
THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

Before Commissioners: Andrew J. French, Chairperson 
Dwight D. Keen 
Annie Kuether 

In the Matter of the State Corporation 
Commission of the State of Kansas Approving the 
FY 2025 Uniform Penalty Assessments for the 
Regulation of Motor Carriers and Persons 
Operating in Kansas Who Fail to Obey Any 
Order, Decision or Regulation of the 
Commission. 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

Docket No. 24-TRAM-896-MIS 

ORDER DESIGNATING GUIDANCE DOCUMENT 
AND APPROVING STAFF'S USE OF THE TRANSPORTATION DIVISION'S 

UNIFORM PENALTY ASSESSMENT TABLE 

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas (Commission).  The Commission, having been briefed on the issue by the Director of 

the Commission’s Transportation Division, finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION

1. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,108b, 66-1,111, 66-1,112, 66-1,114, 66-1,114b and 66-

1,115, the Commission is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to supervise and control 

motor carriers as defined in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5, and adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3f, doing business 

or procuring business in Kansas, and is empowered to do all things necessary and convenient for 

the exercise of such power, authority and jurisdiction. 

2. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,129a, 66-1,130 and 66-1,142b, the Commission may

suspend operations, revoke or amend certificates, and initiate sanctions or fines against every 

motor carrier and every person who violates any provision of Kansas law in regard to the regulation 
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of such motor carriers and persons, or who fails to obey any order, decision or regulation of the 

Commission. 

3. Also pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,142b, the Commission is authorized to assess a civil

penalty of not less than $100 and not more than $1,000 for negligent violations of such motor 

carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders, and not more than $5,000 for intentional 

violations of such motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders. 

4. The Commission has the authority, pursuant to K.A.R. 82-1-237, to investigate an

entity under the Commission’s jurisdiction and order a hearing on the Commission’s own motion 

when the Commission believes the entity is in violation of the law or any order of the Commission. 

5. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,142c, the Commission has the authority to compromise

the amount of any civil penalty. 

6. Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-438, the Commission may issue a guidance document

without following the procedures for the adoption of administrative rules and regulations.   Such 

a guidance document may contain binding instructions to state agency staff members; however, a 

guidance document issued pursuant to K.S.A. 77-438 lacks the force of law. 

II. BACKGROUND

7. It is the goal of the Transportation Division and of the Commission to improve the

safety of motor carriers in Kansas to the benefit of motor carriers and the motoring public. Civil 

penalties assessed for the violation of motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders are 

focused on improving the safety of motor carrier operations. 

8. The Transportation Division has compiled a schedule of fines, relevant to violations

of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, which are incremental in a way designed 

to have a fair and appropriate financial impact on the motor carrier industry.  In compiling the 
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schedule of fines, the Transportation Division has considered the appropriateness of the penalty to 

the size of the business and the gravity of the violation. 

9. The schedule of fines takes into consideration Commission practices with respect

to assessing penalties for violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, the 

safety impact of each violation, the size of the motor carrier's business/operations and, where 

relevant, the number of drivers in violation and/or number of violations discovered. 

10. The schedule of fines, titled the "Uniform Penalty Assessment Table," (Penalty

Assessment Table) was designated as a guidance document and approved for use by Staff in 

recommending penalties for violations of the Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and 

Regulations in the Commission's Amended Order Designating Guidance Document and 

Approving Staff's Use of the Transportation Division's Uniform Penalty Assessment Table (Order) 

issued on June 29, 2023, in docket 23-TRAM-1010-MIS. 

11. Pursuant to the Commission's June 29, 2023 Order, the Penalty Assessment Table

shall be reviewed annually taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier  regulations 

and the motor carrier industry, no later than July 1 of each year. 

