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THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

Before Commissioners: Jay Scott Emler, Chairman 
Shari Feist Albrecht 
Pat Apple 

In the Matter of the State Corporation ) 
Commission of the State of Kansas Approving ) 
the FY 2017 Uniform Penalty Assessments for ) 
the Regulation of Motor Carriers and Persons ) Docket No. 16-TRAM-588-MIS 
Operating in Kansas Who Fail to Obey Any ) 
Order, Decision or Regulation of the ) 
Commission. ) 

ORDER DESIGNATING GUIDANCE DOCUMENT 
AND APPROVING STAFF'S USE OF THE TRANSPORTATION DIVISION'S 

UNIFORM PENALTY ASSESSMENT TABLE 

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas (Commission). The Commission, having been briefed on the issue by the Director of 

the Commission's Transportation Division, finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION 

1. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 66-1 ,108b, 66-1,111, 66-1,112, 66-1,114, 66-

1,114b and 66-1,115, the Commission is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to supervise 

and control motor carriers, as defined in K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 66-1,108, doing business or 

procuring business in Kansas, and is empowered to do all things necessary and convenient for 

the exercise of such power, authority and jurisdiction. 

2. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 66-1,129a, 66-1,130 and 66-1,142b, the 

Commission may suspend operations, revoke or amend certificates, and initiate sanctions or fines 

against every motor carrier and every person who violates any provision of Kansas law in regard 



to the regulation of such motor carriers and persons, or who fails to obey any order, decision or 

regulation of the Commission. 

3. Also pursuant to K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 66-1 ,142b, the Commission is authorized to 

assess a civil penalty of not less than $100 and not more than $1,000 for negligent violations of 

such motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders, and not more than $5,000 for 

intentional violations of such motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders. 

4. The Commission has the authority, pursuant to K.A.R. 82-1-237, to investigate an 

entity under the Commission' s jurisdiction and order a hearing on the Commission' s own motion 

when the Commission believes the entity is in violation of the law or any order of the 

Commission. 

5. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 66-1 ,142c, the Commission has the authority to 

compromise the amount of any civil penalty. 

6. Pursuant to K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 77-438, the Commission may issue a guidance 

document without following the procedures for the adoption of administrative rules and 

regulations. Such a guidance document may contain binding instructions to state agency staff 

members; however, a guidance document issued pursuant to K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 77-438 lacks the 

force of law. 

II. BACKGROUND 

7. It is the goal of the Transportation Division and of the Commission to improve the 

safety of motor carriers in Kansas to the benefit of motor carriers and the motoring public. Civil 

penalties assessed for the violation of motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders 

are focused on improving the safety of motor carrier operations. 
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8. The Transportation Division has compiled a schedule of fines, relevant to 

violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, which are incremental in a 

way designed to have a fair and appropriate financial impact on the motor carrier industry. In 

compiling the schedule of fines, the Transportation Division has considered the appropriateness 

of the penalty to the size of the business and the gravity of the violation. 

9. The schedule of fines takes into consideration Commission practices with respect 

to assessing penalties for violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, the 

safety impact of each violation, the size of the motor carrier's business/operations and, where 

relevant, the number of drivers in violation and/or number of violations discovered. 

10. The schedule of fines, titled th~ "Uniform Penalty Assessment Table," (Penalty 

Assessment Table) was designated as a guidance document and approved for use by Staff in 

recommending penalties for violations of the Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and 

Regulations in the Commission's Amended Order Designating Guidance Document and 

Approving Staffs Use of the Transportation Division's Uniform Penalty Assessment Table 

(Order) issued on July 14, 2015, in docket 16-TRAM-004-MIS. 

11. Pursuant to the Commission's July 14, 2015 Amended Order, the Penalty 

Assessment Table shall be reviewed annually taking into consideration potential changes to 

motor carrier regulations and the motor carrier industry, no later than July 1 of each year. 

III. STATEMENT OF FACTS 

12. In accordance with the Commission's July 14, 2015, Amended Order, the 

Transportation Division has reviewed the Penalty Assessment Table and has recommended 

appropriate updates in conformity with its goals of improving the safety of motor carriers while 

taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier regulations and the motor carrier 
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industry. The updated FY 2017 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table is attached hereto and is 

incorporated by reference. 

