

1500 SW Arrowhead Road Topeka, KS 66604-4027

Andrew J. French, Chairperson Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner Susan K. Duffy, Commissioner Phone: 785-271-3100 Fax: 785-271-3354 http://kcc.ks.gov/

Laura Kelly, Governor

#### NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT

June 22, 2021

JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC 1662 HWY 7 TROY, KS 66087-4025

This is a notice of a penalty assessment against JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC (Carrier) for violation of the Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes, Rules, and Regulations discovered by Kansas Corporation Commission Special Investigator Verna Jackson. Penalty amounts are assessed in accordance with the Commission-approved Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix. For a full description of the penalty and terms and obligations please refer to the Order attached to this notice.

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY: Carrier has been assessed a \$300 penalty for failure to pay Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees. If you have questions regarding UCR fees please contact the Transportation Division at 785-271-3145. You have thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Penalty Order to pay the penalty. Please remit payment of \$300 through your personal account with the Kansas Corporation Commission's Kansas Trucking Regulatory Network (KTRAN) located at <a href="https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/">https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/</a>. If you have not received a letter from the Transportation Division assigning you a Personal Identification Number (PIN) for use with your KTRAN account, please contact the Division at 785-271-3145. You must have an account through KTRAN to pay the penalty.

Additionally, if your 2020 and/or 2021 UCR fees are still outstanding, those fees must be paid within thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Penalty Order to avoid additional penalties being assessed. 2020 and 2021 UCR fees may be paid through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov.

**IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY ORDER: You have the right to request a hearing.** A request for hearing must be made in writing, setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought. Carrier must file, within fifteen (15) days from the date of service of this Order, the request for hearing with the Commission's electronic filing system found at <a href="https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/">https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/</a>, and must mail a service copy of the request to the undersigned at the above address. If you do not have access to the internet, you can mail an original and seven (7) copies of the request to the Executive Director at 1500 S.W. Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604, and mail a copy to the undersigned Litigation Counsel. K.A.R. 82-1-215; K.S.A. 77-542.

**IF YOU FAIL TO ACT:** Failure to pay the penalty of \$300 within thirty (30) days from the date of service of the Penalty Order, or failure to comply with the terms of the Order or, in the alternative, failure to provide a timely written request for a hearing, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming final and may result in additional sanctions including suspension and/or revocation of your motor carrier operating authority.

Respectfully,

Isl Ahsan A. Latif Litigation Counsel (785) 271-3118

# THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Before Commissioners: Andrew J. French, Chairperson

Dwight D. Keen Susan K. Duffy

In the Matter of the Investigation of <b>JESCHKE</b>	)	
AG SERVICE LLC of TROY, Kansas,	)	
Regarding the Violation(s) of the Motor Carrier		
Safety Statutes, Rules and Regulations and the	) Docket No. 21-TRAM-45	55-PEN
Commission's Authority to Impose Penalties,	)	
Sanctions and/or the Revocation of Motor Carrier		
Authority.	)	

## PENALTY ORDER

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State of Kansas (Commission). Having examined its files and records, and being duly advised in the premises, the Commission finds and concludes as follows:

#### I. JURISDICTION

- 1. Pursuant to K.S.A 66-1,108b, 66-1,111, 66-1,112 and 66-1,114b, the Commission is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to supervise and control motor carriers, as defined in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5, and adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3f, doing business or procuring business in Kansas, and is empowered to do all things necessary and convenient for the exercise of such power, authority and jurisdiction.
- 2. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,129a, 66-1,130 and 66-1,142b, the Commission may suspend operations, revoke or amend certificates, and initiate sanctions or fines against every motor carrier and every person who violates any provision of Kansas law in regard to the regulation of such motor carriers and persons, or who fails to obey any order, decision or regulation of the Commission.
- 3. Pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 14504a, the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Act is a federally mandated commercial motor vehicle registration program administered by individual States for motor carriers self-designating their operations as interstate commerce. Kansas

administers the UCR Act pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,139 which requires motor carriers to "register their motor vehicles in their base state pursuant to federal statutes." 49 U.S.C. § 14504a(i)(4) expressly authorizes States the ability to issue citations and impose reasonable fines and penalties "pursuant to the applicable laws and regulations of the State on any motor carrier, motor private carrier, freight forwarder, broker, or leasing company for failure to ...pay the fees required."

