
 

NOTICE OF PENALTY ASSESSMENT 
18-CONS-3361-CPEN 

April 10, 2018 
 
 
Rick Housel dba Rick's Well Service 
PO Box 268 
Cherryvale, KS 67335-0268 
 
 This is a notice of a penalty assessment for violation(s) of Kansas Oil and Gas Conservation 
Statutes, Rules, and Regulations. For a full description of the penalty and process please refer to the 
Penalty Order that is attached to this notice. 
 
IF YOU ACCEPT THE PENALTY: 
 
 You have been assessed a $500 penalty. You have 30 days from the service date of this Penalty 
Order to pay the fine amount. Check or money order must be made payable to the Kansas Corporation 
Commission and mailed to the Conservation Division of the Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. 
Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The payment must include a reference to the docket number 
of this proceeding. Payment by credit card may be made by calling the Conservation Division at 316-337-
6200. 
 
IF YOU CONTEST THE PENALTY: 
 
 You have the right to request a hearing. A written request for hearing must be made within 30 
days after service of the Penalty Order setting forth the specific grounds upon which relief is sought. 
Respondent must submit the request to the Commission, at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 
67202. The Commission shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas 
administrative procedure act within 30 days after receipt of such request. K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-542; 
K.A.R. 82-1-215. 
 
IF YOU FAIL TO ACT: 
 
 Failure to pay the fine amount, or in the alternative, provide a written request for a hearing, within 
thirty (30) days of service of the Penalty Order, will result in the attached Penalty Order becoming a Final 
Order and may result in additional sanctions, including additional monetary penalties, the suspension of 
your oil and gas operating license, and the shutting-in of all operations until compliance is obtained. 
K.S.A. 55-164; K.S.A. 77-537. 
 
Respectfully, 
 
Lauren N. Wright 
Litigation Counsel 
316-337-6200 

CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CONSERVATION DI V ISION 

266 N . MAIN ST., STE. 220 
WICHITA, KS 67202-)513 

STATE OF KANSAS 

GOVERNOR JEFF COLYER, M.D. 
SHARI F EIST ALBRECHT, CHAIR J JAY Scon E tvILER, CoMMISSIONER I D w1GHT D . KEEN, CoMM1ss10NER 

P110NF.: 316 -337-6200 
FAx: 316-337-6211 
http://kcc.ks.gov/ 
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THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

 
Before Commissioners:  Shari Feist Albrecht, Chyair 
     Jay Scott Emler  
     Dwight D. Keen 
 
In the matter of the failure of Rick Housel dba 
Rick's Well Service (“Operator”) to comply 
with K.A.R. 82-3-107 and K.A.R. 82-3-130 at 
the Curragh #NW#1 in Wilson County, 
Kansas. 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

Docket No.:  18-CONS-3361-CPEN 
 
CONSERVATION DIVISION 
 
License No.:  33969 

 
PENALTY ORDER 

 
 The above captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas. Having examined the files and records, and being duly advised in the premises, the 

Commission finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION 

1. K.S.A. 74-623 provides that the Commission has the exclusive jurisdiction and 

authority to regulate oil and gas activities. K.S.A. 55-152 provides that the Commission has 

jurisdiction to regulate the construction, operation, and abandonment of any well and the 

protection of the usable water of this state from any actual or potential pollution from any well. 

The Commission has licensing authority pursuant to K.S.A. 55-155. 

2. K.S.A. 55-162 and K.S.A. 55-164 provide the Commission with authority to issue 

a Penalty Order regarding a violation of Chapter 55 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or of any 

rule, regulation, or order of the Commission. A Penalty Order may include a monetary penalty of 

up to $10,000, and each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate violation. 

3. K.A.R. 82-3-107 and K.A.R. 82-3-130 require that an operator submit a well 

completion report and all associated documentation. The forms and documents are required to be 
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submitted within 120 days of the spud date of each well, and the failure to submit the forms and 

documents is punishable by a $500 penalty. 

II. FINDINGS OF FACT 

4. Operator conducts oil and gas activities in Kansas under license number 33969. 

5. Operator is responsible for the care and control of the Curragh #NW#1 (“the 

subject well”), API #15-205-28405-00-00, located in Section 35, Township 30 South, Range 16 

East, Wilson County, Kansas. 

6. Operator submitted a Notice of Intent to Drill (“C-1”) for the subject well and 

reported to District Staff that the well had been spudded. 

7. Operator did not submit a well completion report and associated documents 

within 120 days of the reported spud date. 

8. Production Staff sent a Notice of Violation letter to Operator, requiring Operator 

to bring the subject well into compliance with K.A.R. 82-3-107 and K.A.R. 82-3-130 by a 

deadline. 

9. Production Staff did not receive a complete, accurate well completion report, with 

the associated documents, by the deadline in the letter. 

10. Production Staff collected evidence and submitted it to the Legal Department with 

a recommendation that the Commission issue this Order. The recommendation submitted by 

Production Staff is attached and incorporated into this Order and includes Staff’s Notice of 

Violation letter sent to Operator. 

III. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

11. The Commission concludes that it has jurisdiction over the Operator and this 

matter under K.S.A. 55-152 and K.S.A. 74-623. 
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12. The above findings of fact are sufficient evidence to support the conclusion that 

Operator committed one violation of K.A.R. 82-3-107 and K.A.R. 82-3-130 because Operator 

did not submit a complete, accurate well completion report, with the associated documents, 

within 120 days of the spud date. 