13. On June 21, 2016, Staff prepared a Report and Recommendation, 

recommending Commission approval of the Transportation Division's use of the updated Penalty 

Assessment Table. The Report and Recommendation is attached hereto and is incorporated by 

reference. 

14. The updated Penalty Assessment Table continues to be intended for the 

Transportation Division's use in the administration of the laws with which it is charged, to 

facilitate and promote consistency and uniformity in the penalty assessment recommendations 

made and submitted to the Commission, and to provide assurance to motor carriers and the 

public of the foregoing. 

15. Nothing in the updated Penalty Assessment Table is intended to control the 

conduct of the public; it shall function as a reference and guidance tool for the Transportation 

Division. Penalty assessments made and recommended by the Transportation Division are not 

binding on the Commission, and the Commission retains and shall have full authority and 

discretion regarding any penalty assessment in any final order made and issued. 

III. STAFF'S RECOMMENDATIONS 

16. Based upon the available facts, Staff recommends the Commission designate the 

updated Penalty Assessment Table as a guidance document, replacing the Penalty Assessment 

Table approved as a guidance document in the Commission's July 14, 2015 Order, and approve 

the updated Penalty Assessment Table for use by Staff in recommending penalties for violations 

of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations. 
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17. Additionally, Staff recommends the updated Penalty Assessment Table be 

posted to the Commission website, replacing the Penalty Assessment Table currently posted to 

the Commission website, in furtherance of agency transparency. 

18. Finally, Staff recommends that the Penalty Assessment Table continue to be 

reviewed once annually taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier regulations 

and the motor carrier industry, on or before July 1 of each year. 

V. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

19. The Commission finds it has the authority to designate guidance documents 

pursuant to K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 77-438. 

20. The Commission finds it has jurisdiction over the assessment of civil penalties 

for the violation of any statute, regulation or Commission order relevant to motor carrier laws. 

21. The Commission finds that it retains the authority to exercise discretion in 

compromising civil penalties pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1 , 142c. 

22. The Commission finds the updated and attached Penalty Assessment Table to be 

reasonable and appropriately tailored to accomplish the Commission's goal of improving the 

safety of motor carriers in Kansas while having a fair impact on the motor carrier industry. 

THE COMMISSION THEREFORE ORDERS THAT: 

A. The Transportation Division's FY 2017 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table with 

updates is hereby designated as a guidance document and approved for use by Staff. Staff shall 

use the Penalty Assessment Table in recommending penalties for violations of Kansas Motor 

Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, except for when Staff believes a deviation from the 

Uniform Penalty Assessment Table is merited. If Staff believes such a deviation is merited, Staff 
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shall present the Uniform Penalty Assessment Table recommendation, and any alternative 

recommendation, to the Commission for consideration. 

B . The Transportation Division's FY 2017 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table with 

updates shall be posted to the Commission's website, replacing the previously approved Penalty 

Assessment Table. 

C. The Transportation Division's FY 2017 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table shall 

be reviewed annually taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier regulations and 

the motor carrier industry, no later than July 1 of each year. 

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 

Emler, Chairman; Albrecht, Commissioner; Apple, Commissioner 

Dated: 
, AUG 1 8 2016 

Secretary to the Commission 
AAL 
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1500 SW Arrowhead Road 
Topeka,KS66604-4027 

Shari Feist Albr'echt, Chair 
Jay Scott Emler, Commissioner 
Pat Apple, Commissioner 

TO: 

FROM: 

DATE: 

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION 
TRANSPORTATION DIVISION 

Chairman Jay Scott Emler 
Commissioner Shari Feist Albrecht 
Commissioner Pat Apple 

Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation 

August 9, 2016 

DATE SUBMITTED TO LEGAL: August 2, 2016 

DATE SUBMITTED TO COMMISSIONERS: August 9, 2016 

SUBJECT: Adoption of the Updated Transportation Division Fine Schedule 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY: 

Phone: 785-271-3100 
fax: 785-271-3354 

http://kcc.ks.gov/ 

Sam Brownback, Governor 

The Transportation Division has updated a previously approved schedule of fines, pursuant to 
K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 66-l,142b, relevant to violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and 
Regulations. These fines are tailored to reflect the severity of the safety concerns of each violation 
and are crafted to address the size of the company to reduce the burden on small businesses in 
Kansas. The Division seeks formal approval of the updated fine schedule by the Commission, and 
intends to present this Report and Recommendation at Commission meeting on June 30, 2016. 

