
THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS 

Before Commissioners: Dwight D. Keen, Chair 
Susan K. Duffy 
Andrew J. French 

In the Matter of the State Corporation ) 
Commission of the State of Kansas Approving ) 
the FY 2023 Uniform Penalty Assessments for ) 
the Regulation of Motor Carriers and Persons ) Docket No. 22-TRAM-557-MIS 
Operating in Kansas Who Fail to Obey Any ) 
Order, Decision or Regulation of the ) 
Commission. ) 

ORDER DESIGNATING GUIDANCE DOCUMENT 
AND APPROVING STAFF'S USE OF THE TRANSPORTATION DIVISION'S 

UNIFORM PENAL TY ASSESSMENT TABLE 

The above-captioned matter comes before the State Corporation Commission of the State 

of Kansas (Commission). The Commission, having been briefed on the issue by the Director of 

the Commission's Transportation Division, finds and concludes as follows: 

I. JURISDICTION 

1. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,108b, 66-1,111, 66-1,112, 66-1,114, 66-1,114b and 66-

1,115, the Commission is given full power, authority and jurisdiction to supervise and control 

motor carriers as defined in 49 C.F.R. Part 390.5, and adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3f, doing business 

or procuring business in Kansas, and is empowered to do all things necessary and convenient for 

the exercise of such power, authority and jurisdiction. 

2. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,129a, 66-1,130 and 66-1,142b, the Commission may 

suspend operations, revoke or amend certificates, and initiate sanctions or fines against every 

motor carrier and every person who violates any provision of Kansas law in regard to the 
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regulation of such motor carriers and persons, or who fails to obey any order, decision or 

regulation of the Commission. 

3. Also pursuant to K.S.A. 66-l,142b, the Commission is authorized to assess a 

civil penalty of not less than $100 and not more than $1,000 for negligent violations of such 

motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders, and not more than $5,000 for 

intentional violations of such motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders. 

4. The Commission has the authority, pursuant to K.A.R. 82-1-237, to investigate an 

entity under the Commission's jurisdiction and order a hearing on the Commission's own motion 

when the Commission believes the entity is in violation of the law or any order of the 

Commission. 

5. Pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,142c, the Commission has the authority to compromise 

the amount of any civil penalty. 

6. Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-438, the Commission may issue a guidance document 

without following the procedures for the adoption of administrative rules and regulations. Such 

a guidance document may contain binding instructions to state agency staff members; however, a 

guidance document issued pursuant to K.S.A. 77-438 lacks the force of law. 

II. BACKGROUND 

7. It is the goal of the Transportation Division and of the Commission to improve the 

safety of motor carriers in Kansas to the benefit of motor carriers and the motoring public. Civil 

penalties assessed for the violation of motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission orders 

are focused on improving the safety of motor carrier operations. 

8. The Transportation Division has compiled a schedule of fines, relevant to 

violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, which are incremental in a 
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way designed to have a fair and appropriate financial impact on the motor carrier industry. In 

compiling the schedule of fines, the Transportation Division has considered the appropriateness 

of the penalty to the size of the business and the gravity of the violation. 

9. The schedule of fines takes into consideration Commission practices with respect 

to assessing penalties for violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, the 

safety impact of each violation, the size of the motor carrier's business/operations and, where 

relevant, the number of drivers in violation and/or number of violations discovered. 

10. The schedule of fines, titled the "Uniform Penalty Assessment Table," (Penalty 

Assessment Table) was designated as a guidance document and approved for use by Staff in 

recommending penalties for violations of the Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and 

Regulations in the Commission's Amended Order Designating Guidance Document and 

Approving Staffs Use of the Transportation Division's Uniform Penalty Assessment Table 

(Order) issued on June 29, 2021, in docket 21-TRAM-466-MIS. 

11. Pursuant to the Commission's June 29, 2021 Order, the Penalty Assessment Table 

shall be reviewed annually taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier 

regulations and the motor carrier industry, no later than July 1 of each year. 

