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NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT 
17-TRAM-569-PEN 

Phone: 785-271-3100 
Fax: 785-271-3354 

http://k.cc.ks.gov/ 

Sam Brownback, Governor 

Dale Goetz, President Certified Mail Receipt No. 70161970000105740440 
Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. 
6606 E Rd 100 S 
Park, Kansas 67751 

This is a notice of a penalty assessment against Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. for violation(s) 
of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes, Rules, and Regulations discovered during a compliance review 
conducted on June 28, 2017, by Kansas Corporation Commission Special Investigator(s) Penny Fryback. 
For a full description of the penalty and terms and obligations, please refer to the Penalty Order that is 
attached to this notice. 

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY: 

Double D Family Mat Shop has been assessed a $1, 100 penalty. You have thirty (30) days from 
the date of service of this Penalty Order to pay the fine, unless you choose the reduced penalty option 
explained below. Please remit payment of $1,100, through your personal account with the Kansas 
Corporation Commission's KTRAN application located at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/. If you have not 
received a letter from the Transportation Division assigning you a PIN, please contact that Division at 
785-271-3145. You must have an account through KTRAN to pay the penalty owed. 

DOUBLED FAMILY MAT SHOP IS A NEW ENTRANT MOTOR CARRIER AND IS 
ELIGIBLE FOR A PENALTY REDUCTION OF FIFTY PERCENT (50%) UNDER THE 
FOLLOWING TERMS: 

New Entrant motor carriers are eligible for a one-time, fifty-percent (50%) reduction in the 
penalty(s) assessed motor carriers in accordance with the FY 2017 Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix. 
You have to meet the terms and obligations set out in the attached Reduced Penalty Agreement to be 
eligible for the fifty-percent (50%) reduction. A fifty-percent (50%) reduction in the penalty assessed in 
the attached Order is available if: 

(1) the carrier signs and submits within fifteen (15) days from the date of this Penalty Order, the 
attached Reduced Penalty Agreement to Litigation Counsel at the above address; 

(2) within 30 days from the date of the attached Penalty Order, the carrier submits to 
Transportation Staff an approved Corrective Action Plan (CAP) documenting the violation(s) described in 
the attached Order, including specific and detailed information explaining the carrier's efforts and 
concrete steps taken to ensure the violation(s) do not occur in the future; and 

(3) within thirty (30) days from the date of the attached Penalty Order, the carrier sends an 
individual responsible for safety compliance to attend a Commission-sponsored safety seminar, and proof 
of attendance must be submitted to the undersigned Litigation Counsel shortly thereafter. 

( 4) within 18 months from the date of the attached Penalty Order, the carrier must be available 
for a follow-up Safety Compliance Review. Transportation Staff will contact the carrier to schedule the 
review. 

If a can:ier is approved for the fifty-percent (50%) reduced penalty, a Motion to Amend Penalty 
Order, along with the Reduced Penalty Agreement will be filed with the Commission. An Amended 
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Penalty Order assessing the reduced penalty and setting out the terms and conditions stated above will be 
issued by the Commission shortly thereafter. Payment of the reduced penalty of $550 would be due 
within thirty (30) days from the date of service of the Amended Penalty Order. 

IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY ORDER: 

You have the right to request a hearing if you contest the terms of the Penalty Order. A request 
for hearing must be made in writing, setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought. 
Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. must file within fifteen (15) days from the date of service of this Order, 
the request for hearing with the Commission's electronic filing system found at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e­
filing/e-express/, and by mailing a copy of the request for hearing to Litigation Counsel at the above 
address. If you do not have access to the internet, you can mail an original and seven (7) copies of the 
request to the Commission's Secretary at 1500 S.W. Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604, within 
fifteen ( 15) days from the date of service of this Penalty Order and mail a copy of the request to Litigation 
Counsel. K.A.R. 82-1-215; K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 77-542. 

IF YOU FAIL TO ACT: 

Failure to adhere to the terms and obligations set out in the attached Penalty Order, including 
payment of the penalty of$1,100 within thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Penalty Order, or 
in the alternative, provide a written request for a hearing within fifteen (15) days from the date of service 
of this Penalty Order, will result in the Order becoming a final Penalty Order and the terms and conditions 
set out therein will be enforced. If Double D Family Mat Shop submits the attached Reduced Penalty 
Agreement as explained above, an Amended Penalty order may be issued assessing the reduced penalty of 
$550 and that payment will become due within thirty (30) days from the date of service of the Amended 
Penalty Order. 



