
CORPORATION Co~iMISSION 

C ONSERVATION DIVISION 

266 N. MAIN Sr., STE. 220 
WJCHTTA, KS 67202-1513 

STATE OF KANSAS 

GOVERNOR JEFF COLYER, M .D. 
SHARI FEJsT ALBRECHT, C HAIR I J AY Scorr EMLER, CoMMISsJoNER I D w1GHT D . KEEN, CoMMISsIONER 

NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT 

July 12, 20 19 

Rick Wooldridge 
Magellan Pipeline Company LP 
1 Williams Center OTC-9 
Tulsa, OK 74172 

I 9-CONS-3010-CPEN 

P 110Nti : 316-337-6200 
FA.x: 316-337-6211 
http://kcc.ks.gov/ 

This is a notice of a penalty assessment for violation(s) of Kansas Oil and Gas Conservation 
Statutes, Rules, and Regulations. For a full description of the penalty and process please refer to the 
Penalty Order that is attached to this notice. 

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY: 

You have been assessed a $500 penalty. You have 30 days from the service date of this Penalty 
Order to pay the fine amount. Check or money order must be made payable to the Kansas Corporation 
Commission and mailed to the Conservation Division of the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. 
Main St. , Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket number 
ofthjs proceeding. Payment by credit card may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-
6200. 

IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY: 

You have the right to request a hearing. A written request for hearing must be made within 30 
days after service of the Penalty Order setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought. 
Respondent must submit the request to the Commission, at 266 N. Main St. , Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 
67202. The Commission shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas 
administrative procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request. K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-542; 
K.A.R. 82-1-2 15. 

IF YOU FAIL TO ACT: 

Fai lure to pay the fine amount, or in the alternative, provide a written request for a hearing, within 
thirty (30) days of service of the Penalty Order, wi ll resu lt in the attached Penalty Order becoming a Final 
Order and may result in additional sanctions, including additional monetary penalties, the suspension of 
your oil and gas operating license, and the shutting-in of all operations until compliance is obtained. 
K.S.A. 55- 164; K.S.A. 77-537. 

Respectfully, 

Lauren N. Wright 
Litigation Counsel 
316-337-6200 

20180712122014 
Kansas Corporation Commission



THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

Before Commissioners: Shari Feist Albrecht, Chair 
Jay Scott Emler 
Dwight D. Keen 

In the matter of the fail ure of Magellan ) Docket No.: 19-CONS-30 I 0-CPEN 
Pipeline Company LP ("Operator") to comply ) 
with K.A.R. 82-3-608 at the MP 177.46 # 1 ) CONSERVATION DIVISION 
and MP 184.9 # l well in Ness County, ) 
Kansas. ) License No.: 33883 

PENAL TY ORDER 

The above captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas. Having examined the files and records, and being duly advised in the premises, the 

Commiss ion finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION 

l. The Commission has the exclusive jurisdiction and authority to regulate oil and 

gas activities in Kansas. 1 The Commission has jurisdiction to regulate the "construction, 

operation, and abandonment of any well and the protection of the usable water of this state from 

any actual or potential pollution from any we ll."2 Every operator conducting oi l and gas activity 

in Kansas must be licensed by the Commission.3 

2. The Commission has the authority to issue a Penalty Order for v iolation of any 

prov1s1on of K.S .A. 55-10 I et seq., rule, regulation, or order of the Commission.4 The 

Commission shall take appropriate action which may include, but not be limited to, imposing a 

monetary penalty "not to exceed $10,000, which sha ll constitute an actual and substantial 

1 K.S.A. 74-623 . 
2 K.S.A. 55- 152. 
3 K.S.A. 55- 155 . 
4 K.S.A. 55-162; K.S.A. 55-164. 



economic deterrent to the violation for which the penalty is assessed."5 " In the case of a 

continuing violation, every day such violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation."6 

3. Unless otherwise specified in writing by the Commission, each operator shall 

close drilling pits within 365 calendar days after the spud date of a well. 7 

4. Before backfilling any pit, the operator shall dispose of the pit contents according 

to K.A.R. 82-3-607 and shall submit the required form pursuant to K.A.R. 82-3-608.8 

5. Each operator shall file a form prescribed by the commission within 30 days after 

the operator transfers refuse from any pit or diked area or refuse relating to any remediation or 

cleanup activity.9 

6. The failure to timely submit the form specified in subsection (a) shall be 

punishable by the following penalties: $250 for the first violation, $500 for the second violation, 

and $1,000 and an operator license review for the third violation. 10 

II. FINDINGS OF FACT 

7. The Operator conducts oil and gas activities m Kansas under active license 

number 33883. 

8. The Operator is responsible for the care and control of the following wells, all 

located in Ness County, Kansas ("the subject wells"): 

a. MP 177.46 #1 , API #15-135-25943-00-00, located in Section 6, Township 20 

South, Range 24 West; and 

5 K.S.A. 55-164. 
6 Id. 
7 K.A.R. 82-3-602(a). 
8 K.A.R. 82-3-602(b). 
9 K.A.R. 82-3-608(a). 
1° K.A.R. 82-3-608(b ). 
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b. MP 184.9 # l , API #L5-l35-25944-00-00, located in Section 25, Township 19 

South, Range 26 West. 

9. Commission records indicate that the Operator filed an Application for Surface 

Pit ("CDP-l ") along with the Notice oflntent to Drill ("C-1 ") for each of the subject wells. As 

part of the CDP-1 approval process, either Operator stated refuse would be transferred or 

Commission Staff required refuse to be transferred, prior to the closure of a drilling pit. 

10. Commission regulations require drilling pits to be closed within 365 calendar 

days of the spud date of the associated well. Commission regulations further require an 

Exploration and Production Waste Transfer ("CDP-5") form to be filed within 30 days after an 

operator transfers refuse from any pit. 