4. UCR fees are set annually by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). The Commission enforces this registration requirement as outlined in the Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix (Penalty Matrix), reviewed each year by July 1 and subsequently approved by the Commission. The Penalty Matrix establishes the structure of penalties for failure to pay the required UCR fees.

#### II. FINDINGS OF FACT

- 5. On June 15, 2021, Staff submitted a Report and Recommendation (R&R) regarding JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC's (Carrier's) failure to pay its 2020 UCR fees. As part of the R&R, Staff recommended the Commission assess Carrier a penalty in the amount of \$300, to be paid through the Carrier's Kansas Trucking Regulatory Assistance Network (KTRAN) account, and require Carrier to pay its outstanding UCR fees for 2020 and 2021 through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov. A copy of the R&R is attached hereto as **Attachment "A"** and incorporated herein by reference.
- 6. As noted in the R&R, Carrier has operating authority under United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) number 2086410. According to Carrier's USDOT profile, it designates itself as an interstate carrier, with its base as State of Kansas. Carrier owns

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See Exhibit 1 of Staff's R&R.

5 self-propelled vehicle(s) that meet the definition of the type of vehicle for which Carrier is required to pay annual UCR fees.<sup>2</sup>

- 7. According to Staff's R&R, multiple attempts were made to contact Carrier regarding its 2020 UCR fees. The National Registration System (NRS), which is maintained by the UCR Board, sent solicitation notices every 15 days beginning February 18, 2020. Additionally, on July 28, 2020, a letter was sent to Carrier through its KTRAN account.<sup>3</sup> On September 8, 2020, Carrier was sent another letter by Transportation Staff regarding its unpaid 2020 UCR fees through its KTRAN account.<sup>4</sup>
- 8. Litigation Counsel for Staff mailed a letter on April 13, 2021, to Carrier informing it needed to pay its 2020 and 2021 UCR fees within ten days. Staff advised in the letter that nonpayment of UCR fees could result in civil assessments, with a penalty of \$300 for each instance of non-compliance. To date, Commission records indicate that the Carrier has not paid its 2020 or 2021 UCR fees.
- 9. Based on Carrier's failure to register its commercial motor vehicle(s) for registration year 2020 and pay the appropriate UCR fees as established in 49 C.F.R. 367, there is sufficient evidence to demonstrate that the Carrier is in violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 in conjunction with K.A.R. 82-4-30a, and that a fine in the amount of \$300 is warranted. Additionally, Carrier is still obligated to pay its 2020 and 2021 UCR fees through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> 49 U.S.C. § 14504a requires UCR fees be paid for all commercial motor vehicles owned or operated by a motor carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> See Exhibit 2 of Staff's R&R.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> See Exhibit 3 of Staff's R&R.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> See Exhibit 4 of Staff's R&R.

#### III. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

- 10. The Commission finds it has jurisdiction over Carrier pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,108b because it is a motor carrier as defined in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3f.
- 11. The Commission finds Carrier committed one violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for failure to pay the 2020 UCR fees outlined in 49 C.F.R. Part 367.

## THE COMMISSION THEREFORE ORDERS THAT:

- A. JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC of TROY, Kansas is hereby assessed a \$300 civil penalty for one violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for failure to pay the 2020 UCR fees outlined in 49 C.F.R. Part 367.
- B. JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC shall pay its outstanding 2020 and 2021 UCR fees through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov.
- C. Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-537 and K.S.A. 77-542, any party may request a hearing on the above issue(s) by submitting a written request setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought. The request may be electronically filed with the Commission's electronic filing system at <a href="https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/">https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/e-filing/e-express/</a>, within fifteen (15) days from the date of service of this Order, and a copy of the request mailed to the Litigation Division. If you do not have access to the internet, you can mail an original and seven copies of the request to the Executive Director at 1500 S.W. Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604, and mail a copy of the request to Litigation Counsel. A hearing will be scheduled only upon written request. Failure to timely request a hearing will result in a waiver of Carrier's right to a hearing, and this Penalty Order will become a Final Order.

