, certify that a true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following by means of 

first class mail and electronic service on ________________________.

Travis Dale, PRESIDENT
Doubled D Inc
PO Box 12541
Kansas City, KS 66112

AHSAN LATIF, LITIGATION  COUNSEL
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD
TOPEKA, KS 66604
a.latif@kcc.ks.gov

/S/ KCC Docket Room
KCC Docket Room

06/08/2023
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