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violation for which the penalty is assessed.” “In the case of a continuing violation, every day
such violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation.”®

3. K.AR. 82-3-604(a) provides that the operator shall notify the appropriate district
office within 24 hours of discovery or knowledge of any oil field-related discharge of five or more
barrels of saltwater, oil, or refuse into an emergency pit or diked area. The point of discovery or
knowledge means that point when the operator knew or reasonably should have known of the
spill.’

4. K.A.R. 82-3-604(d) provides that failure to timely notify the district office of an oil
field-related discharge into an emergency pit or diked area shall be punishable by a $250 penalty
for the first violation, a $500 penalty for the second violation, and a $1,000 penalty and an operator
license review for the third violation.?

5. K.A.R. 82-3-606(a) provides that dumping or releasing chemical substances and
other nonexempt waste associated with any drilling or production operation into pits shall be
strictly prohibited.

6. K.A.R 82-3-606(b) provides that any operator found to be responsible for the

dumping or release of chemical substances or nonexempt waste shall be assessed a $1,000 penalty

for the first violation, a $5,000 penalty for the second violation, and a $10,000 penalty for the third

violation.
I1. FINDINGS OF FACT
7. The Operator conducts oil and gas activities in Kansas under active license number
8132.
S.A. 55-164.
“ld

7K.A.R. 82-3-604(c).
8 K.AR. 82-3-604(d)(1) (d)2):(d)(3).









Wichita, Kansas 67202, Th~ =rwrmnnt saet fnnlinda o wnbavnnnas tn the drnlrnt worelene ~F ebin
proceeding. Credit card payments may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-
6200.

D. Any party may request a hearing on the above issues by submitting a written
request, pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, K.S.A. 77-537, and K.S.A. 77-542, setting forth the specific
grounds upon which relief is sought, to the Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita,
Kansas 67202, within 30 days from the date of service of this Order. Hearings will be scheduled

only upon written request. “~*'~e¢ to tir='v_request a hearin~ --*'" -~ ' ‘n a waiver of the

MNwerator’st 1t to a hearing.

E. A corporation shall appear before the Commission by a Kansas licensed attorney.'®
F. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the
purpose of entering such further orders as it may deem necessary.

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED.
Albrecht, Chair; Emler, Commissioner; Keen, Commissioner.

K M. "Eff—_-
10/04/2018 W

Dated:

Lynn M. Retz

Secretary to the Commission
Mailed Date: 10/05/2018
LW

16 K S.A. 77-515(c); K.A.R. 82-1-228(d)(2).
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Case Contact and Time line

f
4

Mr. Max Baithazor called regarding Operator dumping fluids into pit behind tank battery, Hunt lease.

Attach Copies of all Pertinent Data and Reports

Date investigated:

Agent Signature Date closed: Fvhihit R
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CorRPORATION COMMISSION
Conservation Division
District OFrFicE No, 4
23N & 13via Seneny
Havs, KS 67601-2651

Preng: 785-261-6250
Fax: 785-625-0564
hup#ikee ks gov/

GoVERNOR JeFF CoLYER, M.D.
Swuart Fusst Avsrectt, Ciam }lay Scorr Evuer, Comssionir | Dwichy D. Keen, CoMMISSIONER

NOTICE OF VIOLATION
August 31, 2018
H&H Oil Company #8132 Re: Hunt Lease
Attention: William Hammerschmidt SE-NE-NE-NW/4
904 S. Section line Sec. 23-09-21w
Plainville, Kansas 67663 Graham County, Kansas

(785)434-2403

Following a lease inspection conducted __August 28, 2018 , on the above captioned lease,
it has been determined that you are currently in violation of the General Rules and Regulations of
the Kansas Corporation Commission regarding the conservation of crude oil and natural gas.
Specifically, you are in violation of K.A.R. 82-3-604. Each operator shall notify the appropriate
district office within 24 hours of discovery or knowledge of any oil field-related discharge of
five or more barrels of saltwater, oil, or refuse into an emergency pit or diked area. We are
referring this violation to our Legal Staff with a penalty recommendation.

Each operator must remove fluid from the pit or diked area within 48 hours after the
discovery of the discharge or as authorized by the appropriate district office. Removal of the fluid
must be completed by _Septembher 20, 207 . Failure to bring the lease into compliance by that
date will result in this matter being referred to our Legal Staff with a recommendation for an
additional penalty and other possible action.

Enclosed is a Report of Incident form to be completed by the operator and returned to the
District office by __Sep¢~=b~~ 10 MR This form is for informational purposes only and not
to be construed as to supersede reguiatory requirements for reporting. Your cooperation in this
matter is appreciated. Should you have any questions, you may reach me by writing the KCC
District Office #4, 2301 East 13th, Hays, Kansas 67601 or by calling (785) 261-6250.

Sincerely.
Richard Williams
Compliance officer
cc: file
enclosure
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ATEPTIFIS AT A QI:RVICE

19-CONS-3138-CPEN
I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of

first class mail and electronic service or 10/04/2018
WILLIAM HAMMERSCHMIDT JONELLE RAINS
H & H OIL COMPANY, A GENERAL PARTNERSHIP KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
900 S SECTION LINE Conservation Division
PLAINVILLE, KS 67663-3408 266 N. Main St. Ste. 220
WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
Fax: 785-271-3354
j.rains@kcce.ks.gov
RICHARD WILLIAMS LAUREN WRIGHT, LITIGATION COUNSEL
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
DISTRICT OFFICE NO. 4 Conservation Division
2301 E. 13TH STREET 266 N. Main St. Ste. 220
HAYS, KS 67601-2654 WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
Fax: 785-271-3354 Fax: 316-337-6211
r.williams@kcc.ks.gov l.wright@kcc.ks.gov

/S/ DeeAnn Shuy

DeeAnn Shupe