III. STATEMENT OF FACTS 

12. In accordance with the Commission's June 29, 2021 Order, the Transportation 

Division has reviewed the FY 2022 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table and has recommended 

appropriate updates in conformity with its goals of improving the safety of motor carriers while 

taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier regulations and the motor carrier 

industry. The updated FY 2023 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table is attached hereto and is 

incorporated by reference. 
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13. On June 21, 2022, Staff prepared a Report and Recommendation (R&R), 

recommending Commission approval of the Transportation Division's use of the updated FY 

2023 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table. The Report and Recommendation is attached hereto 

and is incorporated by reference. 

14. The updated FY 2023 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table continues to be 

intended for the Transportation Division's use in the administration of the laws with which it is 

charged, to facilitate and promote consistency and uniformity in the penalty assessment 

recommendations made and submitted to the Commission, and to provide assurance to motor 

carriers and the public of the foregoing. 

15. Nothing in the updated FY 2023 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table is intended 

to control the conduct of the public; it shall function as a reference and guidance tool for the 

Transportation Division. Penalty assessments made and recommended by the Transportation 

Division are not binding on the Commission, and the Commission retains and shall have full 

authority and discretion regarding any penalty assessment in any final order made and issued. 

IV. STAFF'S RECOMMENDATIONS 

16. Staff, in its R&R, recommends the Commission designate the updated FY 2023 

Uniform Penalty Assessment Table as a guidance document, replacing the FY 2022 Uniform 

Penalty Assessment Table approved as a guidance document in the Commission's June 29, 2021 

Order, and approve the updated FY 2023 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table for use by Staff in 

recommending penalties for violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations. 

17. Additionally, Staff recommends the updated FY 2023 Uniform Penalty 

Assessment Table be posted to the Commission website, replacing the FY 2023 Uniform Penalty 
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Assessment Table currently posted to the Commission website, in furtherance of agency 

transparency. 

18. Finally, Staff recommends that the Uniform Penalty Assessment Table continue 

to be reviewed once annually taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier 

regulations and the motor carrier industry, on or before July 1 of each year. 

V. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

19. The Commission finds it has the authority to designate guidance documents 

pursuant to K.S.A. 77-438. 

20. The Commission finds it has jurisdiction over the assessment of civil penalties 

for the violation of any statute, regulation or Commission order relevant to motor carrier laws. 

21. The Commission finds that it retains the authority to exercise discretion in 

compromising civil penalties pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,142c. 

22. The Commission finds the updated and attached FY 2023 Uniform Penalty 

Assessment Table to be reasonable and appropriately tailored to accomplish the Commission's 

goal of improving the safety of motor carriers in Kansas while having a fair impact on the motor 

carrier industry. 

THE COMMISSION THEREFORE ORDERS THAT: 

A. The Transportation Division's FY 2023 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table with 

updates is hereby designated as a guidance document and approved for use by Staff. Staff shall 

use the FY 2023 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table in recommending penalties for violations of 

Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, except for when Staff believes a deviation 

from the Uniform Penalty Assessment Table is merited. If Staff believes such a deviation is 
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merited, Staff shall present the Uniform Penalty Assessment Table recommendation, and any 

alternative recommendation, to the Commission for consideration. 

B. The Transportation Division's FY 2023 Uniform Penalty Assessment Table shall 

be posted to the Commission's website, replacing the previously approved 2022 Uniform Penalty 

Assessment Table. 

C. The Transportation Division's Uniform Penalty Assessment Table shall be 

reviewed annually taking into consideration potential changes to motor carrier regulations and 

the motor carrier industry, no later than July 1 of each year. 

AAL 

BY THE COMMISSION IT IS SO ORDERED. 