III. STATEMENT OF FACTS

12. In accordance with the Commission's June 29, 2023 Order, the Transportation

Division has reviewed the FY 2024 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table and has recommended 

appropriate updates in conformity with its goals of improving the safety of motor carriers while 

taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier regulations and the motor carrier 

industry.  The updated FY 2025 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table is attached hereto and is 

incorporated by reference. 
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13. On June 21, 2024, Staff prepared a Report and Recommendation (R&R),

recommending Commission approval of the Transportation Division's use of the updated FY 2025 

Uniform Penalty Assessment Table.  The Report and Recommendation is attached hereto and is 

incorporated by reference. 

14. The updated FY 2025 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table continues to be

intended for the Transportation Division's use in the administration of the laws with which it is 

charged, to facilitate and promote consistency and uniformity in the penalty assessment 

recommendations made and submitted to the Commission, and to provide assurance to motor 

carriers and the public of the foregoing. 

15. Nothing in the updated FY 2025 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table is intended

to control the conduct of the public; it shall function as a reference and guidance tool for the 

Transportation Division.  Penalty assessments made and recommended by the Transportation 

Division are not binding on the Commission, and the Commission retains and shall have full 

authority and discretion regarding any penalty assessment in any final order made and issued. 

IV. STAFF’S RECOMMENDATIONS

16. Staff, in its R&R, recommends the Commission designate the updated FY 2025

Uniform Penalty Assessment Table as a guidance document, replacing the FY 2024 Uniform 

Penalty Assessment Table approved in the Commission's June 29, 2023 Order, and approve the 

updated FY 2025 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table for use by Staff in recommending penalties 

for violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations. 

17. Additionally, Staff recommends the updated FY 2025 Uniform Penalty

Assessment Table be posted to the Commission website, replacing the FY 2024 Uniform Penalty 
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Assessment Table currently posted to the Commission website, in furtherance of agency 

transparency. 

18. Finally, Staff recommends that the Uniform Penalty Assessment Table should

continue to be reviewed once annually taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier 

regulations and the motor carrier industry, on or before July 1 of each year. 

V. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

19. The Commission finds it has the authority to designate guidance documents

pursuant to K.S.A. 77-438. 

20. The Commission finds it has jurisdiction over the assessment of civil penalties for

the violation of any statute, regulation or Commission order relevant to motor carrier laws. 

21. The Commission finds that it retains the authority to exercise discretion in

compromising civil penalties pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,142c. 

22. The Commission finds the updated and attached FY 2025 Uniform Penalty

Assessment Table to be reasonable and appropriately tailored to accomplish the Commission's 

goal of improving the safety of motor carriers in Kansas while having a fair impact on the motor 

carrier industry. 

THE COMMISSION THEREFORE ORDERS THAT: 

A. The Transportation Division's FY 2025 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table with

updates is hereby designated as a guidance document and approved for use by Staff.  Staff shall 

use the FY 2025 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table in recommending penalties for violations of 

Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, except for when Staff believes a deviation 

from the Uniform Penalty Assessment Table is merited.  If Staff believes such a deviation is 
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merited, Staff shall present the Uniform Penalty Assessment Table recommendation, and any 

alternative recommendation, to the Commission for consideration. 

B. The Transportation Division's FY 2025 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table shall

be posted to the Commission’s website, replacing the previously approved 2024 Uniform Penalty 

Assessment Table. 

C. The Transportation Division's Uniform Penalty Assessment Table shall be

reviewed annually taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier regulations and the 

motor carrier industry, no later than July 1 of each year. 

 BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 

French, Chairperson; Keen, Commissioner; Kuether, Commissioner 

Dated:  

Lynn M. Retz 
Executive Director 

AAL

06/27/2024



 
REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION 

TRANSPORTATION DIVISION 
 
 
 
TO:   Chairperson Andrew J. French 

Commissioner Dwight D. Keen  
Commissioner Annie Kuether 
 

FROM: Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation 
 
DATE: June 21, 2024 
 
SUBJECT:  Docket No. 24-TRAM-896-MIS 
  Adoption of the FY 2025 Transportation Division Fine Schedule 
 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY: 

The Transportation Division seeks approval of an update to the previously approved schedule of 
fines, pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,142b, relevant to violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety 
Statutes and Regulations.  The proposed 2025 Uniform Penalty Matrix does not contain any 
substantive changes from the 2024 Uniform Penalty Matrix.  The Division seeks formal approval 
of the updated fine schedule by the Commission, and intends to present this Report and 
Recommendation at Commission meeting on June 27, 2024. 
 

