
NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT 

23-TRAM-135-PEN

August 30, 2022 

Arnold Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling 

206 W Coolidge St 

Liberal, KS 67901 

This is a notice of a penalty assessment against Arnold Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling (Carrier) for 

violation of the Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes, Rules, and Regulations discovered by Kansas 

Corporation Commission UCR Manager Verna Jackson.  Penalty amounts are assessed in accordance with 

the Commission-approved Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix.  For a full description of the penalty and 

terms and obligations please refer to the Order attached to this notice.  

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY:  Carrier has been assessed a $300 penalty for failure to pay Unified 

Carrier Registration (UCR) fees.  If you have questions regarding UCR fees please contact the 

Transportation Division at 785-271-3145. You have thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Penalty 

Order to pay the penalty.  Please remit payment of $300 through your personal account with the Kansas 

Corporation Commission’s Kansas Trucking Regulatory Network (KTRAN) located at 

https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/.   If you have not received a letter from the Transportation Division assigning 

you a Personal Identification Number (PIN) for use with your KTRAN account, please contact the Division 

at 785-271-3145.  You must have an account through KTRAN to pay the penalty.  

Additionally, if your 2022 UCR fees are still outstanding, those fees must be paid within thirty (30) days 

from the date of service of this Penalty Order to avoid additional penalties being assessed.  2022 UCR fees 

may be paid through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 

IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY ORDER:  You have the right to request a hearing.  A request 

for hearing must be made in writing, setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought.  Carrier 

must file, within fifteen (15) days from the date of service of this Order, the request for hearing with the 

Commission’s electronic filing system found at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/, and must mail a 

service copy of the request to the undersigned at the above address.  If you do not have access to the internet, 

you can mail an original and seven (7) copies of the request to the Executive Director at 1500 S.W. 

Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604, and mail a copy to the undersigned Litigation Counsel.  K.A.R. 

82-1-215; K.S.A. 77-542. 

IF YOU FAIL TO ACT:    Failure to pay the penalty of $300 within thirty (30) days from the date of service 

of the Penalty Order, or failure to comply with the terms of the Order or, in the alternative, failure to provide 

a timely written request for a hearing, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming final and may 

result in additional sanctions including suspension and/or revocation of your motor carrier operating 

authority. 

Respectfully, 

/s/ Ahsan A. Latif 

Litigation Counsel 

(785) 271-3118

20220830102918 
Kansas Corporation 

Commission 

https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/
https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/
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THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

 

Before Commissioners:  Dwight D. Keen, Chair  

 Susan K. Duffy  

 Andrew J. French 

 

In the Matter of the Investigation of Arnold 

Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling, of 

Liberal, Kansas, Regarding the Violation(s) of 

the Motor Carrier Safety Statutes, Rules and 

Regulations and the Commission’s Authority to 

Impose Penalties, Sanctions and/or the 

Revocation of Motor Carrier Authority. 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

Docket No. 23-TRAM-135-PEN 

 

PENALTY ORDER 

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas (Commission).  Having examined its files and records, and being duly advised in the 

premises, the Commission finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION 

1. Pursuant to K.S.A 66-1,108b, 66-1,111, 66-1,112 and 66-1,114b, the Commission 

is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to supervise and control motor carriers, as defined 

in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5 and adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3f, doing business or procuring business in 

Kansas, and is empowered to do all things necessary and convenient for the exercise of such power, 

authority and jurisdiction.   

2. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,129a, 66-1,130 and 66-1,142b, the Commission may 

suspend operations, revoke or amend certificates, and initiate sanctions or fines against every 

motor carrier and every person who violates any provision of Kansas law in regard to the regulation 

of such motor carriers and persons, or who fails to obey any order, decision or regulation of the 

Commission. 
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3. Pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 14504a, the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Act is a

federally mandated commercial motor vehicle registration program administered by individual 

States for motor carriers self-designating their operations as interstate commerce.  Kansas 

administers the UCR Act pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,139 which requires motor carriers to “register 

their motor vehicles in their base state pursuant to federal statutes.”  49 U.S.C. § 14504a(i)(4) 

expressly authorizes States the ability to issue citations and impose reasonable fines and penalties 

“pursuant to the applicable laws and regulations of the State on any motor carrier, motor private 

carrier, freight forwarder, broker, or leasing company for failure to ...pay the fees required.” 