BACKGROUND: 

K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 66-1,142b gives the Commission the authority to assess civil penalties for the 
violation of any statute, regulation or Commission order relevant to motor carrier laws. 
Subsection (a) states any person violating such motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission 
orders shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $100 and not more than $1 ,000 for 
negligent violations and not more than $5,000 for intentional violations. 

Keeping in mind Commission practices with respect to assessing penalties for violations of 
Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, as well as the appropriateness of the penalty 
to the size of the business and the gravity of the violation, the Transportation Division compiled a 
schedule of fines incremental in a way designed to have a fair and appropriate financial impact on 
the motor carrier industry. 

On July 14, 2015, the Commission approved a fine schedule, titled "Uniform Penalty Assessment 



Table," and ordered the fine schedule to be reviewed annually, no later than July 1. The 
Transportation Division has reviewed the previously approved fine schedule, and has made several 
appropriate updates in conformity with its goal to improve the safety of motor carrier operations. 

ANALYSIS: 

The fine schedule is broken down by K.A.R. section and corresponding C.F.R. Part. The attached 
Uniform Penalty Assessment Table sets forth fine amounts taking into consideration factors such as 
company size/number of drivers and number of violations. The fines are incremental in a way 
designed to have a fair and appropriate impact on the motor carrier industry. 

UCR fees, as set forth in 49 C.F.R. 367.30, are required to be paid by interstate motor carriers 
pursuant to K.A.R. 82-4-30a. This penalty has been scaled in such a way that the fine increases as 
the number of vehicles in violation increases. 

49 C.F.R. Part 382, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3c, deals with controlled substances and alcohol use 
and testing. Because the threat of drug/alcohol abuse is a severe safety concern, many of these fines 
begin at $350. All of the fines in this category are broken out by the number of drivers within the 
company. This structure reduces the severity of a single violation by owner/operators. 

49 C.F.R. Part 385, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3d, deals with safety and fitness procedures. The 
only violation in this category relates to Haz-Mat Safety Permits. This is an area directly related to 
the safety of motor carriers as well as the motoring public, therefore the fine is a flat, per-carrier 
violation and it is consistent across all motor carriers, regardless of size. 

49 C.F.R. Part 387, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3n, deals with minimum levels of insurance for both 
property and passenger carrying motor carriers. The only violation in this category relates to failure 
to carry interstate insurance. This is an area directly related to the safety and protection of motor 
carriers as well as the motoring public, therefore the fine is a flat, per-carrier violation and it is 
consistent across motor carriers, regardless of size. 

49 C.F.R. Part 390, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3f, deals with general motor carrier safety 
regulations, and again these violations directly impact the safety of the motor carrier and motoring 
public. Fines for violations of this part are broken out by number of violations. 

49 C.F.R. Part 391, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3g, deals with driver qualifications. This area is still 
critical to safe motor carrier operations; however the impact on safety is somewhat less direct. 
Therefore these fines begin at a lower amount than the general motor carrier safety regulations, and 
are adjusted upward as the number of drivers in violation increases. 

49 C.F.R. Part 392, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3h, deals with driving a commercial motor vehicle 
and fines for violations of this part are broken out by number of violations. Violations of this part 
directly affect highway wear and tear, and fine amounts reflect this consideration. 

49 C.F.R. Part 395, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3a, deals with hours of service and fines for 
violations of this part are broken out by number of violations. Violations of this part directly affect 
the safety of the motoring public, and fine amounts reflect this consideration. 
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49 C.F.R. Part 396, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3j, deals with inspection, repair and maintenance of 
vehicles. Violations of this part directly affect the safety of the motoring public, and fine amounts 
reflect this consideration. Violation of this part is broken out by the number of violations. 

49 C.F.R. Parts 100 through 185, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-20, deal with transportation of 
hazardous material, and fines for violations of these parts and regulation are broken out by number 
of violations. Violations of this part are a serious concern for the safety of the motoring public, and 
fine amounts reflect this consideration. 