BACKGROUND: 

K.S.A. 66-1,142b gives the Commission the authority to assess civil penalties for the violation of 
any statute, regulation or Commission order relevant to motor carrier laws. Subsection (a) states 
any person violating such motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders shall be 
subject to a civil penalty of not less than $100 and not more than $1,000 for negligent violations 
and not more than $5,000 for intentional violations. 
 
Keeping in mind Commission practices with respect to assessing penalties for violations of 
Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, as well as the appropriateness of the 
penalty to the size of the business and the gravity of the violation, the Transportation Division 
compiled a schedule of fines incremental in a way designed to have a fair and appropriate 
financial impact on the motor carrier industry. 
 
On June 29, 2023, the Commission approved a fine schedule, titled "Uniform Penalty 
Assessment Table," and ordered the fine schedule to be reviewed annually, no later than July 1. 

1500 SW Arrowhead Road 
Topeka, KS 66604-4027 

Andrew J. French, Chairperson 
Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner 
Annie Kuether, Commissioner 

Phone: 785-271-3100 
Fax: 785-271-3354 

http:/ /kcc.ks.gov/ 

Laura Kelly, Governor 



 
 

The Transportation Division has reviewed the previously approved fine schedule, and has no 
additional changes to make at this time.  
 
ANALYSIS: 

The fine schedule is broken down by K.A.R. section and corresponding C.F.R. Part.  The 
attached Uniform Penalty Assessment Table sets forth fine amounts taking into consideration 
factors such as company size/number of drivers and number of violations.  The fines are 
incremental in a way designed to have a fair and appropriate impact on the motor carrier 
industry. 
 
UCR fees, as set forth in 49 C.F.R. 367.30, are required to be paid by interstate motor carriers 
pursuant to K.A.R. 82-4-30a.  This penalty has been scaled in such a way that the fine increases 
as the number of vehicles in violation increases. 
 
49 C.F.R. Part 382, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3c, deals with controlled substances and alcohol 
use and testing.  Because the threat of drug/alcohol abuse is a severe safety concern, many of 
these fines begin at $350.  All of the fines in this category are broken out by the number of 
drivers within the company.  This structure reduces the severity of a single violation by 
owner/operators.  
 
49 C.F.R. Part 385, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3d, deals with safety and fitness procedures.  The 
only violation in this category relates to Haz-Mat Safety Permits.  This is an area directly related 
to the safety of motor carriers as well as the motoring public, therefore the fine is a flat, per-
carrier violation and it is consistent across all motor carriers, regardless of size. 
 
49 C.F.R. Part 386, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-30, deals with out-of-service violations. These 
violations allow the Commission to penalize motor carriers that operate while under a federal or 
Commission out-of-service order. It also allows the Commission to penalize carriers that attempt 
to operate as a chameleon carrier for the purposes of avoiding an out-of-service order. 
 
49 C.F.R. Part 387, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3n, deals with minimum levels of insurance for 
both property and passenger carrying motor carriers. The only violation in this category relates to 
failure to carry interstate insurance. This is an area directly related to the safety and protection of 
motor carriers as well as the motoring public, therefore the fine is a flat, per-carrier violation and 
it is consistent across motor carriers, regardless of size.  
 
49 C.F.R. Part 390, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3f, deals with general motor carrier safety 
regulations, and again these violations directly impact the safety of the motor carrier and 
motoring public.  Fines for violations of this part are broken out by number of violations.  
 
