
NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT 
19-CONS-3231-CPEN

January 15, 2019 

Bryan J. Richardson 
Richardson and Son, Inc. 
17295 151st Road 
Winfield, KS 67156-7524 

This is a notice of a penalty assessment for violation(s) of Kansas Oil and Gas Conservation 
Statutes, Rules, and Regulations. For a full description of the penalty and process please refer to the 
Penalty Order that is attached to this notice. 

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY: 

You have been assessed a $1,000 penalty. You have 30 days from the service date of this Penalty 
Order to pay the fine amount. Check or money order must be made payable to the Kansas Corporation 
Commission and mailed to the Conservation Division of the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. 
Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket number 
of this proceeding. Payment by credit card may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-
6200. 

IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY: 

You have the right to request a hearing. A written request for hearing must be made within 30 
days after service of the Penalty Order setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought. 
Respondent must submit the request to the Commission, at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 
67202. The Commission shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas 
administrative procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request. K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-542; 
K.A.R. 82-1-215. 

IF YOU FAIL TO ACT: 

Failure to pay the fine amount, or in the alternative, provide a written request for a hearing, within 
thirty (30) days of service of the Penalty Order, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming a Final 
Order and may result in additional sanctions, including additional monetary penalties, the suspension of 
your oil and gas operating license, and the shutting-in of all operations until compliance is obtained. 
K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-537. 

Respectfully, 

Lauren N. Wright 
Litigation Counsel 
316-337-6200

20190115150646 
Kansas Corporation Commission 



 

THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

 
Before Commissioners: Shari Feist Albrecht, Chair 
 Jay Scott Emler 
 Dwight D. Keen 
 
In the matter of the failure of Richardson and 
Son, Inc. (“Operator”) to comply with K.A.R. 
82-3-407 at the Lorton #1 in Cowley County, 
Kansas. 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

Docket No.:  19-CONS-3231-CPEN 
 
CONSERVATION DIVISION 
 
License No.:  32917 

 
PENALTY ORDER 

 
 The above captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas. Having examined the files and records, and being duly advised in the premises, the 

Commission finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION 

1. The Commission has the exclusive jurisdiction and authority to regulate oil and 

gas activities in Kansas.1 The Commission has jurisdiction to regulate the “construction, 

operation, and abandonment of any well and the protection of the usable water of this state from 

any actual or potential pollution from any well.”2 Every operator conducting oil and gas activity 

in Kansas must be licensed by the Commission.3 

2. The Commission has the authority to issue a Penalty Order for violation of any 

provision of K.S.A. 55-101 et seq., rule, regulation, or order of the Commission.4 The 

Commission shall take appropriate action which may include, but not be limited to, imposing a 

monetary penalty “not to exceed $10,000, which shall constitute an actual and substantial 

                                                 
1 K.S.A. 74-623. 
2 K.S.A. 55-152. 
3 K.S.A. 55-155.   
4 K.S.A. 55-162; K.S.A. 55-164.   
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economic deterrent to the violation for which the penalty is assessed.”5 “In the case of a 

continuing violation, every day such violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation.”6 

3. Each injection well shall be completed, equipped, operated, and maintained in a 

manner that will prevent pollution of fresh and usable water, prevent damage to sources of oil or 

gas, and confine fluids to the intervals approved for injection. An injection well shall be 

considered to have mechanical integrity if there are no significant leaks in the tubing, casing, or 

packer, and no fluid movement into fresh or usable water. An injection well’s mechanical 

integrity shall be established at least once every five years.7 

4. The operator of any well failing to demonstrate mechanical integrity shall have no 

more than 90 days from the date of initial failure to repair and retest the well to demonstrate 

mechanical integrity, plug the well, or isolate any leaks to demonstrate the well will not pose a 

threat to fresh or usable water or endanger correlative rights.8 

5. Mechanical failures or other conditions indicating that a well may not be directing 

injected fluid into the permitted or authorized zone shall be cause to shut in a well, and the 

operator shall orally notify the Conservation Division of any failures or conditions within 24 

hours of knowledge. The operator shall submit written notice of a well failure within five days, 

with a plan for testing and repairing the well.9 

6. No injection well shall be operated before passing a mechanical integrity test 

(“MIT”). Failure to test a well to show mechanical integrity shall be punishable by a $1,000 

penalty, and the well shall be shut-in until the test is passed.10 

                                                 
5 K.S.A. 55-164. 
6 Id. 
7 K.A.R. 82-3-407(a). 
8 K.A.R. 82-3-407(c). 
9 K.A.R. 82-3-407(d). 
10 K.A.R. 82-3-407(g). 
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II. FINDINGS OF FACT 

7. The Operator conducts oil and gas activities in Kansas under active license 

number 32917. 

8. The Operator is responsible for the care and control of the Lorton #1 (“the subject 

well”), API #15-035-01750-00-01, authorized for injection pursuant to Underground Injection 

Control Permit #D-18456, and located in Section 13, Township 34 South, Range 6 East, Cowley 

County, Kansas. 