Proposed Updates: The following are proposed updates made to the previously approved 
Uniform Penalty Assessment Table which reflects changes in the motor carrier industry and/or the 
motor carrier safety regulations: 

1. 49 C.F.R. Part 382, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3c, has includes several changes: 
a. A reduced the standard civil penalty for violations committed by carriers under the 1 

or 2 to 5 CDL Drivers in this part. 
i. Violations of 49 C.F.R. 382.115 (Failure to Implement Testing Programs) 

now carry a standard civil penalty of $350.00 for 1 CDL driver and $650.00 
for 2-5 CDL drivers. 

u. Violations of 49 C.F.R. 382.301 (No Pre-Employment Test) now carry a 
standard civil penalty of $250.00 for 1 CDL driver and $650.00 for 2-5 CDL 
drivers. 

111. Violations of 49 C.F.R. 382.303 (Failure to Conduct Post Accident Testing) 
now carry a standard civil penalty of $250.00 for 1 CDL driver and $650.00 
for 2-5 CDL drivers. 

IV. Violations of 49 C.F.R. 382.305 (Failure to Conduct Random Testing) now 
carry a standard civil penalty of $250.00 for 1 CDL driver and $650.00 for 2-
5 CDL drivers. 

v. Violations of 49 C.F.R. 382.401 (Failure to Retain Records) now carry a 
standard civil penalty of $100.00 for 1 CDL driver and $250.00 for 2-5 CDL 
drivers. 

vi. Violations of 49 C.F.R. 382.601 (Failure to Distribute Drug/Alcohol Policy) 
now carry a standard civil penalty of $250.00 for 2-5 CDL drivers. 

VIL All enhanced civil penalties for these violations are double the standard civil 
penalty. 

b. A new, specific penalty for 49 C.F.R. 382.305(i)(2) has been added, penalizing 
motor carriers who do not remove a driver from the pool of potential drivers to be 
drug tested. This was previously penalized under the fee structure for 49 C.F.R. 
382.305, but it was determined that a failure to ensure equal testing should be subject 
to a reduced penalty when compared to the more egregious violation of failing to 
place new driver in the pool oftested drivers. There will be no civil penalty for the 
first violation of this regulation, but information about the violation will appear on 
the penalty order. Failure to correct the issue within twenty-four months would 
subject the carrier to a $100 enhanced civil penalty. 
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2. 49 C.F.R. Part 386, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-30, is a new penalty dealing with motor 
carriers that operate while under an active out of service order from the FM CSA or the 
KCC. Carriers that operate a chameleon carrier in order to avoid an out of service order are 
included pursuant to 49 C.F.R. 386.73 . Carriers that operate while under a federal out of 
service are included pursuant to 49 C.F.R. 386.83. Carriers that operate while under an out 
of service order issued by the state of Kansas are included pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1 ,129(a). 
The standard penalty for the first violation of operating while under an active out of service 
order is $2,000 penalty while repeated violations would result in a $4,000 penalty. 

3. 49 C.F.R. Part 391 , as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3g, has amended the citation referred to for 
failing to obtain a motor vehicle record (391.25) to include references to 49 C.F.R. 391.23 
and 49 C.F.R 391.51(b)(4). No amendments to the actual fine amounts are being 
recommended. 

4. 49 C.F.R. Part 392, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3h, has added a penalty for unsafe 
driving/speeding as well as a penalty for unsafe driving due to texting or mobile phone use. 
Each violation carries a fine structure identical to violations of 392.2 (Size & Weight). 

5. 49 C.F.R. Part 395, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3a, has added a separate "Total Hours" 
penalty for carriers who improperly keep time records under the "short haul" exemption. 
Violations of 49 C.F.R. 395.l(e) carry the following standard civil penalties: for 1-10 
violations $100.00; for 11-20 violations $200.00; for 21-30 violations $300.00; and for 31+ 
violations $400.00. Enhanced penalties will be double the standard civil penalty. This new 
penalty allows the penalty matrix to separate part time drivers and smaller business from the 
more strict penalty structure in place to regulate larger carriers. Additionally, the number of 
violations that incur a higher penalty has been altered. Previously, the penalty matrix 
grouped violations as: 1-3; 4-15; 16-30 and 31+. The updated penalty matrix groups 
violations as follows: 1-10; 11-20; 21-30; 31+. 

6. 49 C.F.R. Part 396, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3j , has reduced the standard civil penalty for 
1 violation of 49 C.F.R. 396.3 (Inspection, Repair and Maintenance) from $500.00 to $350.0 
and 1 violation of 49 C.F.R. 396.17 (Periodic Inspection) from $350.00 to $250.00. This 
change was made to reduce the severity of fines levied against small businesses with a single 
commercial motor vehicle. 