1500 SW Arrowhead Road 
Topeka, KS 66604-4027 

Pat Apple, Chaim13n 
Shari Feist Albrecht, Commissioner 
Jay Scott Emler, Commissioner 

REDUCEDPENALTYAGREEMENT 

17-TRAM-569-PEN 

Phone: 785-271-3100 
Fax: 785-271-3354 

http://kcc.ks.gov/ 

Sam Brownback, Governor 

Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. hereby submits this Reduced Penalty Agreement to become 
eligible for a fifty percent (50%) reduction in the penalty assessed in the Penalty Order dated July 11, 
2017. Double D Family Mat Shop has agreed to comply with the following terms and obligations: 

1. Double D Family Mat Shop has submitted, within fifteen (15) days from the date of the 
Penalty Order issued on July 11, 2017, this signed and dated Reduced Penalty Agreement to Litigation 
Counsel at the above address. 

2. Double D Family Mat Shop will, within 30 days from the date of the Penalty Order dated 
July 11, 2017, submit to Transportation Staff a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) documenting the 
violation(s) and describing specific and detailed information explaining the its efforts and concrete steps 
taken to ensure the violation(s) do not occur in the future. I understand the CAP must be approved by 
Transportation Staff before my company can be eligible for the 50% reduced penalty. 

3. Double D Family Mat Shop will, within thirty (30) days from the date of the Penalty 
Order dated July 11, 2017, send an individual responsible for safety compliance to attend a Commission­
sponsored safety seminar, and proof of attendance will be submitted to the Litigation Counsel. 

4. Double D Family Mat Shop will be available within eighteen (18) months from the date 
of the Penalty Order for a follow-up Safety Compliance Review. Transportation Staff will contact the 
carrier to schedule the review. 

Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. understands that if approved, Transportation Litigation Counsel 
will file a Motion for Amended Penalty Order with this Agreement attached to the motion. The Amended 
Penalty Order will assess Double D Family Mat Shop a fifty-percent (50%) reduced penalty of $550, and 
set out the terms and conditions stated above. Once the Amended Penalty Order is issued by the 
Commission, Double D Family Mat Shop will have thirty (30) days from the date of service of the 
Amended Order to pay the reduced penalty assessed. 

Dated this __ day of ______ , ·2017. 

Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. 

Dale Goetz 
President 

(This Agreement can be mailed via U.S. Mail to the address above to the attention of Ahsan Latif, 
Litigation Counsel, or sent via e-mail to v.jacobsen@kcc.ks.gov and alatif(alkcc.ks.gov.) 



THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

Before Commissioners: Pat Apple, Chairman 
Shari Feist Albrecht 
Jay Scott Emler 

In the Matter of the Investigation of Double D ) 
Family Mat Shop Inc., of Park, Kansas, ) 
Regarding the Violation of the Motor Carrier ) 
Safety Statutes, Rules and Regulations and the ) Docket No. 17-TRAM-569-PEN 
Commission's Authority to Impose Penalties, ) 
Sanctions and/or the Revocation of Motor ) 
Carrier Authority. ) 

PENAL TY ORDER 

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas (Commission). The Commission, having been briefed on the issue by the Director of 

the Commission's Transportation Division, finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION 

1. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 66-l,108b, 66-1,111, 66-1,112, 66-1,114, 66-

1, 114b and 66-1, 115, the Commission is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to supervise 

and control motor carriers, as defined in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 66-1,108, doing business or 

procuring business in Kansas, and is empowered to do all things necessary and convenient for 

the exercise of such power, authority and jurisdiction. 

2. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 66-1,129a, 66-1,130 and 66-l,142b, the 

Commission may suspend operations, revoke or amend certificates, and initiate sanctions or fines 

against every motor carrier and every person who violates any provision of Kansas law in regard 

to the regulation of such motor carriers and persons, or who fails to obey any order, decision or 

regulation of the Commission. 



3. The Commission has the authority, pursuant to K.A.R. 82-1-237, to investigate an 

entity under the Commission's jurisdiction and order a hearing on the Commission's own motion 

when the Commission believes the entity is in violation of the law or any order of the 

Commission. 

II. BACKGROUND 

4. Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. (Double D Family Mat Shop) has private 

operating authority from the Commission and further operates under USDOT number 2493204. 

5. Double D Family Mat Shop is a private motor carrier which primarily hauls used 

tires. 

6. Double D Family Mat Shop is a New Entrant motor carrier and is eligible for a 

fifty-percent (50%) reduction of the penalty(s) assessed below in accordance with the FY 2017 

Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix. 