49 C.F.R. Part 391, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3g, deals with driver qualifications.  This area is 
still critical to safe motor carrier operations; however the impact on safety is somewhat less 
direct.  Therefore these fines begin at a lower amount than the general motor carrier safety 
regulations, and are adjusted upward as the number of drivers in violation increases.  
 



 
 

49 C.F.R. Part 392, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3h, deals with driving a commercial motor 
vehicle and fines for violations of this part are broken out by number of violations.  Violations of 
this part directly affect highway wear and tear, and fine amounts reflect this consideration.  
 
49 C.F.R. Part 395, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3a, deals with hours of service and fines for 
violations of this part are broken out by number of violations.  Violations of this part directly 
affect the safety of the motoring public, and fine amounts reflect this consideration. 
 
49 C.F.R. Part 396, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3j, deals with inspection, repair and maintenance 
of vehicles. Violations of this part directly affect the safety of the motoring public, and fine 
amounts reflect this consideration.  Violation of this part is broken out by the number of 
violations.  
 
49 C.F.R. Parts 100 through 185, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-20, deal with transportation of 
hazardous material, and fines for violations of these parts and regulation are broken out by 
number of violations.  Violations of this part are a serious concern for the safety of the motoring 
public, and fine amounts reflect this consideration.  
 
K.S.A. 66-l,142b, deals with the Commission's ability to enforce its own orders and outlines 
violations for a failure by a motor carrier to comply with a Commission Penalty Order. 
 
Proposed Updates: At this time there are no proposed changes to the previously approved 
Uniform Penalty Assessment Table.  The proposed table would simply reflect that it is 
appropriate for use in FY 2025.   
 
RECOMMENDATION: 

Transportation Staff recommends the attached FY 2025 fine schedule be adopted, replacing the 
previously approved fine schedule, and posted to the Commission website. The schedule shall be 
reviewed once annually on or before July 1 of each year.  
 
 



1 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

Uniform Penalty Assessment Table 

Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 

FY 2025



2 Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 367 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30a | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 367 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30a 
(Unified Carrier Registration) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Enhanced / Repeat Violations 
 0 – 5 

Vehicles 
6 – 20 

Vehicles 
21-100 
Vehicles 

101-1000 
Vehicles 

1000+ 
Vehicles 

1. Repeat violations of a standard penalty occurring within three 
years from the date the standard penalty was issued receive a 
recommendation for an enhanced civil penalty equal to 2X 
the amount of the standard civil penalty. 

2. Repeat violations of an enhanced civil penalty occurring 
within three years from the date the enhanced penalty was 
issued receive a recommendation for an enhanced civil 
penalty equal to 2X the amount of the previously issued 
enhanced civil penalty.  The maximum repeat enhanced civil 
penalty violation that may be recommended against a 
Respondent is $5,000.00.  See K.S.A. 66-1,142b. 

49 C.F.R. § 367 
K.S.A. 66-1,139a 

Failure to Pay UCR 
Registration fees 

$300.00 $500.00 $700.00 $900.00 $1,000.00 

 

  



3 Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 382 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3c | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 382 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3c 
(Controlled Substance and Alcohol Use and Testing Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty 1 Enhanced Civil Penalty 2 
 1 CDL Driver 2-5 CDL Drivers 6+ CDL Drivers 1 CDL Driver 2-5 CDL Drivers 6+ CDL Drivers 

49 C.F.R. § 382.115 
Failure to Implement 

Testing Programs 

$350.00 $650.00 $1,000.00 $700.00 $1,300.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.215 
Positive Controlled 

Substance Test 

N/A N/A N/A $2,000.00 $3,500.00 $5,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.301 
No Pre-Employment 

Test 

$250.00 $650.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,300.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.303 
Failure to Conduct Post-

Accident Testing 

$250.00 $650.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,300.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.305 
Failure to Conduct 
Random Testing 

