

Conservation Division 266 N. Main St., Ste. 220 Wichita, KS 67202-1513

Dwight D. Keen, Chair Shari Feist Albrecht, Commissioner Susan K. Duffy, Commissioner Laura Kelly, Governor

Phone: 316-337-6200

Fax: 346-337-6211 http://kcc.ks.gov/

#### NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT

20-CONS-3087-CPEN

September 19, 2019

Rick L. Schreiber Richlan Drilling, a General Partnership 598 2<sup>nd</sup> Avenue Beaver, KS 67525-9226

This is a notice of a penalty assessment for violation(s) of Kansas Oil and Gas Conservation Statutes, Rules, and Regulations. For a full description of the penalty and process please refer to the Penalty Order that is attached to this notice.

#### IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY:

You have been assessed a \$100 penalty. You have 30 days from the service date of this Penalty Order to pay the fine amount. Check or money order must be made payable to the Kansas Corporation Commission and mailed to the Conservation Division of the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket number of this proceeding. Payment by credit card may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-6200.

#### IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY:

You have the right to request a hearing. A written request for hearing must be made within 30 days after service of the Penalty Order setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought. Respondent must submit the request to the Commission, at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The Commission shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request. K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-542; K.A.R. 82-1-215.

#### **IF YOU FAIL TO ACT:**

Failure to pay the fine amount, or in the alternative, provide a written request for a hearing, within thirty (30) days of service of the Penalty Order, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming a Final Order and may result in additional sanctions, including additional monetary penalties, the suspension of your oil and gas operating license, and the shutting-in of all operations until compliance is obtained. K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-537.

Respectfully,

Robert E. Vincent Senior Litigation Counsel 785-271-3110

## THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

Before Commissioners: Dwight D. Keen, Chair

Shari Feist Albrecht Susan K. Duffy

In the matter of the failure of Richlan Drilling, a General Partnership ("Operator") to comply with K.A.R. 82-3-111 at the Mike #1 in Rice County, Kansas.

Docket No.: 20-CONS-3087-CPEN

CONSERVATION DIVISION

License No.: 31086

#### **PENALTY ORDER**

The above captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State of Kansas (Commission). Having examined the files and records, and being duly advised in the premises, the Commission finds and concludes as follows:

#### I. JURISDICTION

- 1. The Commission has the exclusive jurisdiction and authority to regulate oil and gas activities in Kansas.<sup>1</sup> The Commission has jurisdiction to regulate the "construction, operation, and abandonment of any well and the protection of the usable water of this state from any actual or potential pollution from any well." Every operator conducting oil and gas activity in Kansas must be licensed by the Commission.<sup>3</sup>
- 2. The Commission has the authority to issue a Penalty Order for violation of any provision of K.S.A. 55-101 *et seq.*, rule, regulation, or order of the Commission.<sup>4</sup> The Commission shall take appropriate action which may include, but not be limited to, imposing a monetary penalty "not to exceed \$10,000, which shall constitute an actual and substantial

<sup>2</sup> K.S.A. 55-152.

<sup>3</sup> K.S.A. 55-155.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> K.S.A. 74-623.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> K.S.A. 55-162; K.S.A. 55-164.

economic deterrent to the violation for which the penalty is assessed."<sup>5</sup> "In the case of a continuing violation, every day such violation continues shall be deemed a separate violation."<sup>6</sup>

- 3. Within 90 days after operations cease on any well drilled for the purpose of exploration, discovery, service, or production of oil, gas, or other minerals, the operator of that well shall: (1) plug the well, (2) return the well to service, or (3) file an application with the Conservation Division requesting temporary abandonment ("TA") authority, on a form prescribed by the Conservation Division.<sup>7</sup> No well shall be temporarily abandoned unless first approved by the Conservation Division.<sup>8</sup> A well shall not be eligible for TA status if the well has been shut in for 10 years or more without an application for an exception pursuant to K.A.R. 82-3-100 and approval by the Commission.<sup>9</sup> The failure to file a notice of temporary abandonment shall be punishable by a \$100 penalty, <sup>10</sup> and the failure to obtain approval of temporary abandonment status shall subject the operator to additional administrative action.<sup>11</sup>
- 4. K.A.R. 82-3-111(e) provides an exemption for certain wells that are (1) fully equipped for production of oil or gas or for injection; (2) capable of immediately resuming production of oil or gas or of injection; (3) subject to a valid continuing oil and gas lease; when (4) the cessation period for the well is less than 365 days; and (5) the well is otherwise in full compliance with all of the Commission's regulations.