III. STATEMENT OF FACTS 

7. Pursuant to the jurisdiction and authority cited above, on June 28, 2017, 

Commission Staff (Staff) Special Investigator(s) Penny Fryback conducted a compliance review 

of the operations of Double D Family Mat Shop. A copy of the safety compliance review is 

attached hereto as Attachment "A" and is hereby incorporated by reference. As a result of this 

investigation, Ms. Fryback identified four (4) violation(s) of the Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations. 

a. On June 21, 2017, Double D Family Mat Shop required or permitted its 

driver, Dale Goetz, to operate a CDL-required commercial motor vehicle, 

a 1999 Kenworth straight truck, VIN ending in 794 734, GVWR over 

26,000 lbs., in intrastate commerce in and around the area of Park, Kansas. 

2 



This trip is evidenced by a copy of the calendar page for June 21, 2017, a 

copy of which is attached hereto as Attachment "B" and is hereby 

incorporated by reference. At the time of this transportation, Double D 

Family Mat Shop failed to make an inquiry every 12 months into the 

annual motor vehicle record (MVR) of its driver and maintain the 

response(s) of each state agency in the driver qualification file. The 

carrier's failure to inquire into its driver's MVR at least once every 12 

months and maintain a copy of the MVR in the driver qualification file is a 

violation of 49 C.F.R. Part 391.25(a) and (c)(l), adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-

3g, and authorized by K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 66-1,112. Staff recommends a 

fine of $100. 

b. During the transportation described in paragraph a., above, Double D 

Family Mat Shop had not required its driver to obtain a medical 

examiner's certificate to indicate he was physically able to operate a CDL­

required commercial motor vehicle. The carrier's failure to confirm that 

its driver is medically examined and certified prior to requiring or 

permitting the operation of a commercial motor vehicle and maintaining 

documentation of the medical certificate in the driver qualification file is a 

violation of 49 C.F.R. 391.41(a)(l)(i), adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3g, and 

authorized by K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 66-1,129. Staff recommends a fine of 

$250. 

c. During the transportation described in paragraph a., above, Double D 

Family Mat Shop did not have any private operating authority from the 
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Kansas Corporation Commission. The carrier's commercial operations of 

motor vehicles prior to obtaining and maintaining proper Commission 

authority is a violation of K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 66-1,111 and 49 C.F.R. 

392.2, adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3h, and authorized by K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 

66-1,129. Staff recommends a fine of $500. 

d. During the transportation described in paragraph a., above, Double D 

Family Mat Shop permitted this transportation without first obtaining and 

documenting a successful periodic (annual) inspection on the commercial 

motor vehicle during the preceding 12-month period. The carrier's failure · 

to conduct periodic (annual) inspections on commercial motor vehicles is 

a violation of 49 C.F.R. 396.17(c), adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3j, and 

authorized by K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 66-1,129. Staff recommends a fine of 

$250. 

IV. STAFF'S RECOMMENDATIONS 

8. Based upon the available facts, Staff recommends the Commission find Double D 

Family Mat Shop committed four (4) violation(s) of Kansas law that governs motor carriers, 

including various provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs), as 

adopted by the Kansas Administrative Regulations, and is therefore subject to sanctions or fines 

imposed by the Commission. 

9. Staff recommends a civil penalty of $1,100 for four (4) violation(s) of the Motor 

Carrier Safety Statutes, Rules and Regulations. 

10. Staff provides notice to the Commission that Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. is a 

New Entrant motor carrier and is eligible for a fifty-percent (50%) reduced civil penalty if it 
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submits to Litigation Counsel within fifteen (15) days of the date of this Penalty Order the 

Reduced Penalty Agreement, which is attached to the Notice of Penalty Assessment. 

11. Staff recommends Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. submit a Corrective Action 

Plan (CAP) within 30 days of the date of this Penalty Order, to Transportation Staff, 

documenting the violation(s) described in the this Penalty Order, including specific and detailed 

information explaining the carrier's efforts and concrete steps taken to ensure the violation(s) do 

not occur in the future. The CAP must be approved by Transportation Staff to qualify for the 

fifty-percent (50%) discount. 

12. Staff further recommends that Double D Family Mat Shop attend a Commission-

sponsored safety seminar within ninety (90) days from the date of this Order, and provide proof 

of attendanc.e to Litigation Counsel. 

13. Finally, Staff recommends that Double D Family Mat Shop submit to one follow-

up safety compliance review within eighteen (18) months from the date of this Order. Staff will 

contact the motor carrier at a later date to determine an appropriate time for this review. 

V. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

14. The Commission finds it has jurisdiction over Double D Family Mat Shop 

because it is a motor carrier as defined in K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 66-1,108. 