D. If a request for hearing is filed, attorneys for all parties shall enter their appearances

in Commission proceedings by giving their names and addresses for the record. For civil penalties

less than \$500, a corporation may appear by a duly authorized representative of the corporation.<sup>6</sup>

E. If you do not request a hearing, the payment of the civil penalty of \$300 as well as

payment of the 2020 and 2021 UCR fees is due in thirty (30) days from the date of service of this

Order. Payment of \$300 must be made through your personal account with the Kansas Corporation

Commission's KTRAN system located at https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/. You must have a KTRAN

account to pay the penalty through KTRAN. Payment of the 2020 and 2021 UCR fees may be

made through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov.

F. Failure to pay the \$300 civil penalty and the outstanding 2020 and 2021 UCR fees

within thirty (30) days from the date of service of this Penalty Order, may result in suspension of

Carrier's motor carrier operating authority without further notice. Additionally, the Commission

may impose further sanctions to include, but not be limited to, additional monetary sanctions, the

issuance and enforcement of revocation of authority and/or cease and desist orders, and any other

remedies available to the Commission by law, without further notice.

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED.

French, Chairperson; Keen, Commissioner; Duffy, Commissioner

06/22/2021 Dated:

Lynn M. Retz

**Executive Director** 

Lynn M. Ret

AAL

5

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> K.S.A. 66-1,142b(e) and amendments thereto.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> See K.S.A. 66-1,105.

Kansas
Corporation Commission

Phone: 785-271-3100 Fax: 785-271-3354 http://kcc.ks.gov/

Laura Kelly, Governor

Andrew J. French, Chairperson Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner Susan K. Duffy, Commissioner

# REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION TRANSPORTATION DIVISION

**TO:** Andrew J. French, Chairperson

Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner Susan K. Duffy, Commissioner

**FROM:** Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation

Verna Jackson, Special Investigator

**DATE:** June 15, 2021

SUBJECT: Docket No. 21-TRAM-455-PEN, JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC

Motor Carrier Penalty Order for Failure to Pay 2020 UCR Fees

## **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:**

JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC (Carrier) is a carrier that has self-declared to be an interstate motor carrier on its USDOT profile. Interstate motor carriers are required to pay annual Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees. Staff has attempted, without success, to contact Carrier regarding its 2020 and 2021 UCR fees. The first attempt was on July 28, 2020 when a notice was sent through the Carrier's Kansas Trucking Regulatory Assistance Network (KTRAN) account. The next attempt was on September 8, 2020, when Staff sent Carrier a letter regarding the 2020 UCR fees. An additional letter dated April 13, 2021, was sent by Litigation Counsel for Staff. Also, the National Registration System (NRS), which is maintained by the UCR Board, sent solicitation notices every 15 days beginning February 18, 2020 to any unregistered motor carriers. To date, Carrier's profile lists its UCR fees for 2020 and/or 2021 as unpaid. Staff recommends Carrier be assessed a penalty for failure to complete its federal registration for 2020 as required by K.S.A. 66-1,139, as outlined in the applicable Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix. Additionally Staff recommends the Carrier be required to pay the unpaid 2020 and 2021 UCR fees.