7. The Uniform Penalty Assessment Table stipulates that repeat violations of enhanced civil 
penalties receive a recommendation for the maximum civil penalty allowable under Kansas 
law. The current limit for the evaluation of repeat violations of enhanced civil penalties is 
being extended from eighteen months to twenty-four months from the date the enhanced 
penalty was issued. This is to allow our staff adequate time to conduct follow-up 
compliance reviews on motor carriers who originally received an enhanced penalty. 

RECOMMENDATION: 

Transportation Staff recommends the attached updated fine schedule be adopted, replacing the 
previously approved fine schedule, and posted to the Commission website. The schedule shall be 
reviewed once annually on or before July 1 of each year. 
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Uniform Penalty Assessment Table 

Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 

FY 2017 

Uniform Penalty Assessment Table I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 367 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30a 

Regulation I Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 367.30 6-20 
Vehicles 
$500.00 

Standard 

(Unified Carrier Registration) 

101-1000 
Vehicles 
$900.00 

Enhanced I Repeat Violations 

1. Repeat violations of a standard penalty occurring within three 
years from the date the standard penalty was issued receive a 
recommendation for an enhanced civil penalty equal to 2X 
the amount of the standard civil penalty. 

2. Repeat violations of an enhanced civil penalty occurring 
within three years from the date the enhanced penalty was 
issued receive a recommendation for an enhanced civil 
penalty equal to 2X the amount of the previously issued 
enhanced civil penalty. The maximum repeat enhanced civil 
penalty violation that may be recommended against a 
ReSROndent is $5,000.00. See K.S.A. 2014 SU J?R· 66-1,142b. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 367 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30a I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 382 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3c 

Regulation/ Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 382.115 
Failure to Implement 

Testing Programs 

49 C.F.R. § 382.215 
Positive Controlled 

Substance Test 

49 C.F.R. § 382.301 
No Pre-Employment Test 

49 C.F.R. § 382.303 
Failure to Conduct Post­

Accident Testing 

49 C.F.R. § 382.305 
ailure to Conduct Random 

Testing 

9 C.F.R. § 382.305(i)(2) 
Failure Remove From Pool 

49 C.F.R. § 382.401 
Failure to Retain Records 

49 C.F.R. § 382.601 
Failure to Distribute 
Drug/ Alcohol Policy 

49 C.F.R. § 382.603 
Failure to Conduct 
Supervisor Training 

(Controlled Substance and Alcohol Use and Testing Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty1 

1 COL Driver 

$650.00 $700.00 

_:___J $2,000.00 

$650.00 I $500.00 

::J $500.00 

::J $500.00 

N/A l $100.00 

$250.00 I N/A 

$250.00 I N/A 

$100.00 

Maximum cumulative penalties: $1,000 (1 COL Driver); $1,500 (2-5 COL Drivers); $2,000 (6+ COL Drivers) 

Enhanced Civil Penalty2 

t 6+ COL Drivers 

I 
$2,000.00 

C 000.00 
~000.00 

C 000.00 
C 000.00 
c oo.oo 

I N/A 

I N/A 

$200.00 

Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
tespondent. 

Violat ions Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 382 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3c I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 385 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3d 
(Safety Fitness Procedures Violations) 

Regulation/ Statute Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

L Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
'espondent. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 385 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3d I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 386 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30 

Regulation/ Statute 

49 C.F.R. 386.73 
Operating as 

Chameleon Carrier 

49 C.F.R. 386.83 
Operating Under 

Federal 005 

K.S.A. 66-1,129(a) 
Operating Under 

KCC 005 

(Out of Service Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty2 

Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
~espondent. 

Violations Re : Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 386 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30 I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 387 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3n 

Regulation I Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 387.7; 
§ 387.31 

Interstate Insurance 

(Interstate Insurance Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 387 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3n I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 390 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3f 

Regulation I Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 390.13 
Aiding & Abetting 

49 C.F.R. § 390.23 
Relief From 
Regulation 
Emergency 

$200.00 

(General Motor Carrier Safety Regulation Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

L Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
~espondent . 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 390 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3f I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 391 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3g 

Regulation I Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 391.11 
ualification of Drivers 

49 C.F.R. § 391.15 
Disqualified Drivers 

49 C.F.R. § 391.25 
49 C.F.R. § 391.23 

9 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(4) 
MVR 

49 C.F.R. § 391.41 
Physical Qualifications 

49 C.F.R. § 391.43 
Medical Certification 

9 C.F.R. § 391.45(b)(l) 
Medical Examination 

49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) 
river Qualification File 

49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(3) 
Road Test 

(Qualification of Drivers Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

$100.00 $250.00 $500.00 $200.00 $500.00 $1,000.00 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Respondent receives an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Respondent, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the 
penalty recommended shall be the maximum civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00. See K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 66-

1,142b(~ ). 