$250.00 $650.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,300.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.305(i)(2) 
Failure Remove From 

Pool 

$100.00 $250.00 $500.00 $200.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.401 
Failure to Retain 

Records 

$100.00 $250.00 $500.00 $200.00 $500.00 $1000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.601 
Failure to Distribute 
Drug/Alcohol Policy 

$100.00 $250.00 $500.00 $200.00 $500.00 $1000.00 

                                                             
1 Maximum cumulative penalties: $1,000 (1 CDL Driver); $1,500 (2-5 CDL Drivers); $2,000 (6+ CDL Drivers) 
2 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 



4 Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 382 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3c | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

49 C.F.R. § 382.603 
Failure to Conduct 
Supervisor Training 

$100.00   
(N/A if 

owner/operator) 

 
$100.00 

 
             $100.00 

 
                  N/A 

 
           $200.00 

 
          $200.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.711 
Failure to Register in 

Clearinghouse 

 $500.00  $750.00  $1,000.00  $1,000.00  $1,500.00  $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.701(a) 
Failure to Conduct Pre-

Employment Query with 
Clearinghouse 

$350.00 $500.00 $700.00 $700.00 $1,000.00 $1,400.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.701(b)(1) 
Failure to Conduct 
Annual Query with 

Clearinghouse 

$150.00 $250.00 $300.00 $300.00 $500.00 $600.00 

49 C.F.R. § 382.701(d) 
49 C.F.R. 382.503 

Use of ProhibitedDriver  

N/A N/A N/A $3,500.00  $4,000.00   $5,000.00 

Repeated Violations of 
Enhanced Civil Penalty 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil 
penalty was issued against the Carrier will result in a civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount of an enhanced civil 
penalty. 



5 Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 385 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3d | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 385 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3d 
(Safety Fitness Procedures Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 1 
 

First Violation   Repeat 
Violation   

49 C.F.R. § 385.403 
HM Safety Permit $500.00   $1,000.00   

Repeated Violations 
of Enhanced Civil 

Penalty 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in a civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount of an enhanced civil penalty. 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                             
1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 



6 Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 386 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3o | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 386 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3o 
(Out of Service Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 2 
 

First Violation   Repeat 
Violation   

49 C.F.R. 386.73 
Operating as 

Chameleon Carrier 
$2,000.00   $4,000.00   

49 C.F.R. 386.73 
Operating Under 

Federal OOS 
$2,000.00   $4,000.00   

K.S.A. 66-1,129a 
Operating Under 

KCC OOS 
$2,000.00   $4,000.00   

Repeated Violations 
of Enhanced Civil 

Penalty 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in a civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount of an enhanced civil penalty. 

 

 
 

 

 
 

 

                                                             
2 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 



7 Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 387 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3n | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

 

 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 387 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3n 
(Interstate Insurance Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 
 

First Violation   Repeat 
Violation   

49 C.F.R. § 387.7;  
§ 387.31 

Interstate Insurance 
$500.00   $1,000.00   

Repeated Violations 
of Enhanced Civil 

Penalty 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in a civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount of an enhanced civil penalty. 



8 Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 390 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3f | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 390 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3f 
(General Motor Carrier Safety Regulation Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 1 
 

1-15 Violations 16-30 
Violations 31+ Violations 1-15 Violations 16-30 

Violations 31+ Violations 

49 C.F.R. § 390.13 
Aiding & Abetting N/A N/A N/A $2,000.00 $2,500.00 $3,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 390.15 
Accident Register $200.00 $300.00 $500.00 $400.00 $600.00 $1,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 390.19 
No DOT # $200.00 N/A N/A $400.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 390.23 
Relief From 
Regulation 
Emergency 

$500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 390.31 
Copies or Records of 

Documents 
$200.00 $300.00 $500.00 $400.00 $600.00 $1,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 390.33 
Using a CMV For 

Purposes Other Than 
Defined 

$500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 390.35 
Fraudulent 

Certificates, Reports 
& Records 

N/A N/A N/A $2,000.00 $2,500.00 $3,000.00 

Repeated Violations 
of Enhanced Civil 

Penalty 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Carrier, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty 
recommended shall be the maximum civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00.  See K.S.A. 66-1,142b(a). 