15. The Commission finds a penalty of $1,100 should be assessed to Double D 

Family Mat Shop for committing four (4) violation(s) of Kansas law that governs motor carriers, 

including various provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs), as 

adopted by the Kansas Administrative Regulations, and is therefore subject to sanctions or fines 

imposed by the Commission. 
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16. The Commission finds Double D Family Mat Shop is a New Entrant motor carrier 

and is eligible for a fifty-percent (50%) reduction in the penalty(s) assessed motor carriers in 

accordance with the FY 2017 Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix. The carrier must submit to 

Litigation Counsel, within fifteen (15) days from the date of this Penalty Order, the signed and 

dated Reduced Penalty Agreement, which states it will comply with the reduced penalty terms 

and obligations set out therein. 

THE COMMISSION THEREFORE ORDERS THAT: 

A. Double D Family Mat Shop Inc., of Park, Kansas is hereby assessed a penalty of 

$1,100 for four (4) violation(s) of Kansas law governing the regulation of motor carriers, the 

Kansas Administrative Regulations and provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations, as adopted by the Kansas Administrative Regulations. Payment of $1, 100 must be 

made through your personal account with the Kansas Corporation Commission's KTRAN 

application located at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/. If you have not received a letter from the 

Transportation Division assigning you a PIN, please contact that Division at 785-271-3145. You 

must have an account through KTRAN to pay the penalty owed. 

B. Double D Family Mat Shop is ordered to attend a Commission-sponsored safety 

meeting within ninety (90) days from the date of this Order, and provide proof of attendance to 

Litigation Counsel. A schedule of dates and locations for the safety seminar can be found at the 

Commission's website http://www.kcc.state.ks.us/trans/safety meetings.htrn. 

C. Double D Family Mat Shop must submit a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) within 

thirty (30) days of the date of this Penalty Order, to Transportation Staff, documenting the 

violation(s) described in the attached Order, including specific and detailed information 
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explaining the carrier's efforts and concrete steps taken to ensure the violation(s) do not occur in 

the future. 

D. Double D Family Mat Shop is ordered to submit to one follow-up safety 

compliance review within eighteen (18) months from the date of this Order. Transportation Staff 

will contact the motor carrier at a later date to determine an appropriate time for this review. 

E. If Double D Family Mat Shop does not submit the Reduced Penalty Agreement 

and fails to pay the full penalty(s) of $1,100 within thirty (30) days from the date of service of 

this Penalty Order, see K.S.A. 66-1, 105, and/or fails to comply with the provisions of this Order, 

the Commission will have the right to order further sanctions, including suspension of Double D 

Family Mat Shop's motor carrier operating authority without further notice. Additionally, the 

Commission may issue and enforce revocation of motor carrier authority and/or issue cease and 

desist order(s), and may order other remedies available to the Commission by law, without 

further notice. 

F. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 77-537 and K.S.A. 77-542, any party may 

request a hearing on the above issue(s) by submitting a written request setting forth the 

specific grounds upon which relief is sought, within fifteen (15) days from the date of 

service of this Penalty Order. The request may be electronically filed with the 

Commission's electronic filing system at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/, and a 

copy mailed to the Litigation Counsel within fifteen (15) days from the date of service of 

this Order. If you do not have access to the internet, you can mail an original and seven (7) 

copies of the request to the Commission's Secretary, at 1500 S.W. Arrowhead Road, 

·.Topeka, Kansas 66604, and mail a copy to Litigation Counsel within fifteen (15) days from 

the date of service of this Order. On July 11, 2017, this Order was mailed via Certified Mail, 
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----------------

Return Receipt Requested, Receipt Number 70161970000105740440. Service of this Order is 

deemed complete upon the date delivered shown on the Domestic Return Receipt. A hearing 

will be scheduled only upon written request. Failure to timely request a hearing will result in a 

waiver of Double D Family Mat Shop's right to a hearing. 

G. Attorneys for all parties shall enter their appearances in Commission proceedings 

by giving their names and addresses for the record. For civil penalties exceeding $500, a 

corporation shall appear before the Commission by its attorney, unless waived by the 

Commission for good cause shown and a determination that such waiver is in the public interest. 

K.S.A. 77-515(c); K.A.R. 82-1-228(d)(2); K.A.R. 82-1-202(a). For civil penalties of $500 or 

less, a corporation may appear by a duly authorized representative of the corporation. K.S.A. 

2016 Supp. 66-1,142b(e) and amendments thereto. 

H. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the 

purpose of entering such further orders, as necessary. 