4. UCR fees are set annually by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

(FMCSA).  The Commission enforces this registration requirement as outlined in the Uniform 

Penalty Assessment Matrix (Penalty Matrix), reviewed each year by July 1 and subsequently 

approved by the Commission. The Penalty Matrix establishes the structure of penalties for failure 

to pay the required UCR fees.   

II. FINDINGS OF FACT

5. On August 25, 2022, Staff submitted a Report and Recommendation (R&R)

regarding Arnold Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling’s (Carrier’s) failure to pay its 2022 UCR 

fees.  As part of the R&R, Staff recommended the Commission assess Carrier a penalty in the 

amount of $300, to be paid through the Carrier’s Kansas Trucking Regulatory Assistance Network 

(KTRAN) account, and require Carrier to pay its outstanding UCR fees for 2022 through the UCR 

website at www.ucr.gov.  A copy of the R&R is attached hereto as Attachment “A” and 

incorporated herein by reference. 

6. As noted in the R&R, Carrier has operating authority under United States

Department of Transportation (USDOT) number 2202788.  According to Carrier’s USDOT 
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profile,1 it designates itself as an interstate carrier, with its base as State as Kansas.  Carrier owns 

1 self-propelled vehicle(s) that meet the definition of the type of vehicle for which Carrier is 

required to pay annual UCR fees.2  

7. According to Staff’s R&R, multiple attempts were made to contact Carrier

regarding its 2022 UCR fees.  The National Registration System (NRS), which is maintained by 

the UCR Board, sent solicitation notices every 15 days beginning February 18, 2022. On December 

17, 2021, an initial letter was sent to Carrier.3  Additionally, on February 24, 2022, a letter was 

sent to Carrier.4  On April 1, 2022, Carrier was sent a letter marked “Final Request” by 

Transportation Staff regarding its unpaid 2022 UCR fees.5 

8. Litigation Counsel for Staff mailed a letter dated May 10, 2022, to Carrier

informing it that it needed to pay its 2022 UCR fees within ten days.   Staff advised in the letter 

that nonpayment of UCR fees could result in civil assessments, with a penalty of $300 for each 

instance of non-compliance.6 To date, Commission records indicate that the Carrier has not paid 

its 2022 UCR fees. 

9. Based on Carrier’s failure to register its commercial motor vehicle(s) for

registration year 2022 and pay the appropriate UCR fees as established in 49 C.F.R. 367, there is 

sufficient evidence to demonstrate that the Carrier is in violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 in conjunction 

with K.A.R. 82-4-30a, and that a fine in the amount of $300 is warranted.  Additionally, Carrier is 

still obligated to pay its 2022 UCR fees through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 

1 See Exhibit 1 of Staff’s R&R. 
2 49 U.S.C. § 14504a requires UCR fees be paid for all commercial motor vehicles owned or operated by a motor 

carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder.  
3 See Exhibit 2 of Staff’s R&R. 
4 See Exhibit 3 of Staff’s R&R. 
5 See Exhibit 4 of Staff’s R&R. 
6 See Exhibit 5 of Staff’s R&R. 
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III. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

10. The Commission finds it has jurisdiction over Carrier because it is a motor carrier

as defined in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5, as adopted by K.A .R. 82-4-3f. 

11. The Commission finds Carrier committed one violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for

failure to pay the 2022 UCR fees outlined in 49 C.F.R. Part 367.   

THE COMMISSION THEREFORE ORDERS THAT: 

A. Arnold Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling of Liberal, Kansas is hereby assessed

a $300 civil penalty for one violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for failure to pay the 2022 UCR fees 

outlined in 49 C.F.R. Part 367.   

B. Arnold Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling shall pay its outstanding 2022 UCR

fees through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 

C. Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-537 and K.S.A. 77-542, any party may request a hearing on

the above issue(s) by submitting a written request setting forth the specific grounds upon which 

relief is sought.  The request may be electronically filed with the Commission’s electronic filing 

system at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/, within fifteen (15) days from the date of 

service of this Order, and a copy of the request mailed to the Litigation Division.  If you do not 

have access to the internet, you can mail an original and seven copies of the request to the 

Executive Director at 1500 S.W. Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604, and mail a copy of the 

request to Litigation Counsel.  A hearing will be scheduled only upon written request.  Failure to 

timely request a hearing will result in a waiver of Carrier’s right to a hearing, and this Penalty 

Order will become a Final Order. 

https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/
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D. If a request for hearing is filed, attorneys for all parties shall enter their appearances

in Commission proceedings by giving their names and addresses for the record. For civil penalties 

less than $500, a corporation may appear by a duly authorized representative of the corporation.7   

E. If you do not request a hearing, the payment of the civil penalty of $300 as well as

payment of the 2022 UCR fees is due in thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Order.  