Keen, Chair; Duffy, Commissioner; French, Commissioner 

Dated: ___________ _ 
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1500 SW Arrowhead Road 
Topeka, KS 66604-4027 

Dwight D. Keen, Chair 
Susan K. Duffy, Commissioner 
Andrew J. French, Commissioner 

TO: 

FROM: 

DATE: 

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION 
TRANSPORTATION DIVISION 

Chair Dwight D. Keen 
Commissioner Susan K. Duffy 
Commissioner Andrew J. French 

Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation 

June 21, 2022 

DATE SUBMITTED TO LEGAL: June 21, 2022 

SUBJECT: Docket No. 22-TRAM-557-MIS 
Adoption of the FY 2023 Transportation Division Fine Schedule 

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY: 

Phone: 785-271-3100 
Fax: 785-271-3354 

http://kcc.ks.gov/ 

Laura Kelly, Governor 

The Transportation Division seeks approval of an update to the previously approved schedule of 
fines, pursuant to K.S.A. 66-1,142b, relevant to violations of Kansas Motor Carrier Safety 
Statutes and Regulations. These fines are tailored to reflect the severity of the safety concerns of 
each violation and to make updates to the Uniform Penalty AssessmentMatrix. The Division 
seeks formal approval of the updated fine schedule by the Commission, and intends to present 
this Report and Recommendation at Commission meeting on June 28, 2022. 

BACKGROUND: 

K.S.A. 66-1,142b gives the Commission the authority to assess civil penalties for the violation of 
any statute, regulation or Commission order relevant to motor carrier laws. 
Subsection (a) states any person violating such motor carrier statutes, regulations or Commission 
orders shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than $100 and not more than $1,000 for 
negligent violations and not more than $5,000 for intentional violations. 

Keeping in mind Commission practices with respect to assessing penalties for violations of 
Kansas Motor Carrier Safety Statutes and Regulations, as well as the appropriateness of the 
penalty to the size of the business and the gravity of the violation, the Transportation Division 
compiled a schedule of fines incremental in a way designed to have a fair and appropriate 
financial impact on the motor carrier industry. 



On June 29, 2021, the Commission approved the previous fine schedule, titled "Uniform Penalty 
Assessment Table," and ordered the fine schedule to be reviewed annually. The Transportation 
Division has reviewed the previously approved fine schedule, and has made several appropriate 
updates that advance its goal to improve the safety of motor carrier operations. 

ANALYSIS: 

The fine schedule is broken down by K.A.R. section and corresponding C.F .R. Part. The 
attached Uniform Penalty Assessment Table sets forth fine amounts taking into consideration 
factors such as company size/number of drivers and number of violations. The fines are 
incremental in a way designed to have a fair and appropriate impact on the motor carrier 
industry. 

UCR fees, as set forth in 49 C.F.R. 367 and authorized by K.S.A. 66-1,139a, are required to be 
paid by interstate motor carriers pursuant to K.A.R. 82-4-30a. This penalty has been scaled in 
such a way that the fine increases as the number of vehicles in violation increases. 

49 C.F.R. Part 382, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3c, deals with controlled substances and alcohol 
use and testing. Because the threat of drug/alcohol abuse is a severe safety concern, many of 
these fines begin at $350. All of the fines in this category are broken out by the number of 
drivers within the company. This structure reduces the severity of a single violation by 
owner/ operators. 

49 C.F.R. Part 385, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3d, deals with safety and fitness procedures. The 
only violation in this category relates to Haz-Mat Safety Permits. This is an area directly related 
to the safety of motor carriers as well as the motoring public, therefore the fine is a flat, per­
carrier violation and it is consistent across all motor carriers, regardless of size. 

49 C.F.R. Part 386, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-30, deals with out-of-service violations. These 
violations allow the Commission to penalize motor carriers that operate while under a federal or 
Commission out-of-service order. It also allows the Commission to penalize carriers that attempt 
to operate as a chameleon carrier for the purposes of avoiding an out-of-service order. 

49 C.F.R. Part 387, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3n, deals with minimum levels of insurance for 
both property and passenger carrying motor carriers. The only violation in this category relates to 
failure to carry interstate insurance. This is an area directly related to the safety and protection of 
motor carriers as well as the motoring public, therefore the fine is a flat, per-carrier violation and 
it is consistent across motor carriers, regardless of size. 