                                                             
1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 



9 Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 391 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3g | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 391 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3g 
(Qualification of Drivers Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 1 
 1 Violation 2-10 Violations 11+ Violations 1 Violations 2-10 Violations 11+ Violations 

49 C.F.R. § 391.11 
Qualification of Drivers 

$250.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 391.15 
Disqualified Drivers $250.00 N/A N/A $500.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 391.25 
49 C.F.R. § 391.23 

49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(4) 
49 C.F.R. § 

391.51(b)(2)MVR 

$100.00 $250.00 $500.00 $200.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 391.41 
Physical Qualifications $250.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 391.43 
49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(7) 

Medical Certification 
$250.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 391.45(b)(1) 
Medical Examination 

$250.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) 
Driver Qualification File 

$350.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $700.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(3) 
Road Test 

N/A 
(1 driver) 

$100.00 
(2-5 drivers) 

$250.00 
(6+ drivers) 

N/A 
(1 driver) 

$200.00 
(2-5 drivers) 

$500.00 
(6+ drivers) 

Repeated Violations of 
Enhanced Civil Penalty 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Carrier, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty 
recommended shall be the maximum civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00.  See K.S.A. 66-1,142b(a). 

                                                             
1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 



10 Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 392 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3h | Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 
  

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 392 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3h 
(Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicle Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil 
Penalty 

Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

 
1-5 Violations 6-15 Violations 16+ 

Violations 1-5 Violations 6-15 Violations 16+ Violations 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 8-1901 Size & 

Weight 
$500.00 $1,500.00 $3,000.00 $1,000.00 $3,00.00 $4,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 8-2,125  

CDL 
$500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 8-2,132 

Driver Declared OOS 
N/A N/A N/A $3,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 66-1,111-PuMC 

K.S.A. 66-1330-W 
K.S.A. 66-1,112g-PrM 

$500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 8-109 Oversize 

Permit; 
K.S.A. 8-142 
Registration 

$500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
Unsafe Driving 

Speeding 
$500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
Unsafe Driving 
Texting/Mobile 

Phone Use 

$500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
Hazardous Conditions $500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

                                                             
1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if a violation is deemed “intentional” or if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil 
penalty was assessed against the Respondent. 
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49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 66-1,128 

Insurance 
$500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. Part 392.2 
K.S.A. 40-3104 

Insurance 
$500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. Part 392.2 
K.A.R. 82-4-35a 

Supporting 
Documents 

Hours of Service  

$500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $1,000.00 $2,000.00 $3,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 392.9a 
Federal Operating 

Authority 
$1,000.00 N/A N/A $2,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 392.9b 
No DOT # $250.00 N/A N/A $500.00 N/A N/A 

K.S.A. 79-34,109 
Fuel Tax $500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

Repeated Violations 
of Enhanced Civil 

Penalty 
A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Carrier, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty 
recommended shall be the maximum civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00.  See K.S.A. 66-1,142b(a). 
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Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 395 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3a 
(Hours of Service of Drivers Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 
1-10

Violations 
11-20

Violations 
21-30

Violations 31+ Violations 1-10 Violations 11-20 Violations 21-30
Violations 31+ Violations 

49 C.F.R. § 395.1(e) 
Total Hours $100.00 $200.00 $300.00 $400.00 $200.00 $400.00 $600.00 $800.00 

49 C.F.R. § 395.3 
Maximum Driving 
Time (Property) 

$250.00 $500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 395.3(a)(3) 
Rest Breaks $250.00 $500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 395.5 
Maximum Driving 
Time (Passenger) 

$250.00 $500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 395.8 
49 C.F.R. § 395.20 