Payment of $300 must be made through your personal account with the Kansas Corporation 

Commission’s KTRAN system located at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/.  You must have a KTRAN 

account to pay the penalty through KTRAN.  Payment of the 2022 UCR fees may be made through 

the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 

F. Failure to pay the $300 civil penalty and the outstanding 2022 UCR fees within

thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Penalty Order,8 may result in suspension of 

Carrier’s motor carrier operating authority without further notice.  Additionally, the Commission 

may impose further sanctions to include, but not be limited to, additional monetary sanctions, the 

issuance and enforcement of revocation of authority and/or cease and desist orders, and any other 

remedies available to the Commission by law, without further notice.   

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 

Keen, Chair; Duffy, Commissioner; French, Commissioner 

Dated:   

_________________________________ 

Lynn M. Retz 

Executive Director 

AAL 

7 K.S.A. 66-1,142b(e) and amendments thereto. 
8 See K.S.A. 66-1,105. 

08/30/2022
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REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION 

TRANSPORTATION DIVISION 

 

TO:  Dwight D. Keen, Chair 

Susan K. Duffy, Commissioner 

Andrew J. French, Commissioner 

 

FROM: Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation 

  Verna Jackson, UCR Manager 

 

DATE: August 25, 2022 

 

SUBJECT:  Docket No. 23-TRAM-135-PEN, Arnold Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module 

Hauling  

  Motor Carrier Penalty Order for Failure to Pay 2022 UCR Fees 

 

 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY: 

Arnold Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling (Carrier) is a carrier that has self-declared to 

be an interstate motor carrier on its USDOT profile.  Interstate motor carriers are required to pay 

annual Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees.  Staff has attempted, without success, to contact 

Carrier regarding its 2022 UCR fees.  The first attempt was on December 17, 2021, when a notice 

was sent through the Carrier’s Kansas Trucking Regulatory Assistance Network (KTRAN) 

account. The next attempt was on February 24, 2022, when Staff sent Carrier a letter regarding the 

2022 UCR fees. A letter marked “Final Request” was sent to Carrier by Staff on April 1, 2022. An 

additional letter dated May 10, 2022, was sent by Litigation Counsel for Staff.  Also, the National 

Registration System (NRS), which is maintained by the UCR Board, sent solicitation notices every 

15 days beginning February 18, 2022 to any unregistered motor carriers. To date, Carrier’s profile 

lists its UCR fees for 2022 as unpaid. Staff recommends Carrier be assessed a penalty for failure 

to complete its federal registration as required by K.S.A. 66-1,139, as outlined in the applicable 

Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix. Additionally Staff recommends the Carrier be required to 

pay the unpaid 2022 UCR fees.  

 

BACKGROUND: 

Arnold Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling operates under USDOT number 2202788, 

domiciled in Kansas at 206 W Coolidge St, Liberal, Kansas.  Staff UCR Manager Verna Jackson 

has been tasked with ensuring Kansas motor carriers conducting interstate operations have 

properly paid their UCR fees for the calendar year 2022.  Based on UCR Manager Jackson’s 

review of Carrier’s USDOT profile, Arnold Bonilla d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling is self-declared 

to be conducting interstate operations. On its most recent USDOT Profile update, submitted 
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October 26, 2021, the carrier lists 1 vehicle(s).  However, its UCR fees for 2022 remain unpaid. A 

copy of the Carrier’s most recent USDOT Profile update is attached hereto as Exhibit 1.  

An initial letter was automatically sent to the Carrier on December 17, 2021, through K-

TRAN informing it of its responsibility to pay UCR fees. A copy of the initial letter is attached 

hereto as Exhibit 2. A letter was sent by Staff to the Carrier on February 24, 2022, reminding it of 

its UCR obligations. A copy of that letter is attached hereto as Exhibit 3. A letter marked “Final 

Request” was sent to Carrier by Staff on April 1, 2022. A copy of that letter is attached hereto as 

Exhibit 4. Yet another letter dated May 10, 2022, was sent by Litigation Counsel for Staff also 

reminding Carrier that its 2022 UCR fees were outstanding, and warning that nonpayment would 

result in the issuance of a penalty order. A copy of this letter is attached hereto as Exhibit 5.   