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 

Apple, Chairman; Albrecht, Commissioner; Emler, Commissioner 

Dated: JUL 11 2017 ---=-=='---------

Secretary to the Commission 

AAL 
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ATTACHMENT "A" 



0 US DOT# Legal: DOUBLE 0 FAMILY MAT SHOP INC 
2493204 OceratJna fDBAl: 

MCIMX#: State#: Federal Tax ID: (EIN) 

Review Type: Compfl.ance Review (CR) 

Scope: Principal Office Location of Review/Audit: Company facility In the U. S. Territory: 

Operation Types Interstate Intrastate 
Carrier: NIA Non-HM Business: Corporation 

Shipper: NIA NIA Gross Revenue: for year ending: 1213112016 

Cargo Tank: NIA 

Company Phvalcal Address: 

Contact Name: 
Phone numbers: (1) Fax 
E-Mail Address: 

Company Malling Address: 

6606ERO100 S 
PARK. KS 67751·5505 

Carrier ClasslflcatJon 
PriVate Property 

Cargo Claaslflcatlon 
Other: Used tires 

Equipment 
Owned Term Leased Trip Leased Owned Tenn Leased Trip Leased 

Truck 1 0 0 
Power units used In the U.S.: 1 
Percentag~ of ~me used ~n the u.s.:_1_90 

Does earner transport placardable quantities of HM? No 
Is an HM Pennlt required? N/A 

Driver Information 

Inter Intra Average trip leased drivers/month: O 
< 100 Miies: Total Drivers: 1 

>= 100 Miies: 1 COL Drivers: 1 

812812017 4:51:26 PM· 
Page
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0 DOUBLED FAMILY MAT SHOP INC Review Date: 

U.S. DOT#: 2493204 State#: 2493204 06128'2017 

Part A 

QUESTIONS regarding this report or the Federal Motor Carrier Safety or 
Hazardous Materials rules may be addressed to the Office of Motor Carriers at: 

This report wlll be used to assess your safety compliance. 

Person(a} lnt@rvlewed 
Name: Dale Goetz Title: OWner 
Name: Title: 

612812017 10:15:30 AM 
Page 
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0 DOUBLE D FAMILY MAT SHOP INC Review Date: 

U.S. DOT#: 2493204 State#: 2493204 0612812017 

Part B Violations 

1 Primary: 391.21(&) Drlvera/Vehtcles 
STATE Discovered Checked In Vlolatlon Checked 

CFR Equlva!ent 391.21(a) 1 1 1 1 

Description 
Using a driver who has not completed and furnished an employment application. 
Example 
Driver Dale Goetz 
Trip Date: 6/1212017 

Driver needs to comotete an aonllcation for emolovment Had no annlicatalon on file. 

2 Primary: 391.25(a) Drivers/Vehicles 
STATE Discovered Checked In VJolatlon Checked 

CFR Equivalent 391.25(a) 1 1 1 1 

Description 
Failing to make an inquiry into the driving record of each driver to the appropriate State agencies In which the driver held a 
commercial motor vehicle operatofs license at least once every 12 months. 
Example ' Driver Dale Goetz 
Trip Date: S/1212017 

Carrier had no MVR's on file for Driver Dale Goetz. Carrier needs to obtain an MVR evel'Y 12 months. 
3 Primary: 391.45(a) Drivers/Vehicles 
STATE Secondary: 391.11(a) Discovered Checked In VJolatlon Checked 

CFR EqulvaJent 391.45(a) 1 1 1 1 
Description 
Using a driver not medically examined and certified. 
Example 
Driver Cale Goetz 
Trip Date: 6/1212017 

Driver Dale Goetz had no medical examiners certificate on flle. 

4 Primary: 391.51(b)(5) DrlversNehlcles 
STATE Discovered Checked In Vlolatlon Checked 

CFR Equivalent 391.51(b)(5} 1 1 1 1 
Description 
Falling to maintain a note relating to the annual review of the driver's driving record as required by 391.25(c)(2). 
example 
Driver Dale Goetz 
Trip Date: 6/1212017 

Carrier had not comoleted annual reviews for Driver Dale Goetz 

Bl291201711:21:18AM 
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5 
STATE 

DOUBLED FAMILY MAT SHOP INC 

U.S. DOT#: 2493204 

Primary: 391.51(b)(6) 

CFR Equivalent 391.51(b)(6) 

Part B Violations 

State#: 2493204 

Discovered Checked 
1 1 

Review Date: 

06/2812017 

DrlverslVehlcles 
In Violation Checked 

1 1 

Description 
Failing to maintain a list or certificate relating to violations of motor vehicle laYIS and ordinances required by 391.27. 
Driver Dale Goetz 
Trip Date: 611212017 

Driver had not comoleted anv certlficatae of vlolatlons. 