Record of Duty 
Status/No ELDs 

$250.00 $500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 395.8(e) 
False Reports N/A N/A N/A N/A $2,000.00 $3,000.00 $4,000.00 $5,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 395.8(k) 
49 C.F.R. § 395.11 

Supporting 
Documentation 

$500.00 $750.00 $900.00 $1,000.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 $3,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 395.13 
Driver’s Declared OOS $250.00 $500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

Repeated Violations 
of Enhanced Civil 

Penalty 

Repeat violations of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the enhanced penalty was issued against the Carrier 
will   result in a recommendation for the maximum civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00.  See K.S.A. 66-1,142b(a). 

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if a violation is deemed “intentional” or if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil 
penalty was assessed against the Respondent. 
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Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 396 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3j 
(Inspection, Repair and Maintenance Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 1 

1 Violation 2-15 Violations 16+ Violations 1 Violation 2-15 Violations 16+ Violations 
49 C.F.R. § 396.3 

Inspection, Repair, 
and Maintenance 

$350.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $700.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 396.7 
Unsafe Operations 

Forbidden 
$500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 396.9 
Motor Vehicles 
Declared OOS 

N/A N/A N/A $3,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 396.11 
Driver Vehicle 

Inspection Report 
$200.00 $300.00 $500.00 $400.00 $600.00 $1,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 396.17 
Periodic Inspection $250.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $500.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 396.19(a) 
Inspector 

Qualifications 
$250.00 N/A N/A $500.00 N/A N/A 

Repeated Violations 
of Enhanced Civil 

Penalty 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Carrier, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty 
recommended shall be the maximum civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00.  See K.S.A. 66-1,142b(a). 

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 
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Violations Re: Hazardous Materials Violations; K.A.R. 82-4-20 
(Transportation of Hazardous Materials by Motor Vehicles Violations) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 1 

1-5 Violations 6-30 Violations 31+ Violations 1-5 Violations 6-30 Violations 31+ Violations 
49 C.F.R. § 107.601 

HM Registration 
$500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 172.200 
Shipping Papers $200.00 $300.00 $500.00 $400.00 $600.00 $1,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 172.500 
Placarding $200.00 $300.00 $500.00 $400.00 $600.00 $1,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 172.600 
Emergency Response 

Information 
$300.00 N/A N/A $600.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 172.700 
HM Training 

$500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

49 C.F.R. § 172.800 
Security Plans $500.00 N/A N/A $1,000.00 N/A N/A 

49 C.F.R. § 180.401 
Qualification & 

Maintenance of Cargo 
Tanks 

$500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

Repeated Violations 
of Enhanced Civil 

Penalty 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Carrier, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty 
recommended shall be the maximum civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00.  See K.S.A. 66-1,142b(a). 

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 
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Violations Re: K.S.A. 66-1,142b 
(Failure to Comply with Commission Penalty Order) 

Regulation / Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 2 
 

First Violation   Repeat 
Violation   

K.S.A. 66-1,142b 
Failure to Submit CAP 

$250.00   $500.00   

K.S.A. 66-1,142b 
Failure to Attend 
Safety Seminar 

$250.00   $500.00   

Repeated Violations 
of Enhanced Civil 

Penalty 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty was 
issued against the Carrier will result in a civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount of an enhanced civil penalty. 

  

                                                             
2 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 


	24-896 FY 2025 Penalty Matrix Order
	FY 2025 Penalty Matrix RR
	FY 2025 Uniform Penalty Assessment Matrix
	Uniform Penalty Assessment Table
	Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division
	FY 2025
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 367 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30a
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 382 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3c
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 385 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3d
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 386 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3o
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 387 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3n
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 390 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3f
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 391 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3g
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 392 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3h
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 395 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3a
	Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 396 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3j
	Violations Re: Hazardous Materials Violations; K.A.R. 82-4-20
	Violations Re: K.S.A. 66-1,142b