49 C.F.R. Part 390, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3f, deals with general motor carrier safety 
regulations, and again these violations directly impact the safety of the motor carrier and 
motoring public. Fines for violations of this part are broken out by number of violations. 

49 C.F.R. Part 391, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3g, deals with driver qualifications. This area is 
still critical to safe motor carrier operations; however the impact on safety is somewhat less 
direct. Therefore these fines begin at a lower amount than the general motor carrier safety 
regulations, and are adjusted upward as the number of drivers in violation increases. 



49 C.F.R. Part 392, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3h, deals with driving a commercial motor 
vehicle and fines for violations of this part are broken out by number of violations. Violations of 
this part directly affect highway wear and tear, and fine amounts reflect this consideration. 

49 C.F.R. Part 395, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3a, deals with hours of service and fines for 
violations of this part are broken out by number of violations. Violations of this part directly 
affect the safety of the motoring public, and fine amounts reflect this consideration. 

49 C.F.R. Part 396, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3j, deals with inspection, repair and maintenance 
of vehicles. Violations of this part directly affect the safety of the motoring public, and fine 
amounts reflect this consideration. Violation of this part is broken out by the number of 
violations. 

49 C.F.R. Parts 100 through 185, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-20, deal with transportation of 
hazardous material, and fines for violations of these parts and regulation are broken out by 
number of violations. Violations of this part are a serious concern for the safety of the motoring 
public, and fine amounts reflect this consideration. 

K.S.A. 66-1,142b, deals with the Commission's ability to enforce its own orders and outlines 
violations for a failure by a motor carrier to comply with a Commission Penalty Order. 

Proposed Updates: The following are proposed updates made to the previously approved 
Uniform Penalty Assessment Table which reflects changes in the motor carrier industry and/or 
the motor carrier safety regulations: 

1. 49 C.F .R. Part 367, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-30a, has adjusted the first fee category to 
include carriers with O vehicles. Carriers operating in interstate commerce, but owning 
no vehicles are required to pay Unified Carrier Registration fees in the lowest category. 

2. 49 C.F.R. Part 382, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3c, has four changes: 
a. The fine structure for violations of 49 C.F.R. 382.305(i)(2) for failure to remove a 

driver from the pool of drivers selected for drug testing is being changed. Under 
the new fine structure a carrier that fails to remove a driver from the pool would 
be assessed a $100.00 fine for 1 driver, a $250.00 fine for 2-5 drivers, and a $500 
fine for 6 or more drivers. The enhanced penalties for this violation would be a 
$200.00 fine for 1 driver, a $500.00 fine for 2-5 drivers, and a $1,000 fine for 6 or 
more drivers. 

b. Upon the introduction of the Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse in January of 2020, 
Staff focused their compliance reviews on requiring Carriers to register with the 
clearinghouse. Two years later, Staff is adjusting the penalties related to the 
clearinghouse to recognize three violations our Special Investigators are 
encountering in the field. 

1. Violations of 49 C.F.R. 382.701(a) for failing to conduct a pre­
employment query with the Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse on a new 
driver will now be included in the matrix. This violation will result in a 



$250.00 fine for 1 driver, a $650.00 fine for 2-5 drivers, and a $1,000 fine 
for 6 or more drivers. The enhanced penalties for this violation would be a 
$500.00 fine for 1 driver, a $1,300.00 fine for 2-5 drivers, and a $2,000 
fine for 6 or more drivers. 

11. Violations of 49 C.F .R. 3 82.701 (b )(1) for failing to conduct an annual 
query with the Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse on subject employees will 
now be included in the matrix. This violation will result in a $100.00 fine 
for 1 driver, a $250.00 fine for 2-5 drivers, and a $500 fine for 6 or more 
drivers. The enhanced penalties for this violation would be a $200.00 fine 
for 1 driver, a $500.00 fine for 2-5 drivers, and a $1,000 fine for 6 or more 
drivers. 