6 Primary: 391.51(d) DriversNehicles 
STATE Discovered Checked In Violation Checked 

CFR EquivaJent 391.51(d) 1 1 1 1 

Description 
Failing to keep required records In driver's qualification file for 3 years after date of execution. 
Example 
Driver Dale Goetz 
Trip Date: 6/1212017 

Carrier is required to retain 3 yea!'$ worth of MVR's, medical examiners certificates, annual reviews, and certificate of 
violations. 
7 Primary: e6-1,112g DrlversNehlcles 
STATE Discovered Checked In Violation Checked 

CFR Equivalent 392.2 1 1 1 1 

Description 
Operating without proper authority 
Example 
Drive Dale Goetz 
Trio OAte 611212017 
8 Primary: 395.1(e) OriversNehlcfes 
STATE Discovered Checked In Violation Checked 

1 1 8 30 
Description 
To be a valid time card it must show the drivers start time, end time, total hours, drivers name and the date. 
Example 
Driver Dale Goetz 
Trio Date: 6/1212017 
9 Primary: 3S6.3(b)(1) DriversNehlcles 
STATE Discovered Checked In Vlolatlon Checked 

CFR Equivalent 396.3(b)(1) 1 1 1 1 
Description 
Failing to keep a maintenance record which Identifies the vehicle, including make, serial number, year, and tire size. 
Example 
Unit 1 
1999 Kenworth 
Trio Date: 611212017 

6129/2017 11:21:18 AM 
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10 
STATE 

DOUBLE D FAMILY MAT SHOP INC 

U.S. DOT#: 2493204 

Primary: 396.17(a) 

CFR Equivalent 396.17(a) 
Description 

State#: 2493204 

Part B Violations 

Review Date: 

0612812017 

DriverslVehlcles 
Discovered Checked In VlolaUon Checked 

1 1 1 1 

Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically Inspected. 
Example 
Unit1 
Driver Dale Goetz 
Trio DAte 6112.12017 

Safety Fitness Rating Information: 
Total Miles Operated 
Recordable Accidents 

V"our proposed safety rating la : 

18,250 
0 

OOS Vehicle (CR): O 
Number of Vehlcle Inspected (CR): O 

OOS Vehicle (MCMIS): 0 
Number Of Vehlcles Inspected (MCMIS}: 0 

This Review is not Rated. 

6/29J201711:21:18AM 

Page
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DOUBLED FAMILY MAT SHOP INC 
U.S. DOT#: 2493204 State#: 2493204 

Review Date: 

06/2812017 

Part B Requirements and/or Recommendations 

1. For all Investigations: 

• Understand Why Compliance Saves Time and Money: Compliance with FMCSRs will not only save lives, 
but also saves your business time and money. Tracking how much your business spends on non-compliance 
activities can help you understand the many benefits of compliance to your business and why safety is good 
business. 

• Document and Follow Through on Action Plans: Document and follow through on action plans to ensure the actions 
you are taking are creating Improvement in safety management and compliance 

• NOTICE: A pattern and/or repeated violations of the same or related acute or critical regulations (violations of the 
same Part In Tttle 419 Code of Federal Regulations) will cause the maxlmum penalties allowed by law to be assessed 
under Section 222 of the Motor Carrier Safety Improvement N;t. of 1999 (MCSIA). A pattern of violations means two 
or more vfolations of acute and/or critical regulations In three or more Parts of Title 49, Code of Federal. Regulations 
discovered during any eligible Investigation. Repeated violations means vlolatlon(s) of an acute regulation of the 
same Part of Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations discovered in an investigation after one or more closed 
enforcement actions within a six year period and/or violatlon(s) of a critical regulation in the same Part of TrUe 49, 
Code of Federal Regulations discovered in an Investigation after two or more closed enforcement actions within a six 
year period. 

•NOTICE: 49 CFR Part 391.23 requires prospective employers to, at a minimum, investigate a driver's employment 
Information, crash record, and alcohol and controlled substances history from all employers the driver worked for 
within the previous 3 years. 

