
Before Commissioners: 

THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

Shari Feist Albrecht, Chair 
Jay Scott Emler 
Dwight D. Keen 

In the Matter of the Investigation of Duane ) 
Kent Hahn, d/b/a Rockin HJ Trucking of ) 
Lakin, KS, Regarding the Violation of the ) 
Motor Carrier Safety Statutes, Rules and ) Docket No. 19-TRAM-215-PEN 
Regulations and the Commission's Authority ) 
to Impose Penalties, Sanctions and/or the ) 
Revocation of Motor Carrier Authority. ) 

ORDER AMENDING PENALTY ASSESSMENT 

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State of 

Kansas (Commission) for consideration. Having examined its files and records, and being duly 

advised in the premises, the Commission finds and concludes as follows: 

BACKGROUND 

1. On December 13, 2018, this Commission issued a Penalty Order to Duane Kent 

Hahn, d/b/a Rockin HJ Trucking (hereinafter Rockin HJ Trucking), assessing it a civil penalty of 

$1,750. The penalty was for three (3) violation(s) of Kansas law that governs motor carriers, 

including various provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs), as 

adopted by the Kansas Administrative Regulations. 

2. Rockin HJ Trucking was advised that it was a New Entrant motor carrier being 

reviewed for the first time, and may be eligible for a reduced penalty of fifty-percent (50%), as 

long as it complies with the terms and obligations described in the Notice of Penalty Assessment, 

the Reduced Penalty Agreement and as set out below. 
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3. Staff states that on December 19, 2018, Rockin HJ Trucking timely submitted the 

signed Reduced Penalty Agreement. A copy of the Reduced Penalty Agreement was attached to 

Staffs Motion. The carrier further submitted a Corrective Action Plan (CAP), which has been 

approved by Transportation Staff. 

4. On December 20, 2018, Staff filed a Motion for Order Amending Penalty 

Assessment, recommending the Commission assess Rockin HJ Trucking a fifty-percent (50%) 

reduced penalty of $875, and set out specific terms and obligations. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

5. The Penalty Order issued on December 13, 2018, assessed Rockin HJ Trucking a 

civil penalty of $1,750 for three (3) violation(s) of the motor carrier safety statutes, rules and 

regulations. 

6. Staff recommended in its Motion that due to Rockin HJ Trucking's agreement to 

comply with the terms and obligations for a fifty-percent (50%) reduced penalty and approval of 

its CAP, an Order Amending Penalty Assessment is recommended to be issued by the 

Commission assessing Rockin HJ Trucking a reduced penalty of $875, and setting out the terms 

and obligations as stated in its motion. 

7. K.S.A. 66-1,142c authorizes the Commission to determine the amount of civil 

penalty and states in pertinent part: 

"Any civil penalty may be compromised by the state corporation 
commission. In detennining the amount of the penalty or the amount 
agreed in compromise, the appropriateness of the penalty to the size of 
the business, the gravity of the violation and the good faith of the person 
charged in attempting to achieve compliance, shall be considered." 

IT IS, THEREFORE, BY THE COMMISSION ORDERED THAT: 

A. The civil penalty of $1,750 assessed to Duane Kent Hahn, d/b/a Rockin HJ 

Trucking in the Penalty Order dated December 13, 2018, is hereby amended to $875. 
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B. Payment of $875 is due within thirty (30) days from the date of service of this 

Order Amending Penalty Assessment. Payment must be made through your personal account 

with the Kansas Corporation Commission's KTRAN system located at 

https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/. You must have an account through KTRAN to pay the penalty 

owed. 

C. Rockin HJ Trucking is ordered to, within thirty (30) days from the date of the 

Penalty Order dated December 13, 2018, send an individual responsible for safety compliance to 

attend a Commission-sponsored safety seminar, and submit proof of attendance to Litigation 

Counsel. 

D. Rockin HJ Trucking must submit to a follow-up compliance review within 

eighteen (18) months from the date of the Penalty Order. Transportation Staff will contact 

Rockin HJ Trucking to schedule the review. 

E. If Rockin HJ Trucking fails to pay the reduced fine of $875 and/or fails to comply 

with the terms and conditions ordered above, the Commission may order Rockin HJ Trucking 

additional sanctions, including enforcement of an out-of-service order, revoking its authority or 

any further sanctions as the Commission deems necessary. 

F. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the 

purpose of entering such further orders as it may deem necessary and proper. 
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BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 

Albrecht, Chair; Emler, Commissioner; Keen, Commissioner 

Dated: ------------

Lynn M. Retz 
Secretary to the Commission 

AAL 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

19-TRAM-215-PEN 

I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of 

first class maiVhand delivered on ----------

DUANE KENT HAHN, OWNER 
DUANE KENT HAHN 
D/B/A ROCKIN HJ TRUCKING 
3576 N HWY 25 
LAKIN, KS 67860-6318 
rockinhjfeed@hotmail.com 

AHSAN LATIF, LITIGATION COUNSEL 
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 
1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD 
TOPEKA, KS 66604 
Fax: 785-271-3354 
a.latif@kcc.ks.gov 

ISi DeeAnn Shupe 
DeeAnn Shupe 
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