111. Violations of 49 C.F.R. 382.701(d) for allowing a driver to perform safety 
sensitive functions when prohibited by Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse 
will now be included in the matrix. Any violations of this regulation will 
be deemed intentional and result in an enhanced fine of $3,500. 

3. 49 C.F.R. Part 392, as adopted by K.A.R. 82-4-3h, has a new penalty for unsafe driving, 
specifically failure to use extreme caution during hazardous conditions. Violations of this 
regulation will result in a standard penalty of $500.00 and an enhanced penalty of $1,000 
for intentional or repeated violations. 

4. Several non-substantive changes were made to correct grammar or citation references. 

RECOMMENDATION: 

Transportation Staff recommends the attached FY 2023 fine schedule be adopted, replacing the 
previously approved fine schedule, and posted to the Commission website. The schedule shall be 
reviewed once annually on or before July 1 of each year. 
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Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 367 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30a 

Regulation/ Statute Standard 

(Unified Carrier Registration) 

Enhanced / Repeat Violations 

"'I I <" • ·:T- J_S-_,·,,VJi,U Repeat violations of a standard penalty occurring within thr;e·· 

years from the date the standard penalty was issued receive a 
recommendation for an enhanced civil penalty equal to 2X 
the amount of the standard civil penalty. 
Repeat violations of an enhanced civil penalty occurring 
within three years from the date the enhanced penalty was 
issued receive a recommendation for an enhanced civil 
penalty equal to 2X the amount of the previously issued 
enhanced civil penalty. The maximum repeat enhanced civil 
penalty violation that may be recommended against a 

Resp q_n.9~nt is S.?,900.Q_Q. ,...Sg~-~.s.~.w 6_6:-1A42b. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 367 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30a I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 382 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3c 

Regulation/ Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 382.115 
Failure to Implement 

Testing Programs 

49 C.F.R. § 382.215 
Positive Controlled 

Substance Test 

49 C.F.R. § 382.301 
No Pre-Employment 

Test 

49 C.F.R. § 382.303 
Failure to Conduct Post­

Accident Testing 

49 C.F.R. § 382.305 
Failure to Conduct 
Random Testing 

49 C.F.R. § 382.305(i)(2) 
Failure Remove From 

Pool 

49 C.F.R. § 382.401 
Failure to Retain 

Records 

49 C.F.R. § 382.601 
Failure to Distribute 
Drug/ Alcohol Policy 

(Controlled Substance and Alcohol Use and Testing Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty1 

$650.00 

$250.00 

$250.00 

1 Maximum cumulative penalties: $1,000 (1 COL Driver); $1,500 (2-5 COL Drivers); $2,000 (6+ COL Drivers) 

Enhanced Civil Penalty2 

6+ CDL Drivers 

$2,000.00 

$5,000.00 

$2,000.00 

$1,000.00 

$1000.00 

2 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 382 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3c I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



49 C.F.R. § 382.603 
Failure to Conduct 
Supervisor Training 

49 C.F.R. § 382.711 
Failure to Register in 

Clea ri ngho use 

49 C.F.R. § 382.701(a) 
Failure to Conduct Pre­

Employment Query with 
Clea ri ngho use 

49 C.F.R. § 382.701(b)(1) 
Failure to Conduct 
Annual Query with 

Clearinghouse 

49 C.F.R. § 382.701(D) 
Use of Driver Prohibited 

by Clearinghouse 
- - . .:.... _,. .=-- -:: .. - .:... ,.. - - ,.. - -:::_. -- ,.. ,. . .... - ,... -

- ,._ ,.._ -=-.. • . - .:... " . r,. • ~ • • ::., .:.... ,.._-:: : • I 

$100.00 N/A $200.00 

$200.00 

$200.00 

$3,500.00 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 382 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3c I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 385 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3d 

Regulation/ Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 385.403 
HM Safety Permit 

"' _,:.. - ,.:..-:_·-:... -- _ - _ _:,_-:_---;:. - ...... -
- .: - - " - - - - " ....... -, -,,_, ______ ...:;.._ __ ,_c·- - -.,__l_ __ 