The Pre-Employment Screening Program (PSP) Is a screening tool that assists motor carriers In investigating crash 
history and roadside safety performance of prospective driVers. The PSP allows motor carriers to purchase 5 years 
of crash data and 3 years of roadside Inspection data from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's 
(FMCSA) Motor Carrier Management Information System (MCMIS). Records are available 24 hours a day vla Web 
request. Motor carriers should visit the following website for more information: 
http:/twww.psp.fmcsa.dot.gov/Pages/default.aspx 

• All motor carriers and truck drivers are needed to fight against terrorism and hijacking. You could be a target. 
Protect yourself, your trucks, your cargo, and your facilities. Discuss with your employees/drivers the •security 
Measures for Truck Drivers and Companies" which were provided and reviewed with motor carrier official. Motor 
carriers should visit the following website for more information: 
http://www.fmesa.dolgov/documentsJHijacking-Brochure.pdf 

FMCSA recently announced planned improvements to the carrier Safety Measurement System (SMS) which was 
implemented In December 2010 as part of the Agency's broader Compliance, Safety, Accountability (CSA} initiative. 
A preview of these improvements ls currently available to motor carriers. The system changes are scheduled to be 
available to the public In July 2012. There will be additional opportunity for pubUc comment on the changes after the 
preView period ends in July 2012. The Improvements to SMS are based on ongoing analysis and feedback from 
enforcement personnel, the motor carrier Industry, and other stakeholders. The changes more effectively Identify and 
prioritize high-risk and other unsafe motor carriers for enforcement interventions designed to reduce commercial 
motor vehicle crashes and hazardous materials Incidents. Motor carrier's currently have the ability to preview how the 
improvements Impact their Individual safety data In SMS. These Improvements Include: (1) Changes to the SMS 
methodology that Identify higher risk carriers while addressing industry biases; (2) better applications of SMS results 
for Agency Interventions by more accurately Identifying safety sensitive carriers (I.e .• carriers transporting people and 
carriers hauling hazardous materials (HM)), so that such firms can be selected for CSA Interventions at more 
stringent levels; and, (3) more speclflc fact~ased displays of SMS results on the SMS Web site. The data preview 
may be found at http:/Jcsa.fmcsa.dotgov/. During the data preview period, the Agency requests comments on the 
impacts of the changes. 

For all Investigations that could result In a Penalty Order: 

• PLEASE NOTE: The violations discovered during this compliance review may affect the civil penalty proposed in 
any subsequent Penalty Order. In addition, your history of prior violations of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
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_. DOUBLE D FAMILY MAT SHOP INC Review Date: 

U.S. DOT#: 2493204 State#: 2493204 06/2812017 

Part B Requirements and/or Recommendations 

Regulations, Federal Hazardous Material Regulations or the Federal Motor Carrier Commercial Regulations may also 
affect the civil penalty proposed in any subsequent Penalty Order. Your signature for receipt of this report 
acknowledges your understanding that the violations discovered by the KCC during this review may be used to 
calculate any civil penalty proposed as a result of this review. 

The KCC requires that you prepare a corrective action letter, addressing the measures taken to correct the violations 
Identified within this report. Submit this letter within 30 days outlining the carrier's updated changes to their policies 
and procedures regarding all listed violations. Explain In detail how, as a carrier representative, you will rectify these 
deficiencies and prevent their reoccurrence going forward. Include any supporting documentation and evidence as 
indicated in the recommendations above, (example: vehicle inspections performed, proof of drug and alcohol testing 
in place, etc.) necessary to prove that corrective action has been taken. Mail the letter along With copies of your 
supporting evidence to: 

Kansas Corporation Commission 
Attn: Gary Davenport 
1500 SW Arrowhead Rd 
Topeka, KS 66604-4027 

2. Ensure that all drivers are fUlly and properiy qualified before operating In Interstate/ Intrastate commerce. Maintain a 
complete driver qualification file for each driver, documenting the qualification process. Included in the driver 
qualification file is application for employment, previous employer Inquiries, copy of the medical examination 
certificate, road test and certification, certificate of violations, and annual review. 

3. Every motor carrier shall at feast once every 12 months review the motor vehicle record of each of the drivers it 
employs. . 
MVR's can be obtained by going to http://www.kcc.ks.gov then clicking on Motor Carrier on the right side of the page. 
There you will find a link to obtain MVR's. 

4. Do not allow driVers to driVe Intrastate unless they have been physically examined and certified each 24 months. 
Maintain a copy of the drivers medical examiners certificate on file for three years. 

5. Every motor carrier shall maintain a note relating to the annual review of the drivers driving record to determine that 
the driver meets the minnimum requirements for safe driving 

6. Each motor carrier shall obtain a list or certifcate relating to violations of the motor vehicle laws and ordinances for 
each driver it employs. 

7. The following must be retalned in the driver qualification file for three years from the date of execution: the state 
agency response to the annuat driving record, drivers physical qualifications. certificate relation to motor vehicle law 
violations and the annual review of driver driving record. 