# **BACKGROUND:**

JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC operates under USDOT number 2086410, domiciled in Kansas at 1662 HWY 7, TROY, Kansas. Staff Special Investigator (SI) Verna Jackson has been tasked with ensuring Kansas motor carriers conducting interstate operations have properly paid their UCR fees for the calendar years 2020 and 2021. Based on SI Jackson's review of Carrier's USDOT profile, Carrier is self-declared to be conducting interstate operations. On its most recent USDOT Profile update, submitted 9/24/2019, the carrier lists 5 vehicle(s). However, its UCR fees for 2020 and/or 2021 remain unpaid. A copy of the Carrier's most recent USDOT Profile update is attached hereto as Exhibit 1.

An initial letter was automatically sent to the Carrier on July 28, 2020, through K-TRAN informing it of its responsibility to pay UCR fees. A copy of the initial letter is attached hereto as Exhibit 2. A letter was sent by Staff to the Carrier on September 8, 2020, reminding it of its UCR obligations. A copy of that letter is attached hereto as Exhibit 3. Yet another letter was sent on April 13, 2021, by Litigation Counsel for Staff also reminding Carrier that its 2020 and 2021 UCR fees were outstanding, and warning that nonpayment would result in the issuance of a penalty order. A copy of this letter is attached hereto as Exhibit 4.

Therefore, Staff recommends Carrier be assessed a civil penalty for failure to pay 2020 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees as required and to be reminded to pay its 2021 UCR fees. This is a violation of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for failure to "register their motor vehicles in their base state pursuant to federal statutes," namely 49 USC 14504a. Additionally, Staff requests the Commission require the Carrier to pay its UCR fees for 2020 and 2021 through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov.

#### **DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS:**

K.S.A. 66-1,139 requires "all interstate regulated public motor carriers of property, of household goods, or of passengers who operate a motor vehicle in Kansas shall register their motor vehicles in their base state pursuant to federal statutes" unless otherwise exempted. The UCR Act, pursuant to 49 USC 14504a, establishes the registration requirements for motor carriers operating in interstate commerce.

The UCR Act is a federally mandated commercial motor vehicle registration program administered by individual states for motor carriers self-designating their operations as interstate or are discovered to be operating in interstate commerce through roadside inspections or an accident. UCR funds are used by states for administration of the UCR program and enforcement of motor carrier safety programs.

UCR fees are collected from all motor carriers or other entities required to obtain an Interstate USDOT number and/or is required to register with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). There are six fee categories and the registration fees are based on the number of commercial motor vehicles operated in interstate commerce.

Kansas based motor carriers can register UCR by logging into the NRS portal at www.ucr.gov and paying the UCR fees.

For the purposes of determining UCR fees, a Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) is defined as: a self-propelled vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers or cargo (as defined under 49 U.S.C. Section 31101), if the vehicle:

- (1) Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating or gross vehicle weight or gross combination weight of at least 10,001 pounds, whichever is greater;
- (2) Is designed to transport more than 10 passengers including the driver; or
- (3) Is used in transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to be hazardous under 49 U.S.C. Section 5103 and transported in a quantity requiring placarding under regulations prescribed by the Secretary.

The operation of certain non-CMV vehicles still qualify it for UCR fees, but at the lowest UCR fee bracket. For example, for lightweight passenger vehicles that do not meet the above definition of CMV (I less than 10 passengers including the driver), the fleet size for the UCR purposes would be zero and the carrier would register and pay the lowest fee bracket.

In 2020, the UCR fee schedule was established in 49 C.F.R. 367.60 as follows:

# TABLE 1 TO § 367.60 - FEES UNDER THE UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION PLAN AND AGREEMENT FOR REGISTRATION YEAR 2020

# AND EACH SUBSEQUENT REGISTRATION YEAR THEREAFTER

Bracket	Number of commercial motor vehicles owned or operated by exempt or non-exempt motor carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder	Fee per entity for exempt or non-exempt motor carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder	Fee per entity for broker or leasing company
B1	0-2	\$59	\$59
B2	3-5	176	
В3	6-20	351	
B4	21-100	1,224	
B5	101-1,000	5,835	
В6	1,001 and above	56,977	

The UCR Agreement applies to the following types of interstate operations of passenger and property:

- (1) Motor carrier;
- (2) Motor private carrier of property;
- (3) Freight forwarder;
- (4) Broker;
- (5) Leasing company; and
- (6) CMV registered with IRP plates cannot be excluded from the UCR vehicle count.