_ __,, C _--_c._ --~ -~ 

(Safety Fitness Procedures Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 385 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3d I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 386 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30 

Regulation/ Statute 

49 C.F.R. 386.73 

Operating as 
Chameleon Carrier 

49 C.F.R. 386.73 

Operating Under 
Federal 005 

K.S.A. 66-1,129a 

Operating Under 
KCC OOS 

_~-~c =- -===-·~2 -.:_ -~-~---=:~_,.._:::: 
.......,_ - -__ - --= _~ --c -_ '-.....,_ ' --

_..,, -=---~--: 

(Out of Service Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty2 

2 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 386 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-30 I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 387 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3n 

Regulation/ Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 387.7; 
§ 387.31 

Interstate Insurance 
_, :.. ,. :...-:_- - :... -_ - - - - -:: - -- :_,, -,,-

- - - ... __ -_-: __ ,,._ ,...:...-____ , __ 

-~~---~ --~ 

(Interstate Insurance Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 387 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3n I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 390 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3f 

Regulation/ Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 390.13 
Aiding & Abetting 

49 C.F.R. § 390.19 
No DOT# 

49 C.F.R. § 390.23 
Relief From 
Regulation 
Emergency 

--=~-=-::--~-=:- __ _,_~ __ _,_-_s 
- - - - -· - -

- - -~ - - - ·- - -- - - -

(General Motor Carrier Safety Regulation Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Carrier, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty 
recommend~d shal l be the m3ximum_ civil penalty allowahl~ by Kcrn,sas law;_~urrentty $5,000~,Q0. _Se~ J(.S.~ 66-1,1421:}(a). 

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. - .----------------------------------------------------------

Vi o I at ions Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 390 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3f I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 391 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3g 

Regulation / Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 391.11 
Qualification of Drivers 

49 C.F.R. § 391.15 
Disqualified Drivers 

49 C.F.R. § 391.41 
Physical Qualifications 

49 C.F.R. § 391.43 
49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(7) 

Medical Certification 

49 C.F.R. § 391.45(b)(l) 
Medical Examination 

49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) 
Driver Qualification File 

49 C.F.R. § 391.51(b)(3) 
Road Test 

- - :..-:_· - .:..,,.___ - - - -: -- - - ._-_ ,- - -

- .:.. - - :.... ,.. -: 
- -· -- ...- ---- ·- -

(Qualification of Drivers Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

$100.00 $250.00 $500.00 $200.00 $500.00 

. . 
A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Carrier, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty 

re,~_omrrien_g_e_9 sha !,I be th~ maximum civJI· (:?enaJty alLowapl~ by ~,m_g1~ l~Wj qirre~ntjy $_5,000.00.: Jee K.~.-~· fi6-J ,1!1-.? l?.(a). 

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 391 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3g I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 392 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3h 

Regulation / Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 

K.S.A. 8-1901 Size & 
Weight 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 

K.S.A. 8-2,125 CDL 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
K.S.A. 66-1,111-PuMC 

K.S.A. 66-1330-W 
K.S.A. 66-1,112g-PrM 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 

Unsafe Driving 
Speeding 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 
Unsafe Driving 

Texting/Mobile 
Phone Use 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 

Hazardous Conditions 

49 C.F.R. § 392.2 

K.S.A. 66-1, 128 
Insurance 

49 C.F.R. Part 392.2 

Standard Civil 

Penalty 

--···- ·-·------~~~~~~~~JL, 

(Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicle Violations) 

Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

··-·······--·--··-·--···----·---····-·--'----..C'-'C.....-~-'...-'-..--'-'.-"-' '-'-'-"=....C....--'-'--"--'--

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if a violation is deemed "intentional" or if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil 
penalty was assessed against the Respondent. -Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 392 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3h I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



K.S.A. 40-3104 

Insurance 

49 C.F.R. § 392.9a 
Federal Operating 

Authority 

49 C.F.R. § 392.9b 

No DOT# 

K.S.A. 79-34,109 
Fuel Tax 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 392 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3h I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 395 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3a 

