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NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT
19-CONS-3052-CPEN

August 9, 2018

Brian Bunnell

Wausau Development Corporation
2300 Hwy 11 North

Laurel, MS 39440

This is a notice of a penalty assessment for violation(s) of Kansas Oil and Gas Conservation
Statutes, Rules, and Regulations. For a full description of the penalty and process please refer to the
Penalty Order that is attached to this notice.

IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY:

You have been assessed a $100 penalty. You have 30 days from the service date of this Penalty
Order to pay the fine amount. Check or money order must be made payable to the Kansas Corporation
Commission and mailed to the Conservation Division of the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N.
Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket number
of this proceeding. Payment by credit card may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-
6200.

IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY:

You have the right to request a hearing. A written request for hearing must be made within 30
days after service of the Penalty Order setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought.
Respondent must submit the request to the Commission, at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas
67202. The Commission shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas
administrative procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request. K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-542;
K.AR. 82-1-215.
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Failure to pay the fine amount, or in the alternative, provide a written request for a hearing, within
thirty (30) days of service of the Penalty Order, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming a Final
Order and may result in additional sanctions, including additional monetary penalties, the suspension of
your oil and gas operating license, and the shutting-in of all operations until compliance is obtained.
K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-537.

Respectfully,
Lauren N. Wright

Litigation Counsel
316-337-6200



THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Before Commissioners: Shari Feist Albrecht, Chairman

Jay Scott Emler

Dwight D. Keen
In the matter of the failure of Wausau ) Docl No.: 19-CONS-3052-CPEN
Development Corporation (“Operator”) to )
report activity that occurred during the 2017 )  CONSERVATION DIVISION
calendar year in compliance with )

)

K.A.R. 82-3-409. License No.: 34625

PENALTY ORDER

The above captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State
of Kansas. Having examined the files and records, and being duly advised in the premises, the
Commission finds and concludes as follows:

L. JURISDICTION

1. The Commission has the exclusive jurisdiction and authority to regulate oil and
gas activities in Kansas.! The Commission has jurisdiction to regulate the “construction,
operation, and abandonment of any well and the protection of the usable water of this state from

2 Every operator conducting oil and gas activity

any actual or potential pollution from any well.
in Kansas must be licensed by the Commission.?

2. The Commission has the authority to issue a Penalty Order for violation of any
provision of K.S.A. 55-101 er seq., rule, regulation, or order of the Commission.® The

Commission shall take appropriate action which may include, but not be limited to, imposing a

monetary penalty “not to exceed $10,000, which shall constitute an actual and substantial

'K.S.A. 74-623.
2K.S.A. 55-152.
3K.S.A. 55-155.
4K.S.A.55-162; K.S.A. 55-164.



economic deterrent to the violation for which the penalty is assessed.” “In the case of a
continuing violation, every day such violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation.”®

3. Each operator of an injection well shall submit a report to the Conservation
Division, on a form required by the Commission, showing for the previous calendar year the
following information:

a. The monthly average wellhead pressure;

b. The maximum wellhead pressure;

¢. The amount and kind of fluid injected into each well; and

d. Any other performance information that may be required by the Conservation
Division.”

4. The report shall be submitted on or before March 1 of the following year, and
failure to timely file an annual injection report shall be punishable by a $100 penalty.

II. FINDINGS OF FACT

5. The Operator is responsible for the care and control of the well(s) listed in Exhibit
A (“the subject wells”), which are authorized injection wells.

6. On July 18, 2018, Commission Staff sent a Notice of Violation letter to the
Operator, stating that the Commission was not in receipt of the annual fluid injection report(s)
for activity during the 2017 calendar year at the subject well(s). The letter gave an August 1,
2018 deadline for the Operator to submit the report(s) and avoid a penalty

7. To date, the Operator has failed to file the annual fluid injection report(s) for the

subject well(s), reporting activity during the 2017 calendar year.

SK.S.A.55-164.

o 1d.

TK.AR. 82-3-409.
8 Exhibit B.



I1I. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

8. The Commission finds and concludes that it has jurisdiction over the Operator and
this matter under K.S.A. 55-152 and K.S.A. 74-623.

9. The Commission finds and concludes the Operator committed one violation(s) of
K.AR. 82-3-409 because the Operator failed to file the necessary annual fluid injection report(s)
at the subject well(s).

THEREFORE, THE COMMISSION ORDERS:
A. The Operator shall pay a $100 penalty.
B. The Operator shall file the required annual fluid injection report(s).

C. If no_party requests a hearing, and the Operator is ~~* *~_complir—~~ w*** “his

Medos odelein 20 do- Benes the dpt~ of service of this Ord T S temt-

suspended without further notice. The notice and opportunity for a hearing on this Order shall

constitute the notice required by K.S.A. 77-512 regarding license suspension. The Commission
may impose further sanctions, including additional monetary penalties and any other remedies
available to the Commission by law, without further notice.

D. Checks and money orders shall be payable to the Kansas Corporation
Commuission. For credit card payments, include the type of card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or

American Express), account number, and expiration date. The paym~—* must include a reference

to the docket number of this proceeding. Credit card payments may be made by calling the

Conservation Division at 316-337-6200.
E. Any party may request a hearing on the above issues by submitting a written
request, pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, K.S.A. 77-537, and K.S.A. 77-542, setting forth the specific

grounds upon which relief is sought, to the Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita,
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