8. No public motor carrier of property or passengers or private motor carrier of property or local cartage carrier shall 
operate any motor vehlcle for the transportation of either persons or property on any public highway in this state 
except In accordance with the provisions of the regulations, and other applicable state laws. 

9. A COL driver Is not required to create a standard log If the following criteria are met 
The driver operates within a 100 air-mile radius of the normal work reporting location. The driver returns to the work 
reporting location and is released from work within 12 consecutive hours. The driver has at least 10 consecutive 
hours off duty separating each 12 hours on duty. The driver does not exceed 11 hours maximum driving time 
following 1 O consecutive hours off duty. And the motor carrier must maintains time records for 6 months showing: 
" The time the driver reports for duty each day, 
" The time the driver Is released from duty each day, 
" Total number of hours on duty each day, and 
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• 

DOUBLED FAMILY MAT SHOP INC 
U.S. DOT#: 2493204 State#: 2493204 

Part B Requirements and/or Recommendations 

Total time on duty for the preceding 7 days for drivers used for the first time or intermittently . 

Review Date: 

06/2812017 

10. Establish a systematic maintenance records program for all vehicles. Maintain a complete file for each subject 
vehicle, recording all repair, maintenance and Inspection operations perfonned. Malntainenance files must Identify 
the vehicle by make, serial number, year and tire size., 

11. Maintain annual Inspections In accordance with 396.17 on each vehicle. A motor canier shall not use a commercial 
motor vehicle unless each component has passed an inspection at least once during the preceding 12 months. The 
inspection must Identify the vehicle, the date of inspection, and the name and address of the motor carrier or entity 

· where the report is maintained 

12. This report contains citations of regulations that are deemed serious In nature and could result In penalties against 
your company and/or your drivers. 

13. I, acknowledge that these requirements and/or 
recommendations have been discussed with me and my questions have been answered. I understand that failure to 
satisfactorily remedy the above.listed requirements, and/or failure to comply with Kansas Motor carrier Safety 
Statutes and Regulations could result In the suspension of Double o Family Mat Shop Inc. operating authority and/or 
the impoundment of Double 0 Family Mat Shop Inc. vehicles. 
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DOUBLE 0 FAMILY MAT SHOP INC 

U.S DOT# 2493204 State-:± 2493204 

Part B Requirements and/or Recornmondations 

Total time on duty for the preceding 7 days fer drivers used for the first time or intermittently 

I Rev1e·N Datc:I 

I 06126;201i I 

10. Establish a systematic maintenance records program for alt vehicles Maintam a complete file for each subject 
vehicle, recording all repair, maintenance and inspection operations performed. Maintainenance flies must identify 
the vehicle by make. serial number, year and tire size.... '-· ---·-· ---

11. Require all drivers to prepare a written inspection report for each day a vehicle 1s operated. Ensure that each report is 
signed by the driver. certified, and reviewed if defects are reported. (" : ' + 

Jiff' I 
12. Keep an driver vehicle inspection reports, signed. certified, and reviewed as required on file for at least 90 days. 

13. Maintain annual inspections in accordance with 396.17 on each vehicle. t, motor camer shall no~ use n commercial 
motor vehicle unless each component has passed an mspection at least once during the preceding 12 months. The 
inspection must identify the vehicle. the date of inspection, and the name and address of the motor carrier or entity 
where the report is maintained 

14. This report contains citations of regulations that am deemed serious i:1 nature and coufd r.;:sult i~ penalties against 
your company an-O!or your dnvers 

15. I. ·.._). 2 •. X) ei ~ acknowledge thntthese requirements and/or 
re .... mn1endations ha..:d:ieerf discussed with me and my questions have been answered. I understand that failure to 
satisfactorily remedy the above-listed requirements. ondJor failure to comply with Kansas Motor Carrier Safety 
Statutes and Regulations could result in the suspension of Double D Family Mat Shop lr.c. o;;eratmg authority and/or 
the impour.dment of Double 0 Family Mat Shop lnc vehicles 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

17-TRAM-569-PEN 
I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of 

first class maiVhand delivered on __ J_U_L_l_l_2_0_17 ___ _ 

DALE GOETZ, PRESIDENT 
DOUBLED FAMILY MAT SHOP INC. 
6606 E RD 100 S 
PARK, KS 67751-5505 
amber.hutchison@doubledmats.com 

AHSAN LATIF, LITIGATION COUNSEL 
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 
1500SWARROWHEAD RD 
TOPEKA, KS 66604-4027 
Fax: 785-271-3354 
a. latif@kcc. ks. gov 

IS/ DeeAnn Shupe 
DeeAnn Shupe 

Order Mailed Date 

JUL 12 2017 