 

Therefore, Staff recommends Carrier be assessed a civil penalty for failure to pay 2022 

Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees as required. This is a violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for 

failure to “register their motor vehicles in their base state pursuant to federal statutes,” namely 49 

USC 14504a. Additionally, Staff requests the Commission require the Carrier to pay its UCR fees 

for 2022 through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov.  

 

DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS: 

 K.S.A. 66-1,139 requires “all interstate regulated public motor carriers of property, of 

household goods, or of passengers who operate a motor vehicle in Kansas shall register their motor 

vehicles in their base state pursuant to federal statutes” unless otherwise exempted.  The UCR Act, 

pursuant to 49 USC 14504a, establishes the registration requirements for motor carriers operating 

in interstate commerce.  

 

The UCR Act is a federally mandated commercial motor vehicle registration program 

administered by individual states for motor carriers self-designating their operations as interstate 

or are discovered to be operating in interstate commerce through roadside inspections or an 

accident. UCR funds are used by states for administration of the UCR program and enforcement 

of motor carrier safety programs. 

 

UCR fees are collected from all motor carriers or other entities required to obtain an 

Interstate USDOT number and/or is required to register with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Administration (FMCSA). There are six fee categories and the registration fees are based on the 

number of commercial motor vehicles operated in interstate commerce. 

 

Kansas based motor carriers can register UCR by logging into the NRS portal at 

www.ucr.gov and paying the UCR fees.  

 

For the purposes of determining UCR fees, a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) is defined 

as: a self-propelled vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers 

or cargo (as defined under 49 U.S.C. Section 31101), if the vehicle: 

(1) Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating or gross vehicle 

weight or gross combination weight of at least 10,001 pounds, whichever is greater; 

(2) Is designed to transport more than 10 passengers including the driver; or 

http://www.ucr.gov/


 
 

3 
 

(3) Is used in transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to be 

hazardous under 49 U.S.C. Section 5103 and transported in a quantity requiring placarding 

under regulations prescribed by the Secretary. 

 

The operation of certain non-CMV vehicles still qualify it for UCR fees, but at the lowest 

UCR fee bracket.  For example, for lightweight passenger vehicles that do not meet the above 

definition of CMV (l less than 10 passengers including the driver), the fleet size for the UCR 

purposes would be zero and the carrier would register and pay the lowest fee bracket. 

 

 In 2021, the UCR fee schedule was established in 49 C.F.R. 367.60 as follows: 

 

TABLE 1 TO § 367.60 - FEES UNDER THE UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION PLAN AND 

AGREEMENT FOR REGISTRATION YEAR 2020  

AND EACH SUBSEQUENT REGISTRATION YEAR THERAFTER 

Bracket 

Number of commercial 

motor vehicles owned or 

operated by exempt or 

non-exempt motor 

carrier, motor private 

carrier, or freight 

forwarder 

Fee per entity for 

exempt or non-exempt 

motor carrier, motor 

private carrier, or 

freight forwarder 

Fee per entity for broker 

or leasing company 

B1 0-2 $59 $59 

B2 3-5 176  

B3 6-20 351  

B4 21-100 1,224  

B5 101-1,000 5,835  

B6 1,001 and above 56,977 
 
 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/49/367.50
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The UCR Agreement applies to the following types of interstate operations of passenger 

and property: 

(1) Motor carrier; 

(2) Motor private carrier of property; 

(3) Freight forwarder; 

(4) Broker; 

(5) Leasing company; and 

(6) CMV registered with IRP plates cannot be excluded from the UCR vehicle count. 

 

UCR Exempt Operations include: 

(1) Wholly intrastate CMV; and 

(2) Private Motor Carriers of Passengers. 

 

If a carrier designates itself as an interstate carrier on its USDOT profile and fails to pay 

UCR fees within the calendar year that such fees apply, it is in violation of the UCR Agreement 

as enforced by the state of Kansas and subject to the appropriate fine based on the number of 

vehicles that should have been registered.  Here, Carrier designated itself as an interstate carrier, 

with 1 vehicle(s) operating in interstate commerce.  