11. Commission records indicate an excess of 395 (365 plus 30) days have passed 

since the subject wells were spud. Commission records further indicate the CDP-5 forms have 

not been filed for the subject wells. 

l2. On June 04, 2018, Commission Staff sent a Notice of Violation letter to the 

Operator, requiring the Operator to file a CDP-5 to comply with K.A.R. 82-3-608 by June 18, 

2018. 11 Commission Staff did not receive a complete and accurate CDP-5 by the deadline in the 

letter. 

III. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

13. The Commission finds it has jurisdiction over the Operator and this matter under 

K.S.A. 55-152 and K.S.A. 74-623. 

l4. The Commission finds that the Operator committed two violations of K.A.R. 82-

3-608 because the Operator has not submitted a complete and accurate CDP-5 for the subject 

wells in a timely manner. 

11 Exhibit A. 

3 



THEREFORE, THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

A. 

B. 

C. 

The Operator shall pay a $500 penalty. 

The Operator shall submit a complete, accurate CDP-5 for the subject wells. 

If no party requests a hearing, and the Operator is not in compliance with this 

Order within 30 days from the date of service of this Order, then the Operator's license shall be 

suspended without further notice. The notice and opportunity for a hearing on this Order shall 

constitute the notice required by K.S.A. 77-512 regarding license suspension. The Commission 

may impose further sanctions, including additional monetary penalties and any other remedies 

available to the Commission by law, without further notice. 

D. Checks and money orders shall be payable to the Kansas Corporation 

Commission. Payments shall be mailed to the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. Main 

St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket 

number of this proceeding. Credit card payments may be made by calling the Conservation 

Division at 316-337-6200. 

E. Any party may request a hearing on the above issues by submitting a written 

request, pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, K.S.A. 77-537, and K.S .A. 77-542, setting forth the specific 

grounds upon which relief is sought, to the Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, 

Kansas 67202, within 30 days from the date of service of this Order. Hearings will be scheduled 

only upon written request. Failure to timely request a hearing will result in a waiver of 

Operator's right to a hearing. 

F. A corporation shall appear before the Commission by a Kansas licensed 

attorney. 12 

12 K.S .A. 77-515(c); K .A.R. 82- l-228(d)(2). 
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G. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the 

purpose of entering such further orders as it may deem necessary. 

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 
Albrecht, Chair; Emler, Commissioner; Keen, Commissioner 

Dated: --------------
Lynn M. Retz 
Secretary to the Commission 

Mailed Date: ------------

LW 

5 

07/12/2018

07/13/2018



CONSERVATION DfVISION 
266 N. Main St. , Ste. 220 
Wichita, KS 67202-1 5 13 

Shari Feist Albrecht, Chair 

Jay Scott Emler, Commissioner 

Dwight D. Keen, Commissioner 

June 04, 2018 

Rick Wooldridge 

Magellan Pipeline Company LP 

1 WILLIAMS CTR OTC-9 

TULSA, OK 74172 

Corporation Commission 

NOTICE OF VIOLATION 

Re: Waste Transfer Form(s) - ("CDP-5") 

Operator: 

Phone: 316-337-6200 
Fax: 316-337-6211 
http://kcc .ks.gov/ 

Jeff Colyer, M.D., Governor 

License No. 33883 

Commission records indicate that for the well(s) on the attached list, you filed an Application for Surface 
Pit (CDP-1) form for each well along with your Intent to Drill. The CDP-1 indicated that fluids would be 
transferred from a drilling pit, or Commission Staff required that fluids be transferred from a drilling pit. 

We have not received the necessary Waste Transfer Form(s). 

Commission records indicate that the well(s) were spudded more than 13 months ago. 
Under K.A.R. 82-3-602, drilling pits must be closed within 12 months after the spud date of the well. 
Further, an operator must submit a CDP-5 within 1 month after transferring waste. 

Since no CDP-5 is on file for the well(s), you are in violation of K.A.R. 82-3-608. 

Failure to submit a complete, accurate CDP-5 
for the pit(s) associated with the well(s) on the attached list 

by JUNE 18, 2018 
shall be punishable by a $250 per-well administrative penalty. 

The information requested above must be submitted on KOLAR. If a CDP-5 is returned to you as 
incomplete, you do not have additional time - the deadline above governs. 

Please contact me at (3 16) 337-6200 if you have any questions. 

Sincerely, 

KA THY HA YNES 

Environmental Protection and Remediation Department 

Exhibit A 
Page 1 of 2 



API Well# Lease Name I Well # 

15-135-25943-00-00 MP 177.46 #1 

15-135-25944-00-00 MP 184.9 #1 

List of Wells: Missing CDP-5 
Well Location 

6-20S-24W, NENENESE 

25-19S-26W, NESWNESE 

County 

NESS 

NESS 

June 04, 2018 

Exhibit A 
Page 2 of 2 



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

19-CONS-3010-CPEN 
I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of 

first class mail and electronic service on _________ _ 

RENE STUCKY 
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Conservation Division 
266 N. Main St. Ste. 220 
WICHITA, KS 67202-151 3 
Fax: 785-271-3354 
r. stucky@kcc. ks. gov 

LAUREN WRIGHT, LITIGATION COUNSEL 
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Conservation Division 
266 N. Main St. Ste. 220 
WICHITA, KS 67202-1513 
Fax: 316-337-6211 
l.wright@kcc.ks.gov 

RICK WOOLDRIDGE 
MAGELLAN PIPELINE COMPANY, L.P. 
ONE WILLIAMS CENTER OTC-9 
TULSA, OK 74172 

ISi DeeAnn Shupe 
OeeAnn Shupe 

07/12/2018