UCR Exempt Operations include:

- (1) Wholly intrastate CMV; and
- (2) Private Motor Carriers of Passengers.

If a carrier designates itself as an interstate carrier on its USDOT profile and fails to pay UCR fees within the calendar year that such fees apply, it is in violation of the UCR Agreement as enforced by the state of Kansas and subject to the appropriate fine based on the number of vehicles that should have been registered. Here, Carrier designated itself as an interstate carrier, with 5 vehicle(s) operating in interstate commerce.

Each year, the Commission approves a Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix, which establishes the fee schedule used by Staff for penalties. With regard to violations of K.S.A. 66-1,139 for failure to pay the fees outlined in 49 CFR 367, the matrix establishes the following fee schedule for standard violations:

Regulation / Statute	Standard				
49 C.F.R. § 367	1-5	6 – 20	21-100	101-1000	1000+
	Vehicles	Vehicles	Vehicles	Vehicles	Vehicles
	\$300.00	\$500.00	\$700.00	\$900.00	\$1,000.00

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

Transportation Staff recommends a penalty of \$300 be assessed against JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC in accordance with the recommended penalties listed in the applicable Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix for failure to pay its 2020 UCR fees. This penalty is based on the carrier's USDOT profile, which lists the carrier as an interstate motor carrier. As discussed above, numerous attempts were made to contact the motor carrier and notify it of its obligation to pay the UCR fee. To date the 2020 and/or 2021 UCR fee remains unpaid. This is a violation K.S.A. 66-1,139 for failure to comply with the UCR Act, 49 U.S.C. 14504a, by not paying the applicable UCR fees outlines in 49 C.F.R. 367.

Additionally, Staff requests the Commission require the Carrier to pay its outstanding UCR fees for 2020 and 2021 through the UCR website at www.ucr.gov.