#### II. FINDINGS OF FACT

Operator conducts oil and gas activities in Kansas under active license number
 31086.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> K.S.A. 55-164.

<sup>6</sup> *Id*.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> See K.A.R. 82-3-111(a).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> K.A.R. 82-3-111(b).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>9</sup> *Id*.

 $<sup>^{10}</sup>$  *Id*.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>11</sup> K.S.A. 55-164; K.A.R. 82-3-111(b).

- 6. Operator is responsible for the care and control of the Mike #1 ("the subject well"), API #15-159-22857-00-00, located in Section 18, Township 18 South, Range 9 West, Rice County, Kansas.
- 7. On July 24, 2019, Commission records indicated that the subject well had been inactive and unplugged for longer than the 90 days allowed by K.A.R. 82-3-111 and that the well was not exempt pursuant to K.A.R. 82-3-111(e). The subject well had also not been approved for temporary abandonment status. Operator had applied for temporary abandonment status, but this application was denied due to high fluid levels. Thus, District Staff sent a letter to Operator, requiring Operator to bring the subject well into compliance with K.A.R. 82-3-111 by August 21, 2019. 12
- 8. Because the deadline in the letter passed and the violation had not been resolved, on September 03, 2019, District Staff inspected the subject well, verifying that the well continued to be inactive and unplugged.<sup>13</sup>

#### III. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

- 9. The Commission concludes that it has jurisdiction over Operator and this matter under K.S.A. 55-152 and K.S.A. 74-623.
- 10. The Commission concludes Operator committed one violation of K.A.R. 82-3-111 because the subject well has been inactive in excess of the time allowed by regulation without being plugged, returned to service, or approved for TA status.<sup>14</sup>

#### THEREFORE, THE COMMISSION ORDERS:

A. Operator shall pay a \$100 penalty.

13 Exhibit B.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>12</sup> Exhibit A.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>14</sup> K.S.A. 55-164; K.A.R. 82-3-111(b).

- B. Operator shall plug the subject well, return the well to service, or obtain TA status for the well if eligible. Obtaining TA status shall include application for, and Commission approval of, an exception to the 10-year limit on TA status if applicable.
- C. <u>If no party requests a hearing, and Operator is not in compliance with this Order within 30 days from the date of service of this Order, then Operator's license shall be suspended without further notice.</u> The notice and opportunity for a hearing on this Order shall constitute the notice required by K.S.A. 77-512 regarding license suspension. The Commission may impose further sanctions, including additional monetary penalties and any other remedies available to the Commission by law, without further notice.
- D. Checks and money orders shall be payable to the Kansas Corporation Commission. Payments shall be mailed to the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket number of this proceeding. Credit card payments may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-6200.
- E. Any party may request a hearing on the above issues by submitting a written request, pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, K.S.A. 77-537, and K.S.A. 77-542, setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought, to the Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202, within 30 days from the date of service of this Order. Hearings will be scheduled only upon written request. Failure to timely request a hearing will result in a waiver of Operator's right to a hearing.
- F. A corporation shall appear before the Commission by a Kansas licensed attorney.<sup>15</sup>

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>15</sup> K.S.A. 77-515(c); K.A.R. 82-1-228(d)(2).

G. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the purpose of entering such further orders as it may deem necessary.

## BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED.

Keen.	Chair:	Albrecht,	Commiss	sioner:	Duffy.	Commissioner
,				,		

Dated:	9/19/2019	Lynn M. Rof
		Lynn M. Retz Executive Director
Mailed Date: _	09/19/2019	
REV/kam		

Conservation Division District Office No. 2 3450 N. Rock Road Building 600, Suite 601 Wichita, KS 67226



Phone: 316-337-7400 Fax: 316-630-4005 http://kcc.ks.gov/

Laura Kelly, Governor

Dwight D. Keen, Chair Shari Feist Albrecht, Commissioner Susan K. Duffy, Commissioner

July 24, 2019

Rick Schreiber Richlan Drilling, a General Partnership 598 2ND AVE BEAVER, KS 67525-9226

Re: Temporary Abandonment API 15-159-22857-00-00 MIKE 1 NE/4 Sec.18-18S-09W Rice County, Kansas

Dear Rick Schreiber:

Your application for Temporary Abandonment (TA) for the above-listed well is denied for the following reasons(s):

#### **High Fluid Level**

Pursuant to K.A.R. 82-3-111, the well must be plugged, or returned to service, or obtain temporary abandonment status by August 21, 2019.

This deadline does NOT override any compliance deadline given to you in any Commission Order.

You may contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely, Virgil Clothier KCC DISTRICT 2

## KCC OIL/GAS REGULATORY OFFICES

Date: <u>09/03/19</u>	District: 2		Case #:			
	New Situation	Le	ase Inspection			
	Response to Requ	iest Co	omplaint			
	Follow-Up	Fie	eld Report			
Operator License No: 31086	API Well Number: 1	5-159-22857-(	0000			
Op Name: Richlan Drilling, a General Partnership	Spot: SW-NE-N	ESec <u>18</u> Tw	p 18 S Rng 9 E / W			
Address 1: 598 2nd Ave	4299	Fee	et from N/V S Line of Section			
Address 2:			et from E/ W Line of Section			
City: Beaver			417 Date: 9/3/19			
State: KS Zip Code: 67525 -9226			Well #: <u>1</u>			
Operator Phone #: (620) 587-3605	County: Rice					
Reason for Investigation:						
Follow-up compliance check.						
Problem:						
INACTIVE well, NO CP-111 on file.						
Persons Contacted:						
Findings:						
INACTIVE DENIED TA well due to HFLD. De - walked thru part of milo to get to. NO activit						
OPEN - Operator hasn't filed for a pit closure						
road to the north of this INACTIVE well. NO lease ID sign is present at T.B.						
	Up Required Yes		rate:			
I recommend monetary penalty of \$100 per K.A.R 82-3-111 for failure to comply .						
			(			
Verification Sources:			Photos Taken: 3			
	A Program By:	Virgil Clothier				
T-I Database District Files Co	our mouse	ECRS				
Retain 1 Conv. District Office.						

Retain 1 Copy District Office Send 1 Copy to Conservation Division

Form: \_\_\_\_\_ Exhibit B Page 1 of 2



Mike #1, Inactive well. Well was drilled and completed on September 4, 2018. API#15-159-22857-00-00. Located in the NE/4 of 18-18S-9W, Rice County. Virgil Clothier-ECRS with District 2 Field Office took photo on September 3, 2019.

#### **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

# 20-CONS-3087-CPEN I, the undersigned, certify that a true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following by means of

first class mail and electronic service on09/19/2019	<del>·</del>
DANIEL FOX, COMPLIANCE OFFICER, KCC DISTRICT 2 KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION DISTRICT OFFICE NO. 2 3450 N. ROCK RD BLDG 600 STE 601 WICHITA, KS 67226 Fax: 316-630-4005 d.fox@kcc.ks.gov	KELCEY MARSH, LITIGATION COUNSEL KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION CENTRAL OFFICE 266 N. MAIN ST, STE 220 WICHITA, KS 67202-1513 Fax: 785-271-3354 k.marsh@kcc.ks.gov
RICK L. SCHREIBER RICHLAN DRILLING 598 2nd Avenue Beaver, KS 67525-9226 schreiberrj@hbcomm.net	ROBERT VINCENT, LITIGATION COUNSEL KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION 1500 SW ARROWHEAD RD TOPEKA, KS 66604 Fax: 785-271-3354

/S/ DeeAnn Shupe

r.vincent@kcc.ks.gov

DeeAnn Shupe