THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Before Commissioners:

Pat Apple, Chairman Shari Feist Albrecht Jav Scott Emler

In the Matter of the Investigation of Double D)	
Family Mat Shop Inc. of Park, Kansas,	,	
Regarding the Violation of the Motor Carrier)	
Safety Statutes, Rules and Regulations and the		Docket No. 17-TRAM-569-PEN
Commission's Authority to Impose Penalties,)	
Sanctions and/or the Revocation of Motor)	
Carrier Authority.)	

ORDER AMENDING PENALTY ORDER

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State of Kansas (Commission) for consideration. Having examined its files and records, and being duly advised in the premises, the Commission finds and concludes as follows:

BACKGROUND

- 1. On July 11, 2017, this Commission issued a Penalty Order to Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. (hereinafter Doubld D Family Mat Shop), assessing it a civil penalty of \$1,100, in accordance with the FY 2018 Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix. The penalty(s) was for four (4) violation(s) of Kansas law that governs motor carriers, including various provisions of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs), as adopted by the Kansas Administrative Regulations.
- 2. Doubld D Family Mat Shop was advised that it was a New Entrant motor carrier being reviewed for the first time, and was eligible for a reduced penalty of fifty-percent (50%), as long as it complies with the terms and obligations described in the Notice of Penalty Assessment, the Reduced Penalty Agreement and as set out below.

- 3. On July 18, 2017, Staff filed a Motion to Amend Penalty Order, recommending the Commission assess Doubld D Family Mat Shop a fifty-percent (50%) reduced penalty of \$550, and set out specific terms and obligations for Doubld D Family Mat Shop's compliance.
- 4. Staff states that on July 14, 2017, Doubld D Family Mat Shop submitted the signed Reduced Penalty Agreement. A copy of the Reduced Penalty Agreement was attached to Staff's Motion. The carrier submitted a Corrective Action Plan (CAP), which has been approved by Transportation Staff.

FINDINGS OF FACT

- 5. The Penalty Order issued on July 11, 2017, assessed Doubld D Family Mat Shop a civil penalty(s) of \$1,100 for four (4) violation(s) of the motor carrier safety statutes, rules and regulations.
- 6. Staff recommended in its Motion that due to Doubld D Family Mat Shop's agreement to comply with the terms and obligations for a fifty-percent (50%) reduced penalty and approval of its CAP, an Amended Penalty Order should be issued by the Commission assessing it a reduced penalty of \$550, and setting out the terms and obligations as stated in its motion.
- 7. K.S.A. 66-1,142c authorizes the Commission to determine the amount of civil penalty and states in pertinent part:

"Any civil penalty may be compromised by the state corporation commission. In determining the amount of the penalty or the amount agreed in compromise, the appropriateness of the penalty to the size of the business, the gravity of the violation and the good faith of the person charged in attempting to achieve compliance, shall be considered." (emphasis added)

IT IS, THEREFORE, BY THE COMMISSION ORDERED THAT:

- (A) The civil penalty of \$1,100 assessed to Double D Family Mat Shop Inc. in the Penalty Order dated July 11, 2017, is hereby amended to \$550.
- (B) This Amended Penalty Order was mailed on July 25, 2017, via certified mail, return receipt requested, Certified Receipt No. 70161970000105740310. Service is complete upon the date the carrier signs the Domestic Return Receipt. Payment of the reduced amount is due within thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Amended Penalty Order. Payment of \$550 must be made through your personal account with the Kansas Corporation Commission's KTRAN application located at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/. If you have not received a letter from the Transportation Division assigning you a PIN, please contact that Division at 785-271-3145. You must have an account through KTRAN to pay the penalty owed.
- (C) Doubld D Family Mat Shop is ordered to, within thirty (30) days from the date of the Penalty Order dated July 11, 2017, send an individual responsible for safety compliance to attend a Commission-sponsored safety seminar, and submit proof of attendance to Litigation Counsel.
- (D) Doubld D Family Mat Shop must submit to a follow-up compliance review within eighteen (18) months from the date of the Penalty Order. Transportation Staff will contact Doubld D Family Mat Shop to schedule the review.
- (E) If Doubld D Family Mat Shop fails to pay the reduced fine of \$550 and/or fails to comply with the terms and conditions ordered above, the Commission may order Doubld D Family Mat Shop additional sanctions, including enforcement of an out-of-service order, revoking its authority or any further sanctions as the Commission deems necessary.

(F) The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the purpose of entering such further orders as it may deem necessary and proper.

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED.

Apple, Chairman; Albrecht, Commissioner; Emler, Commissioner

Dated:	JUL 2 5 2017

Lynn M. Retz

Secretary to the Commission

AAL

Order Mailed Date

JUL 26 2017

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

17-TRAM-50	69-PEN
, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached	d Order has been served to the following parties by means of
irst class mail/hand delivered onJUL 2 5 2017	
DALE GOETZ, PRESIDENT DOUBLE D FAMILY MAT SHOP INC. 6606 E RD 100 S PARK, KS 67751-5505 amber.hutchison@doubledmats.com	AHSAN LATIF, LITIGATION COUNSEL KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD TOPEKA, KS 66604-4027 Fax: 785-271-3354 a.latif@kcc.ks.gov
	/S/ DeeAnn Shupe
	DeeAnn Shupe

Order Mailed Date
JUL 26 2017