U.S Department of Transportation Federal Motor Carrier

# MOTOR CARRIER IDENTIFICATION REPORT (Application for U.S. DOT NUMBER)

Safety Administration								1,	.bb.		u		0.0.				• • •					
REASON FOR FILING NEW APPLICATION		(Check BIENNIAL UF	Only C		GES		OUT OF BU	JSIN	ESS N	OTIF	FICATION		RE	APPLIC	CATIO	N (AFTER RE\	OCATIO	ON OF	NEW EN	ITRANT)		
NAME OF MOTOR CARRIER     JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC							2. TRADE OR D.B.A. (DOING BUSINESS AS) NAME															
3. PRINCIPAL ADDRE 1662 HWY 7	SS				4. CITY TROY	1					5. STATE/PROVINCE KANSAS					6. ZIP CODE 6087-4025	IP CODE + 4 7. COLONIA (MEXICO ONL			NLY)		
						1					10. STATE/PROVINCE KANSAS					11. ZIP CODI 6087-4025	E+4 1:	E+4 12. COLONIA (MEXICO ONLY)			ONLY)	
13. PRINCIPAL BUSINI (785) 442-3870																						
16. USDOT NO.	1	17. MC OR	MX NO.		18. DUN	& BR	RADSTRE	ET	NO.		). IRS/TAX	X ID NC	).									
2086410 20. INTERNET E-MAIL brentjescke@YAHOO		ESS								EIN# SSN#  21. CARRIER MILEAGE (to nearest 10,000 miles for Last Calendar Year) YEAR										R		
22. COMPANY OPERA		(Mark all th	nat annl	v)						4	1000									2019		
A Interstate Carrier  23. OPERATION CLAS	B. In	ıtrastate Ha	zmat Ca		C. Intrasta	te No	on-Hazma	t Ca	arrier	D	. Intersta	te Hazn	nat Ship	per	E. Inti	rastate Hazm	nat Ship	per	F. Veh	icle Registi	rant Only	
A. Authorized For-Hire		•			עיש) gers (Busine	ess)			GL	J. S.	Mail					.I Local	Governi	ment				
B) Exempt For-Hire					gers (Non-B	,	ess)		-	U. S. Mail J. Local Government  Federal Government K. Indian Tribe												
C. Private Property		F.	Migrant		•		,				Governr					L. Other						
, ,																	_					
24. CARGO CLASSIFIC	CATION	4S (Cir	cle All t	that Appl	ly)					$\overline{}$												
A. GENERAL FREIGHT	F.	LOGS, POL BEAMS, LU			J. FRI	ESH F	PRODUCE		(	P)	GRAIN, FE	EED, HA	Y	V.	COM	IMODITIES DF	RY BULK	(	BB. CC	NSTRUCTION	ON	
B. HOUSEHOLD	G.	BUILDING			K. LIQ	UIDS	/GASES			Q.	COAL/CO	KE		W	. REF	RIGERATED F	OOD		CC. W	ATER WELL		
GOODS		MATERIALS			L. INT	ERM	ODAL CON	IT.		R.	MEAT			X.	BEV	ERAGES			DD. OT	HER		
C. METAL; SHEETS; COILS; ROLLS	Н.	MOBILE HO			M. PAS	SSEN	IGERS			S.	GARBAGE	E, REFUS	SE, TRAS	SH Y.	PAP	ER PRODUCT	S					
D. MOTOR VEHICLES	I.	MACHINER LARGE OB			N. OIL	FIEL	D EQUIPM	IENT		T.	U.S. MAIL			Z.	UTIL	ITY						
E. DRIVE					O. LIV	ESTC	CK			U.	CHEMICA	LS		AA	A. FAR	M SUPPLIES						
AWAY/TOWAWAY 25. HAZARDOUS MAT	ERIALS	S CARRIED	OR SH	HIPPED	(Circle All	that /	Apply) C	C-C/	ARRIE	D S	S-SHIPPE	ED B(B	ULK) - I	N CAF	RGO T	ANKS NB(N	NON-BL	JLK) -	- IN PAC	CKAGE		
C S A. DIV 1.		B NB			DIV 2.2A (	Amn				S	U. DIV					S EE. HR				B NB		
C S <b>B.</b> DIV 1.2 C S <b>C.</b> DIV 1.3		B NB B NB			DIV 2.3A DIV 2.3B			NB NB	l -	S S	V. DIV		B B			S FF. CL S GG. CL		\		B NB B NB		
C S <b>D.</b> DIV 1.4		B NB			DIV 2.3C			NB	l -	S	X. DIV		В			S HH. CL				B NB		
C S E. DIV 1.5		B NB			DIV 2.3D		В	NB		S	Y. DIV		В				ASS 9			B NB		
C S <b>F.</b> DIV 1.6 C S <b>G.</b> DIV 2.7		B NB B NB	1 -	_	Class 3 Class 3A			NB NB		S S	Z. DIV		B B			S JJ. ELEVATED TEMP MAT. B NB S KK. INFECTIOUS WASTE B NB						
C S <b>H.</b> DIV 2.1	1 LPG	B NB	С	_	Class 3B			NB		S BB. DIV 6.1 Poison B NB C						S LL. MARINE POLLUTANTS B NB						
		ane)B NB			COM LIQ						S CC. DIV 6.1 SO									,		
C S J. DIV 2.2 B NB   C S T. DIV 4.1 B NB   C				I	S DD. CLASS 7 B NB C						S NN. HAZARDOUS WASTE B NB S OO. ORM B NB											
26. NUMBER OF VEHIC	CLES T	HAT CAN I	BE OPE	RATED	IN THE U.	S.																
									Moto		School Bus		ıs	Mini-bus		Va	an			Limousine		
	aight ucks	Truck Tractors	Traile	- 1	Hazmat Cargo	Hazmat Carg		3-				Numbe	r of vehicles carry		rryina	number of nee	ceangare	(inclu	iding the	driver) belo		
				Та	nk Trucks						1-8	9-15	16+	16		1-8	9-1		1-8	9-15	16+	
OWNED		5		4				1														
TERM LEASED TRIP LEASED								+														
27. DRIVER INFORMA				INTE	ERSTATE		IN	TR/	ASTAT	ГΕ			TOTA	AL DRI	VERS			TO	TAL CD	L DRIVER:	S	
Within 100-						5					0					5	i				į	
Beyond 100-Mile Radius 0 0 28. IS YOUR U.S. DOT NUMBER REGISTRATION CURRENTLY REVOKED BY THE FEDERAL MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY ADMINISTRATION?											Yes	No	Х									
If Yes, enter your U.S.	DOT N	umber.																				
29. PLEASE ENTER NAM	E(S) OF	SOLE PROP	RIETOR	R(S), OFFI	CERS OR PA	ARTN	IERS AND	TITL	.ES (e.	g. PF	RESIDENT	, TREAS	URER, O	SENER	AL PA	RTNER, LIMIT	ED PAR	TNER	)			
1. BRENT JESCHK		ESIDENT Please print	Name)	)							2. <u>J</u>	OHN JE	SCHKE	, VIC		ESIDENT Please print N	Name)				_	
30. CERTIFICATION STAT		· ·			orized officia	ıl)									•	<u> </u>						
I, BRENT JESCHKI	E						, certify #	hat I	am fan	niliar	with the E	aderal M	ntor Carr	ier Safo	tv Rea	ulations and/or	Federal	Hazor	doue Ma	erials Regula	ations	
,		lease print l	Name)				Under p	enal	ties of	perju						n this report is,						
Signature BRENT JE	SCHK	E					correct,		comple 24/201						_	PRESIDEN	NT					
								_							Titl	e						