 

Each year, the Commission approves a Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix, which 

establishes the fee schedule used by Staff for penalties.  With regard to violations of K.S.A. 66-

1,139 for failure to pay the fees outlined in 49 CFR 367, the matrix establishes the following fee 

schedule for standard violations:  

 

Regulation / Statute Standard 

49 C.F.R. § 367 0– 5 

Vehicles 

6 – 20 

Vehicles 

21-100 

Vehicles 

101-1000 

Vehicles 

1000+ 

Vehicles 

 $300.00 $500.00 $700.00 $900.00 $1,000.00 

 

 

RECOMMENDATION: 

Transportation Staff recommends a penalty of $300 be assessed against Arnold Bonilla 

d/b/a Bonilla Module Hauling in accordance with the recommended penalties listed in the 

applicable Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix.  This penalty is based on the carrier’s USDOT 

profile, which lists the carrier as an interstate motor carrier. As discussed above, numerous 

attempts were made to contact the motor carrier and notify it of its obligation to pay the UCR fee.  

To date the 2022 UCR fee remains unpaid. This is a violation K.S.A. 66-1,139 for failure to comply 

with the UCR Act, 49 U.S.C. 14504a, by not paying the applicable UCR fees outlines in  49 C.F.R. 

367.  

 

Additionally, Staff requests the Commission require the Carrier to pay its outstanding 

UCR fees for 2022 through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. 











May 10, 2022 

ARNOLD BONILLA dba BONILLA MODULE HAULING 
206 W COOLIDGE ST 
LIBERAL, KS 67901 

Re: Unregistered 2022 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) – USDOT NO. 2202788 

Dear Motor Carrier Representative: 

I am an attorney with the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) writing to you regarding your unpaid 
2022 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees.  The KCC is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to 
supervise and control motor carriers - as defined in the Kansas statutes - doing business or procuring 
business in Kansas, and may do all things necessary and convenient for the exercise of such power, authority 
and jurisdiction.  

Our records indicate your UCR fees for 2022 have not been paid.  Payment of these fees is required by 
Federal and State Regulations for Carriers that transport in commerce between two states (interstate 
commerce).  Farms, ranches, custom harvesters, tow trucks, construction and passenger carriers are not 
exempt from this requirement.  Possession of an active USDOT number necessitates your compliance with 
these regulations.  Based on your USDOT profile, you are listed as an active, interstate carrier.  Operating 
a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce prior to paying UCR fees is a violation of 49 C.F.R. 
367 and K.A.R. 82-4-30a.  Nonpayment of UCR fees within ten days of the date of this letter will result 
in Civil Assessments and a Commission-issued Penalty Order, with a penalty of $300 for each 
instance of non-compliance.  

Our Staff has made attempts to notify you regarding your unpaid UCR fees.  Deliberate avoidance of 
registering your applicable vehicles for UCR is a violation of the above-stated law and authority. 

You can pay your UCR fees for 2022 at https://www.ucr.gov. 

If you are no longer an active carrier, a written notice must be provided indicating your desire for the 
inactivation of your USDOT number and the reason for the inactivation request.  Please mail your 
notification along with your USDOT# and company name to Kansas Corporation Commission, Division of 
Transportation, 1500 SW Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604-4027 or send by email to 
transportation@kcc.ks.gov.  

Thank you for your cooperation. If you have any further questions, you may contact the Verna Jackson, 
UCR Manager for the Transportation Division at the Kansas Corporation Commission at 785-271-3104 or 
email her at v.jackson@kcc.ks.gov. 

Sincerely, 
/s/ Ahsan A. Latif 
Ahsan A. Latif  
Litigation Counsel



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

23-TRAM-135-PEN

I, the undersigned, certify that a true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following by means of 

first class mail and electronic service on ________________________.

ARNOLD BONILLA, OWNER

ARNOLD BONILLA

D/B/A BONILLA MODULE HAULING

206 W COOLIDGE STR.

LIBERAL, KS 67901

AHSAN LATIF, LITIGATION  COUNSEL

KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION

1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD

TOPEKA, KS 66604

a.latif@kcc.ks.gov

/S/ KCC Docket Room

KCC Docket Room

08/30/2022




