THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Before Commissioners: Dwight D. Keen, Chair

Shari Feist Albrecht Jay Scott Emler

In the Matter of the Application of Haas) Docket No: 19-CONS-3224-CUIC Petroleum, LLC to Amend Injection Permit) E-31342, for the Thoele South Lease located) CONSERVATION DIVISION in Section 29, Township 18 South, Range 21)

East, Franklin County, Kansas.) License No: 33640

ORDER ON MOTION TO STRIKE

This matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State of Kansas (Commission). Having examined its files and records, and being fully advised in the premises, the Commission finds the following:

I. Findings of Fact

- 1. On December 17, 2018, Haas Petroleum, LLC (Operator) filed an Application to amend injection permit E-31342, requesting an increase in the authorized injection pressure, from 500 psi to 600 psi, for all wells subject to the permit. On January 7, 2019, Cindy Hoedel filed a letter protesting the Application, as did Scott Yeargain and Polly Shteamer (collectively, "Protestors").
- 2. On February 14, 2019, Operator filed a *Motion to Dismiss* Protestors for lack of standing. On February 22, 2019, Protestors jointly filed a *Reply to Motion to Dismiss*.
- 3. On March 4, 2019, Commission Staff filed a motion to strike portions of Protestors' *Reply to Motion to Dismiss*, stating that such portions of Protestors' filing were irrelevant and were inadmissible hearsay.³
 - 4. On March 7, 2019, the Commission granted Operator's *Motion to Dismiss*.⁴

² Cindy Hoedel – Protest Letter (Jan. 7, 2019); Scott Yeargain and Polly Shteamer – Protest Letter (Jan. 7, 2019).

¹ Application (Dec. 17, 2018).

³ Motion to Strike, ¶¶ 8-9 (Mar. 4, 2019).

⁴ Order on Motion to Dismiss, Ordering Clause A (Mar. 7, 2019).

II. Conclusions of Law

5. Since Protestors have been dismissed from these proceedings, there is no need to rule upon the merits of Staff's motion to strike portions of Protestors' response to the *Motion to Dismiss*.

THEREFORE, THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

A. Staff's Motion to Strike is denied as moot.

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED.

Keen, Chair; Albrecht, Commissioner; Emler, Commissioner

Dated:	03/21/2019	Lynn M. Reg
_		Lynn M. Retz
		Secretary to the Commission
Date Ma	iled:	
JRM		

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

19-CONS-3224-CUIC

nic service on03/21/2019	
KEITH A. BROCK, ATTORNEY	CINDY HOEDEL
ANDERSON & BYRD, L.L.P.	205 MERCER ST
216 S HICKORY	MATFIELD GREEN, KS 66862
PO BOX 17	cindyhoedel@gmail.com
OTTAWA, KS 66067	
Fax: 785-242-1279	
kbrock@andersonbyrd.com	
TODD BRYANT, GEOLOGIST SPECIALIST	JONATHAN R. MYERS, ASSISTANT GENERAL CO
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION	KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
266 N. Main St., Ste. 220	266 N. Main St., Ste. 220
WICHITA, KS 67202-1513	WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
Fax: 785-271-3354	Fax: 316-337-6211
t.bryant@kcc.ks.gov	j.myers@kcc.ks.gov
RENE STUCKY	LAUREN WRIGHT, LITIGATION COUNSEL
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION	KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
266 N. Main St., Ste. 220	266 N. Main St., Ste. 220
WICHITA, KS 67202-1513	WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
Fax: 785-271-3354	Fax: 316-337-6211
r.stucky@kcc.ks.gov	l.wright@kcc.ks.gov
POLLY SHTEAMER	SCOTT YEARGAIN
2263 NEVADA RD	2263 NEVADA RD
OTTAWA, KS 66067	OTTAWA, KS 66067
pshteamer@gmail.com	j201942@yahoo.com

DeeAnn Shupe