Exhibit 2

Phone: 785-271-3145 Fax: 785-271-3124 http://kcc.ks.gov/

Laura Kelly, Governor

Topeka, KS 66604-4027

Susan K. Duffy, Chair

Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner Andrew J. French, Commissioner

2086410

JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC

1662 HWY 7

TROY KS 66087-4025

Your company's 2020 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) is PAST DUE.

Your company is registered as an Interstate MOTOR CARRIER with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, under the USDOT number referred to above.

Under Federal law, Motor Carriers are required to register with UCR annually, and pay the annual fee applicable to the number of power units listed on the MCS-150 or registered with IRP.

Enforcement of the 2020 UCR registration year began July 1, 2020. Motor Carriers required to register with the UCR may now be subject to enforcement actions if they are not registered.

If you have not already done so, please visit the official, secure, online registration portal at <a href="www.ucr.gov">www.ucr.gov</a> to register. The registration process usually takes 5 minutes or less!

For questions or technical assistance with the registration process, please call the UCR helpdesk at 1-833-UCR-PLAN, email helpdesk@ucr.gov, or use the chat feature available on <a href="www.ucr.gov">www.ucr.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

**Kansas Corporation Commission, Transportation Division** 



Exhibit 3

Phone: 785-271-3145 Fax: 785-271-3124 http://kcc.ks.gov/

Laura Kelly, Governor

Susan K. Duffy, Chair Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner Andrew J. French, Commissioner

September 8, 2020

JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC 1662 HWY 7 TROY, KS 66087-4025

Re: U2 - Non-payment of Unified Carrier Registration (UCR)

Dear JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC,

Records indicate JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC's Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees for 2020 have not been paid. The UCR fee is required per Federal and State Regulations for Carriers that operate in interstate commerce. Based on your USDOT profile, you are listed as an active Interstate motor carrier.

Operating a commercial motor vehicle after declaring interstate commerce on your MCSA-1 form and prior to paying UCR fees is in violation of 49 C.F.R. 367 and K.A.R. 82-4-30a, failure to comply may result in a Penalty Order and fine assessed against JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC. Motor carriers operating commercial vehicles with IRP registration are required to include all IRP registered commercial motor vehicles in their UCR count.