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 

--.----~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Violations Re : Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 391 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3g I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 392 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3h 

Regulation I Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 8-1901 Size & 

Weight 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 8-2,125 CCL 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
Unsafe Driving 

Speeding 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
Unsafe Driving 

Texting/Mobile Phone 
Use 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 66-1,128 

Insurance 

49 C.F.R. § 392.9a 
Federal Operating 

Authority 

(Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicle Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty
1 

Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
\espondent. 

-----~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 392 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3h I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty was issued 
against the Respondent receives an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be recommended against the 
Respondent, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty recommended shall be the maximum 
civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00. See K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 66-1,142b(a). 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 392 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3h I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 395 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3a 

Regulation I 
Statute 

9 C.F.R. § 395.l(e) 
Total Hours 

49 C.F.R. § 395.3 
Maximum Driving 
Time (Property) 

49 CF.R. § 395.3(a)(3) 

Rest Breaks 

49 C.F.R. § 395.5 
Maximum Driving 
Time (Passenger) 

49 C.F.R. § 395.8 
Record of Duty 

Status 

9 C.F.R. § 395.S(e) 
False Reports 

9 C.F.R. § 395.S(k) 
Supporting 

Documentation 

49 C.F.R. § 395.13 
Driver's Declared 005 

(Hours of Service of Drivers Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

Repeat violations of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the enhanced penalty was issued against the 
Respondent receives a recommendation for the maximum civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00. See K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 66-l,142b(a). 

L Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
~espondent . 

Violations Re : Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 395 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3a I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 396 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3j 

Regulation I Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 396.3 
Inspection, Repair, 
and Maintenance 

49 C.F.R. § 396.11 
Driver Vehicle 

Inspection Report 

49 C.F.R. § 396.17 
Periodic Inspection 

49 C.F.R. § 396.19(a) 
Inspector 

Qualifications 

(Inspection, Repair and Maintenance Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Respondent receives an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Respondent, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty 
recommended shall be the maximum civil J:>enalty allowable bY. Kansas law; currently_$~1000.00. See K.S.A. 2014 SUP._R· 66-1,142b(~. 

· Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
~espondent. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 396 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3j I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Hazardous Materials Violations; K.A.R. 82-4-20 

Regulation I Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 107.601 
HM Registration 

49 C.F.R. § 172.200 
' Shipping Papers 

49 C.F.R. § 172.500 
Placarding 

49 C.F.R. § 172.600 
Emergency Response 

Information 

49C.F.R.§172.700 
HM Training 

49 C.F.R. § 172.800 
Security Plans 

(Transportation of Hazardous Materials by Motor Vehicles Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
~espondent. 

Violations Re: Hazardous Materials Violations; K.A.R. 82-4-20 I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

16-TRAM-588-M IS 

I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of 

first class maiVhand delivered on _____ AU_G_· 1_8_20_16_ 

GARY DAVENPORT 
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 
1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD 
TOPEKA, KS 66604-4027 
Fax: 785-271-3354 

g .daven port@kcc. ks. gov 

MICHAEL HOEME 
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 
1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD 
TOPEKA, KS 66604-4027 
Fax: 785-271-3354 
m. hoeme@kcc. ks. gov 

AMBER SMITH, CHIEF LITIGATION COUNSEL 
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 
1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD 
TOPEKA, KS 66604-4027 
Fax: 785-271-3167 
a.smith@kcc.ks.gov 

MICHAEL DUENES, LITIGATION COUNSEL 
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 
1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD 
TOPEKA, KS 66604-4027 
Fax: 785-271-3354 

m.duenes@kcc.ks.gov 

AHSAN LATIF, LITIGATION COUNSEL 
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 
1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD 
TOPEKA, KS 66604-4027 
Fax: 785-271-3354 
a.latif@kcc.ks.gov 

!SI DeeAnn Shupe 

DeeAnn Shupe 

Order Mailed DatP 

AUG 18 2016 