Regulation/ Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 395.l(e) 
Total Hours 

49 C.F.R. § 395.3 
Maximum Driving 
Time (Property) 

49 C.F.R. § 395.3{a)(3) 

Rest Breaks 

49 C.F.R. § 395.5 
Maximum Driving 
Time (Passenger) 

49 C.F.R. § 395.8 
49 C.F.R. § 395.20 

Record of Duty 
Status/No ELDs 

49 C.F.R. § 395.S(e) 
False Reports 

49 C.F.R. § 395.S(k) 
49 C.F.R. § 395.11 

Supporting 
Documentation 

49 C.F.R. § 395.13 
Driver's Declared OOS 

_: - :.. _ ~. ::..-: - - ::.. ... '._ , w ~ - -:: ·- w ... -_ ..... -
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(Hours of Service of Drivers Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

Repeat violations of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the enhanced penalty was issued against the Carrier 
will result in a recommendation for the maximum civil penalty allowable by Kansas law; currently $5,000.00. See K.S.A. 66-1,142b(a). 

Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if a violation is deemed "intentional" or if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil 
penalty was assessed against the Respondent. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 395 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3a I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 396 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3j 

Regulation / Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 396.3 
Inspection, Repair, 
and Maintenance 

49 C.F.R. § 396.11 
Driver Vehicle 

Inspection Report 

49 C.F.R. § 396.17 
Periodic Inspection 

49 C.F.R. § 396.19(a) 
Inspector 

Qualifications 
_-\~2 :,2:::..·-.:-2--=- ~-_-.:,_:::..·::c.-_~_s 
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(Inspection, Repair and Maintenance Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurring within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty 
was issued against the Carrier will result in an enhanced civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount that would be 
recommended against the Carrier, or if such a penalty would exceed the maximum civil penalty allowable by law, then the penalty 
recommended _shall be the maximum_civil penalty allowablej}y Kansas law; currf:!ntly $5 ,000.00. See K.S.A. 66-1L142JL(a)_. _____ _ 

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 

Violations Re: Adoption of 49 C.F.R. Part 396 as adopted in K.A.R. 82-4-3j I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Violations Re: Hazardous Materials Violations; K.A.R. 82-4-20 

Regulation / Statute 

49 C.F.R. § 107.601 
HM Registration 

49 C.F.R. § 172.200 
Shipping Papers 

49 C.F.R. § 172.500 
Placarding 

49 C.F.R. § 172.600 
Emergency Response 

Information 

49 C.F.R. § 172.700 
HM Training 

49 C.F.R. § 172.800 
Security Plans 

49 C.F.R. § 180.401 
Qualification & 

Maintenance of Cargo 
Tanks 
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(Transportation of Hazardous Materials by Motor Vehicles Violations) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty1 

$500.00 $750.00 $1,000.00 $1,000.00 $1,500.00 $2,000.00 

1 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 
Respondent. 

Violations Re: Hazardous Materials Violations; K.A.R. 82-4-20 I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 



Regulation/ Statute 

K.S.A. 66-1,142b 
Failure to Submit CAP 

K.S.A. 66-1,142b 
Failure to Attend 
Safety Seminar 

_---~c :.cc_·--=c-:_ \ __ --=.,_~_--.::~_~_s 
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Violations Re: K.S.A. 66-1,142b 
{Failure to Comply with Commission Penalty Order) 

Standard Civil Penalty Enhanced Civil Penalty2 

A repeat violation of an enhanced civil penalty occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous enhanced civil penalty was 
issued against the Carrier will result in a civil penalty recommendation equal to 2X the amount of an enhanced civil penalty. 

2 Enhanced civil penalties are recommended if the same violation occurs within twenty-four months from the date the previous civil penalty was assessed against the 

Respondent. 

Violations Re: K.S.A. 66-1,142b I Kansas Corporation Commission Transportation Division 