9. The Commission has no evidence that the subject well has been subjected to a 

current and successful MIT as required by K.A.R. 82-3-407. Staff witnessed no such test and the 

Operator did not inform Staff that such a test had been conducted. 

10. On September 11, 2018, Commission Staff sent a letter to the Operator, requiring 

Operator to bring the subject well into compliance with K.A.R. 82-3-407 by December 9, 2018.11 

11. To date, Operator has not conducted a current and successful MIT at the subject 

well in accordance with Commission regulations. 

III. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

12. The Commission finds and concludes that it has jurisdiction over the Operator and 

this matter under K.S.A. 55-152 and K.S.A. 74-623. 

13. The Commission finds and concludes the Operator committed one violation of 

K.A.R. 82-3-407 because a current and successful MIT has not been performed on the subject 

well. 

THEREFORE, THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

A. The Operator shall pay a $1,000 penalty. 

B. The Operator shall perform a successful MIT on the subject well or plug the well. 
                                                 
11 Exhibit A. 
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C. The Operator shall shut-in and disconnect the subject well until such time as a 

successful MIT has been performed or the well has been plugged. 

D. If no party requests a hearing, and the Operator is not in compliance with this 

Order within 30 days, then the Operator’s license shall be suspended without further notice. The 

notice and opportunity for a hearing on this order shall constitute the notice required by K.S.A. 

77-512 regarding license suspension. The Commission may impose further sanctions, including 

additional monetary penalties and any other remedies available to the Commission by law, 

without further notice. 

E. Checks and money orders shall be payable to the Kansas Corporation 

Commission. For credit card payments, include the type of card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or 

American Express), account number, and expiration date. Payments shall be mailed to the 

Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The 

payment must include a reference to the docket number of this proceeding. 

F. Any party may request a hearing on the above issues by submitting a written 

request, pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, K.S.A. 77-537, and K.S.A. 77-542, setting forth the specific 

grounds upon which relief is sought, to the Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, 

Kansas 67202, within 30 days from the date of service of this Order. Hearings will be scheduled 

only upon written request. Failure to timely request a hearing will result in a waiver of the 

Operator’s right to a hearing. 

G. A corporation shall appear before the Commission by a Kansas licensed 

attorney.12 

H. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the 

purpose of entering such further order or orders as it may deem necessary. 
                                                 
12 K.S.A. 77-515(c); K.A.R. 82-1-228(d)(2). 
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BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 
Albrecht, Chair; Emler, Commissioner; Keen, Commissioner 

Dated:  _______________________________ _______________________________ 
Lynn M. Retz 
Secretary to the Commission 

Mailed Date: __________________________ 

LW 

01/15/2019

01/16/2019



Shari Feist Albrecht, Chair 
Jay Scott Emler, Commissioner 
Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner 

Corporation Commission 

NOTICE OF VIOLATION 
MECHANICAL INTEGRITY TEST (MIT) 

LICENSE 32917 

RICHARDSON AND SON I INC. 
17295151ST RD 
WINFIELD KS 67156-7524 

Re: Past Due Mechanical Integrity Test 

Operator: 

Jeff Colyer, M.D., Governor 

August 02, 2018 

Commission records indicate that a current Mechanical Integrity Test (MIT) has not been 
conducted for the wells listed on the next page. 

It is a violation of K.A.R. 82-3-407 for an operator to fail to conduct a timely MIT. 

Failure to conduct an MIT on the well(s) 
by August 16, 2018 

shall be punishable by a $1,000 per well penalty. 

• The date of the MIT must be mutually agreed upon with Commission staff. 
• Please contact the Commission district staff at least 2 days prior to your proposed testing date. 
• A representative of the operator must be on site during the MIT. 
• The well must be shut-in and disconnected until it complies with K.A.R. 82-3-407(c) of the 
General Rules and Regulations for the State of Kansas. 

You will be penalized if you do not contact District staff by August 16, 2018. 

If you received a letter with a later deadline because this well failed an MIT, disregard this letter. 

Sincerely, 

STEVE VANGIESON 
KCC District # 2 

Exhibit A



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

19-CONS-3231-CPEN

I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of 

first class mail and electronic service on ________________________.

DANIEL FOX, COMPLIANCE OFFICER, KCC DISTRICT 2
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
DISTRICT OFFICE NO. 2
3450 N. ROCK RD BLDG 600 STE 601
WICHITA, KS 67226
Fax: 316-630-4005
d.fox@kcc.ks.gov

BRYAN J. RICHARDSON
RICHARDSON AND SON, INC.
17295 151st RD
WINFIELD, KS 67156-7524
bryanr@powdervalleyinc.com

RENE STUCKY
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
Conservation Division
266 N. Main St. Ste. 220
WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
Fax: 785-271-3354
r.stucky@kcc.ks.gov

LAUREN WRIGHT, LITIGATION COUNSEL
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
Conservation Division
266 N. Main St. Ste. 220
WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
Fax: 316-337-6211
l.wright@kcc.ks.gov

/S/ DeeAnn Shupe
DeeAnn Shupe

01/15/2019