The Kansas Trucking Regulatory Assistance Network (KTRAN) website is used by motor carriers to manage Kansas Operating Authority, pay UCR fees, and receive important alerts and messages from the KCC. Please sign-in to KTRAN at <a href="https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/">https://puc.kcc.ks.gov/ktran/</a> and select the UCR tab to manage and pay your UCR fee.

If you are no longer an active motor carrier, please sign-in to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) Unified Registration System (URS) at: <a href="https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration/unified-registration-system">https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration/unified-registration-system</a> and update your MCSA-1 form to an inactive motor carrier. Examples of an inactive motor carrier are; "out of business", "in business but no longer own or use a commercial motor vehicle", etc.

As a service to Kansas carriers and carriers traveling through Kansas, information is provided on the KCC website at <a href="www.kcc.ks.gov">www.kcc.ks.gov</a>. By clicking on *Transportation*, several links will be available for reference at any time questions may arise.

For questions please contact the KCC using the messaging feature in KTRAN or send an email to transportation@kcc.ks.gov.



1500 SW Arrowhead Road Topeka, KS 66604-4027 Kansas
Corporation Commission

Phone: 785-271-3100 Fax: 785-271-3354 http://kcc.ks.gov/

Laura Kelly, Governor

Andrew J. French, Chairperson Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner Susan K. Duffy, Commissioner

April 13, 2021

JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC 1662 HWY 7 TROY, KANSAS 66087-4025

Re: Unregistered 2020 & 2021 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) – USDOT NO. 2086410

#### Dear Motor Carrier Representative:

I am an attorney with the Kansas Corporation Commission (KCC) writing to you regarding your unpaid 2020 and 2021 Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) fees. The KCC is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to supervise and control motor carriers - as defined in the Kansas statutes - doing business or procuring business in Kansas, and may do all things necessary and convenient for the exercise of such power, authority and jurisdiction.

Our records indicate your UCR fees for both 2020 and 2021 have not been paid. Payment of these fees is required by Federal and State Regulations for Carriers that transport in commerce between two states (interstate commerce). Farms, ranches, custom harvesters, tow trucks, construction and passenger carriers are <u>not</u> exempt from this requirement. Possession of an active USDOT number necessitates your compliance with these regulations. Based on your USDOT profile, you are listed as an active, interstate carrier. Operating a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce prior to paying UCR fees is a violation of 49 C.F.R. 367 and K.A.R. 82-4-30a. Nonpayment of UCR fees within ten days of the date of this letter will result in Civil Assessments and a Commission-issued Penalty Order, with a penalty of \$300 for each instance of non-compliance.

Our Staff has made attempts to notify you regarding your unpaid UCR fees. Deliberate avoidance of registering your applicable vehicles for UCR is a violation of the above-stated law and authority.

If you are no longer an active carrier, a written notice must be provided indicating your desire for the inactivation of your USDOT number and the reason for the inactivation request. Please mail your notification along with your USDOT# and company name to Kansas Corporation Commission, Division of Transportation, 1500 SW Arrowhead Road, Topeka, Kansas 66604-4027 or send by email to transportation@kcc.ks.gov.

Thank you for your cooperation. If you have any further questions, you may contact the Verna Jackson, UCR Manager for the Transportation Division at the Kansas Corporation Commission at 785-271-3104 or email her at v.jackson@kcc.ks.gov.

Sincerely,

Isl Ahsan A. Latif

Ahsan A. Latif

Litigation Counsel

## CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, the undersigned, certify that a true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following by means of first class mail or electronic service this 22sc day of June, 2021:

AHSAN LATIF, LITIGATION COUNSEL KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD TOPEKA, KS 66604 Fax: 785-271-3354 a.latif@kcc.ks.gov

JESCHKE AG SERVICE LLC 1662 HWY 7 TROY, KS 66087-4025

/s/ DeeAnn Shupe