THEREFORE, THE COMMISSION ORDERS: 

A. Operator shall pay a $500 penalty. 

B. Operator shall submit a complete, accurate well completion report and associated 

documents. 

C. If no party requests a hearing, and Operator is not in compliance with this Order 

within 30 days, then Operator’s license shall be suspended without further notice. The notice and 

opportunity for a hearing on this order shall constitute the notice required by K.S.A. 77-512 

regarding license suspension. The Commission may impose further sanctions, including 

additional monetary penalties and any other remedies available to the Commission by law, 

without further notice. 

D. Checks and money orders shall be payable to the Kansas Corporation 

Commission. For credit card payments, include the type of card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or 

American Express), account number, and expiration date. Payments shall be mailed to the 

Kansas Corporation Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, Kansas 67202. The 

payment must include a reference to the docket number of this proceeding. 

E. Any party may request a hearing on the above issues by submitting a written 

request, pursuant to K.S.A. 55-164, K.S.A. 77-537, and K.S.A. 77-542, setting forth the specific 

grounds upon which relief is sought, to the Commission at 266 N. Main St., Suite 220, Wichita, 

Kansas 67202, within 30 days from the date of service of this Order. Hearings will be scheduled 
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only upon written request. Failure to timely request a hearing will result in a waiver of 

Operator’s right to a hearing. 

F. A corporation shall appear before the Commission by a Kansas licensed attorney.1

G. The Commission retains jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties for the

purpose of entering such further order or orders as it may deem necessary. 

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 
Albrecht, Chair; Emler, Commissioner; Keen, Commissioner 

Dated:  _______________________________ _______________________________ 
Lynn M. Retz 
Secretary to the Commission 

Mailed Date: __________________________ 

LW 

1 K.S.A. 77-515(c); K.A.R. 82-1-228(d)(2). 

04/10/2018

04/11/2018



Exhibit A 
Page 1 of 2

PENALTY ORDER RECOMMENDATION 

***ROUTINE WELL COMPLETION REPORT VIOLATION*** 

Note: this sheet will be attached to the Order that is mailed to the operator. 

Date of Recommendation: April 2, 2018 

District/Department: Production Department 

Person Recommending Penalty: Karen Ritter 

Operator Name: Housel, Rick dba Rick's Well Service 

Operator License Number: 33969 

Well/Lease Name & Well Number: CURRAGH NW#l 

Well/Lease Location, and County: NWNESENE, 35-30S-16E, WILSON County. 

Well API Number: 15-205-28405-00-00 

UIC Docket Number: NIA 

Regulation Number: 82-3-107 and 82-3-130 

Description of Violation: Failure to submit ACO-1 and associated documents. 

Spud Date: 10/27/2017 

Date NOV letter sent and deadline. 03/12/18 with a deadline of 03/26/18 

Requested Monetary Penalty: $500 

Requested Operator Activity: File well completion report and associated documents. 
--

Supervisor Initials /7~ 
(....,-"" r 



March 12, 2018

Housel, Rick, DBA Rick's Well Service
PO BOX 268
CHERRYVALE KS  67335-0268

Operator:

Re:

Production Department

Sincerely,

NOTICE OF VIOLATION

KAREN J. RITTER

33969

Jeff Colyer, M.D., Governor

-

Shari Feist Albrecht, Chair

Jay Scott Emler, Commissioner

Pat Apple, Commissioner

Well Completion Report(s) - ("ACO-1")

License No.Rick Housel

CONSERVATION DIVISION 

266 N. Main St., Ste. 220

Wichita, KS  67202-1513

Phone: 316-337-6200

Fax: 316-337-6211

http://kcc.ks.gov/

Commission records indicate that the well(s) on the attached list were spudded more than 120 
days ago.

K.A.R. 82-3-107 and K.A.R. 82-3-130 require operators to file an ACO-1 within 120 days of the 
spud date of each well. We have not received the necessary Well Completion Report(s).

Since no ACO-1 is on file for the well(s), you are in violation of K.A.R. 82-3-107 and 
K.A.R. 82-3-130.

Failure to submit a complete, accurate ACO-1 

for the well(s) on the attached list 

by MARCH 26, 2018

shall be punishable by a $500 per-well administrative penalty.

The information requested above must be submitted on KOLAR. If an ACO-1 is returned to you 
as incomplete, you do not have additional time - the deadline above governs.

Please contact me at (316) 337-6200 if you have any questions.

Exhibit A 
Page 2 of 2

Corporation Commission 



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

18-CONS-3361-CPEN
I, the undersigned, certify that the true copy of the attached Order has been served to the following parties by means of 

first class mail and electronic service on ________________________.

RICK HOUSEL
D/B/A RICK'S WELL SERVICE
PO BOX 268
CHERRYVALE, KS 67335-0268

KAREN RITTER
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
Conservation Division
266 N. Main St. Ste. 220
WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
Fax: 785-271-3354
k.ritter@kcc.ks.gov

RENE STUCKY
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
Conservation Division
266 N. Main St. Ste. 220
WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
Fax: 785-271-3354
r.stucky@kcc.ks.gov

LAUREN WRIGHT, LITIGATION COUNSEL
KANSAS CORPORATION COMMISSION
Conservation Division
266 N. Main St. Ste. 220
WICHITA, KS 67202-1513
Fax: 316-337-6211
l.wright@kcc.ks.gov

/S/ DeeAnn Shupe
DeeAnn Shupe

04/10/2018




